Old 9th October 2008, 23:01   #1

My Car Pc!

As I was thinking to upgrade my Head Unit to something new ,so was looking for head units of pioneer with single din motorized panel ones...

Then one of my friend heard this and suggested me CAR COMPUTER.. at first note i was like what the FISH!! car computer new head ache. but at night as my nature is, I started becoming restless and ask him to provide me some link and my search begins

After seeing some videos and pics from other forums ,i decided to save and give it a shot .. i thought i was the only one to have CAR PC ..but after few days i saw the threads on TBHP too,so i was i am not the only GUINEA PIG HERE

SO after working hard and saving hard today was the day ,i installed my car pc.

To help me getting the thing working there was many users form the forum:
AZA
HARSH87
YAYAATI
Low_Bass_Maker

It hasn't been finished yet as some fabrication work is still pending on ,will get it done soon with covering of fibre and the paint job in mat black (most probably) ,and will post some pics ... the working is superb

PICS:
My Car Pc!-dsc_9432.jpg  

My Car Pc!-dsc_9433.jpg  

My Car Pc!-dsc_9436.jpg  

My Car Pc!-dsc_9445.jpg  

My Car Pc!-dsc_9452.jpg  

My Car Pc!-dsc_9456.jpg  

Old 10th October 2008, 00:06   #2

Nice! Will love to check out the final install.

I assume the wooden enclosure is a looking a little "loose" as it is not finished yet?
Old 10th October 2008, 00:54   #3

Wah ji wah! the wooden rack is looking good!
details about the system?
Old 10th October 2008, 07:56   #4

whats this FOR?? playing around with sound or gaming?
Old 10th October 2008, 08:57   #5

Looking good smokin.
Awaiting to see the finished install.
Old 10th October 2008, 09:14   #6

Nice!

what paint job have you planned for the wooden enclosure? Duco?
Instead of paint you can try artificial leather on it as well. Had made a similar enclosure in my gypsy years ago and had used fake leather. Turned out good on it.

give dimensions of the wooden enclosure in detail. It'll help any other santro owner in the future and save his time.
Old 10th October 2008, 09:41   #7

Wah ji wah.. congrats hai ji.

Good to see the car pc running in your santro, I hope its the same one which consits DIY projector headlamps. In my opinion, you did a good job of opting to a separate wooden panel rather then cutting and fabricating the dash which is ultimately a pain sooner or later.

What is Configuration and final damage ??
Old 10th October 2008, 10:45   #8

You can also consider installing the Asus Xonar DX sound card for better quality compared to the onboard audio codec's quality.Best part about this card is its not expensive, has excellent output and comes with a low profile retension plate.
Old 10th October 2008, 11:42   #9

Originally Posted by vebmetal View Post
Nice! Will love to check out the final install.

I assume the wooden enclosure is a looking a little "loose" as it is not finished yet?
Yes it's a loose still because i was not sure to get it fixed before i am satisfied with all angles ..as now the angle of the screen has been set now the upper part of the console will be screwed to the dash to give support

Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
whats this FOR?? playing around with sound or gaming?
What you expect ? lolz lets see for both and browsing too

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Nice!

what paint job have you planned for the wooden enclosure? Duco?
Instead of paint you can try artificial leather on it as well. Had made a similar enclosure in my gypsy years ago and had used fake leather. Turned out good on it.

give dimensions of the wooden enclosure in detail. It'll help any other santro owner in the future and save his time.
can i have a pic of the same need to understand it first ...

as for the dimensions me too does not know it as it was fabricated according to me but the dimensions i haven't checked ,will do it now and post it

Originally Posted by ashthedivx View Post
Wah ji wah.. congrats hai ji.

Good to see the car pc running in your santro, I hope its the same one which consits DIY projector headlamps. In my opinion, you did a good job of opting to a separate wooden panel rather then cutting and fabricating the dash which is ultimately a pain sooner or later.

What is Configuration and final damage ??
Yup it's the same one , i was selling the car but my parents didn't agreed to ,so i upgrade something new to the ride .Lolz

Originally Posted by Amey View Post
You can also consider installing the Asus Xonar DX sound card for better quality compared to the onboard audio codec's quality.Best part about this card is its not expensive, has excellent output and comes with a low profile retension plate.
Will opt for a new sound card (usb one) as soon as my pocket gets heavy again

SPECS:
HARDWARE:
D945GCLF 1.6 Ghz Atom Mini-ITX Board
SB-160D Automotive Power Supply
80 GB 2.5" Hard Drive
1 GB DDR2-533 System Memory
7" VGA TOUCH SCREEN
BLUE TOOTH GPS RECEIVER
BLUE TOOTH DONGLE
REAR VIEW CAMERA

SOFTWARES:

CENTRAFUSE 2.0 (TRIAL VERSION) will get the license soon
BLUESOLEIL BLUE TOOTH SOFTWARE
K-LITE CODEC PACK

ADDITIONAL:
2 rc cable to 3.5 mm jack
custom wooden console

total hole in the pocket till date is approx 36k with labour and fitting involved ,and there is a huge list of accessories and upgrades waiting ..

Last edited by smokin : 10th October 2008 at 11:44.
Old 10th October 2008, 11:50   #10

Originally Posted by smokin View Post
can i have a pic of the same need to understand it first ...
Don't have the pics as it was done years ago and i have sold my Gyspy.
What they do is basically stretch the fabric (leather is same color as the dash - available at all car seat cover wholesalers) over the box and nail it from inside. somewhat similar to what they do for the side door panels.
Old 10th October 2008, 12:29   #11

Looking good smokin! Congratulations!

P.S. Looks like all the help LBM extended was clicking some pics. :-P
Old 10th October 2008, 13:04   #12

congrats, your setup is really smokin'.

Could you put up prices for individual items please.
Old 10th October 2008, 19:03   #13

Smokkin, i even saw the software installation pics .

Amazing man.

I guess it will be used for something much more than browsing , music and games
Old 10th October 2008, 20:28   #14

Congrats on your new setup. The wooden console is a very nice idea.
I have added a CAR PC to my wishlist

Please continue posting more details.
Old 10th October 2008, 22:08   #15

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Don't have the pics as it was done years ago and i have sold my Gyspy.
What they do is basically stretch the fabric (leather is same color as the dash - available at all car seat cover wholesalers) over the box and nail it from inside. somewhat similar to what they do for the side door panels.

Then i would not get it done as the reason is ,it will not give that OEM look which i am looking for,as i need to have some fibre work for the finishing touch and after ,fabric can't be fitted ..i can't explain the whole procedure which i will be doing

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Looking good smokin! Congratulations!

P.S. Looks like all the help LBM extended was clicking some pics. :-P
Thanks B&T,

LBM was the one who helped me a lot in terms of software and hardware installation,if he wasnt there at that time ,my setup wasnt be possible now

As for the clicking you know who is the psycho guy (YA****I)

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
congrats, your setup is really smokin'.

Could you put up prices for individual items please.

Thanks for the compliment
will post it sooner

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Smokkin, i even saw the software installation pics .

Amazing man.

I guess it will be used for something much more than browsing , music and games
yup you can imagine how much fun we had at that time ,can't post it here as you know the rules

Yup you are right will get each and every thing in working whether i need it or not