Old 15th September 2008, 19:43   #31

Originally Posted by shrivz View Post
Forgot one detail:
The midrange and tweeter will be mounted on the dashboard on axis..
It will be sitting on the dashboard facing the listner..
I don't know much about mounting but I always thought that in a 3-way you should mount all three components on the same axis. I'll choose the door pad.
Old 15th September 2008, 20:59   #32

Originally Posted by moralfibre
I don't know much about mounting
Animal instincts, actually. Anyway, a good videotape should sort you out.

Originally Posted by moralfibre
but I always thought that in a 3-way you should mount all three components on the same axis. I'll choose the door pad.
Midrange and tweet in one plane and the midbass in another is just fine. Dont try out any of the mounting sequences from the videotape with the speakers however.
Old 15th September 2008, 23:02   #33

navin mentioned something about using a "series xover" which I assume 1st order xover (i.e. it has a 6db slope) suitable for a situation in which the tweeter and midrange driver are close to each other
for drivers to have a 6db XO they should not only be close together but also be capable of handling a lot of power (esp the tweeters) and have farily smooth roll offs.

series XOs (read Andy Graddon's paper on this) can be 2nd order as well and with careful selection of XO freq, drivers, etc.. one can make do with a quasi 2nd order slope approximating about 9db/oct. remember these are only electrical slopes. combined with the roll off of the drivers concerned the system slopes will be steeper (18-24db/oct).

if you study a series XO you will realise that since each driver is part of the other driver's XO the transition is natural.

Disclaimer: I have not yet used a series XO in a car. To attempt that one must have a full understanding of the individual driver's capabilites, frequency response curves, and T/S parameters.

Last edited by navin : 15th September 2008 at 23:04.
Old 16th September 2008, 09:51   #34

Thanks for the info navin..
I'd really like to come for practicals and some theory! When do your classes start?
Do you give personal attention to each student?

Seriously! I'd love to learn..
Old 16th September 2008, 10:51   #35

When do your classes start?
I dont know enough to teach.
Old 16th September 2008, 11:23   #36

Originally Posted by navin View Post
I dont know enough to teach.
What you know is enough for me to learn..
Old 16th September 2008, 13:26   #37

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
I don't know much about mounting but I always thought that in a 3-way you should mount all three components on the same axis. I'll choose the door pad.
Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Animal instincts, actually. Anyway, a good videotape should sort you out. ...
Dont try out any of the mounting sequences from the videotape with the speakers however.
Feeling frisky, eh, B&T?

Actually even I was wondering how MF is going to manage getting all the 3 on the same axis, and he choosing the door pad at the same time! The videotapes (videotapes, b&t bhai? Kya yaar, this is the age of VCD / DVD / downloads) are going to queer the pitch even more, really.