Old 7th October 2008, 12:11   #1

Sub wanted for punjabi music

Hello Gurus

i want a sub which will be used only for playing punjabi music. i hope you understand what i was talking about.

i can upload small bits of songs which i usually listen.from all the info posted here , i have maked out that i want that sub in ported enclosure and a pio 307d4 is a boom boom sub. but what about this jbl sub ??.

or you prefer ground zero sub or i ID sub. what are the MRP's of all.

waiting.......

Last edited by NOTORIOUS : 7th October 2008 at 12:13.
Old 7th October 2008, 12:39   #2

you can go for in for following brands, but audition BEFORE buying:

1. Bull Audio in sealed box app 8.5K;
2. ID ranging from 10K - 50K box seperate;
3. Kenwood price not known;
4. JBL in a ported box app 8K;
5. GZ in a ported box ranging from 9K - 1.25 lacs box seperate;
6. Sony in a ported box app 4.5K

what amp are you going to hook them on BTW?

All the above subs play punjabi music very well.. including but not limited to, chamkila, miss pooja, malkit singh, pammi bai, yamla jatt, jazzy B and so on.
Old 7th October 2008, 13:45   #3

the jbl gt5 1204br sounded very good to me. it's a real value for money ported box subwoofer.

sukhbir's 'gal ban gaye' sounded really sweet with this sub in my setup.
Old 7th October 2008, 14:02   #4

@ NOTORIOUS : There is no sub specifically designed for Punjabi music. Although I know atleast two distinguished car audio brands owned by Sikhs.

Another thing is that, no two Punjabi songs are the same. Punjabi songs are also in several different categories, I'm sure. There are songs that are performed completely live using no digital additions inserted later in the studio, then there are others like Sukhbir which is more like Punjabi Pop. And of course, you have UK Bhangra and several other Indian artists that use Punjabi lyrics with an underlying essence or foundation borrowed from hip-hop. Still others like Bally Sagoo have a completely undefinable style.

Sorry for the rant - all I meant to say is, look for an all rounder in a sub. Hear out the various options available to you with your favorite music, and it wont be very difficult to spot the right one.
Old 7th October 2008, 14:12   #5

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
@ NOTORIOUS : There is no sub specifically designed for Punjabi music. Although I know atleast two distinguished car audio brands owned by Sikhs.
Even i would agree with B&T, to and extent it's dependent on Enc and Power inputs to the sub.

@B&T,Would love to know that,Plz share.
Old 7th October 2008, 14:17   #6

One is DD audio.

DDAudio Digital Designs Speakers Made in the USA
In Memory of Alice

Other one do not know.
Old 7th October 2008, 14:19   #7

notorious
i like your choice.
if you like please buy.but dont ever buy if youve not heard ( on anyodys recomendations)
Old 7th October 2008, 14:23   #8

@ Gill - LBM is right. One is DD Audio. Other is American Bass.
Old 7th October 2008, 14:35   #9

all right!
Things are different in west it seems,In punjab i haven't seen much of DD and American BASS,
In Punjab! mostly We get to see sony,Pio,boss!
Anyways have read good reviews for DD on net,
Old 7th October 2008, 14:38   #10

if you are looking for good thump pioneer 307 is very nice.. JBL entry level doesn't deliver good thump..
Old 7th October 2008, 17:19   #11

Originally Posted by NOTORIOUS View Post
i want a sub which will be used only for playing punjabi music. ...
I am sure most good subs can be tuned to suit Punjabi music. My exposure to Punjabi music is "Daler Mendi" and "Himesh Reshamaya" (I hope I spelt the names right) so I assume you would like to have a well defined lower-midbass for the "Dhol" drum. I would consider a tightly tuned ported sub (tune the sub to about 40Hz) or you could even use a bit of EQ (say 4-6db boost at 60-70Hz) to do this.
Old 7th October 2008, 17:36   #12

Originally Posted by navin View Post
I am sure most good subs can be tuned to suit Punjabi music. My exposure to Punjabi music is "Daler Mendi" and "Himesh Reshamaya"
Navin, Himesh has as much involvement in Punjabi music as Michael Jackson!!
Old 7th October 2008, 17:54   #13

ans in italics

Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
you can go for in for following brands, but audition BEFORE buying:

1. Bull Audio in sealed box app 8.5K;
2. ID ranging from 10K - 50K box seperate;
3. Kenwood price not known;
4. JBL in a ported box app 8K;
5. GZ in a ported box ranging from 9K - 1.25 lacs box seperate;
6. Sony in a ported box app 4.5K

what amp are you going to hook them on BTW?

All the above subs play punjabi music very well.. including but not limited to, chamkila, miss pooja, malkit singh, pammi bai, yamla jatt, jazzy B and so on.
Thank you sirji , wil surely audition them but where ???

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
i Know That Sir ji, here a audio link for all of you to try your subs..

<link removed by support team>

Originally Posted by Magma View Post
notorious
i like your choice.
if you like please buy.but dont ever buy if youve not heard ( on anyodys recomendations)

i will keep that in mind

Originally Posted by navin View Post
My exposure to Punjabi music is "Daler Mendi" and "Himesh Reshamaya"

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
good one jiii

Last edited by Rehaan : 8th October 2008 at 12:15. Reason: Hi NOTORIOUS, unfortunately even a short sample can cause copyright issues. It has been removed. Thanks
Old 7th October 2008, 17:54   #14

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
I'd say as much as Honey Singh / Zeest are into Religion

Hello Gurus

i want a sub which will be used only for playing punjabi music. i hope you understand what i was talking about.

or you prefer ground zero sub or i ID sub. what are the MRP's of all.

waiting.......
I'd say if you have a good budget , go for the Ground Zero XS - AL

But i'd say. Audition a few rides before you finalise on anything because different ears have different tastes.

Get your CD out of your HU ( It's been long since its in there )
and get going with the auditioning thing.

EDIT : Just saw you are in delhi.
Try the rides of the following

For GZ - Panky12345
For ID - Hellspawn's ride
Even I am getting GZ in a week or two.
!

Last edited by abhinav.gupta88 : 7th October 2008 at 17:56.
Old 7th October 2008, 17:59   #15

i Know That Sir ji, here a audio link for all of you to try your subs..
Hmm, just as expected. This is typical - Punjabi lyrics, some traditional instuments, all added to a layer of hip hop.

Look for something with good excursion and power handling. People that like this kind of music, usually like it as loud and meaty as possible.

Last edited by Technocrat : 8th October 2008 at 12:23. Reason: Hi NOTORIOUS, unfortunately even a short sample can cause copyright issues. It has been removed. Thanks