Team-BHP > In-Car Entertainment
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 6th February 2009, 18:46   #1
BHPian

A DIY Story: Home Audio Speaker Boxes in a Car??? Yes!!!

Before starting off with the DIY story, let me clarify a couple of things...

[1] Every DIY has its own inherent risks. I considered the 'worst-case-scenario' and decided that if I ended up with damaged speakers / blown HU or Amp, I was ready for it. [Acceptable risk]
[2] I have been using the setup in my cars since 2002, first in a Santro [with the rear-speakers running off a single Sony XM222 - 2 channel amp], then in 2004 the system was transplanted into a M800, then in 2005 the system was transplanted into the Xing, and an extra amp was added. Over the past 6 years, the speakers have worked great.
[3] My initial concern was around degradation of the speakers due to heat, since my car would be parked in sun for long hours. The only precaution I would take was to cover the speakers with a cloth to prevent direct sunlight from falling on them. They continue to work fine till date, so I can say that this is a 'tried and tested' DIY.
[4] The longevity of the speakers, the performance of the system etc. may depend on what you are starting with and how well-made the speaker boxes are etc.
[5] The only damage I have experienced is that one of the speaker metal grills is slightly dented due to a suitcase being placed on it. [No change in sound quality though]
[6] Before embarking on any similar DIYs, just ensure that you get the full tech specs of the amp / HU in your car and the ratings of your speakers to ensure that they match. [Look at the RMS, Impedance ratings etc. Preferably post them on T-bhp so that the ‘Audio-gurus’ can tell you whether they match or not.]

Current maintenance:
[1] Before I give the car for service, I disconnect and take out the boxes.