Team-BHP - Spotted - Buses meant for Export.

-   Commercial Vehicles (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/commercial-vehicles/)
-   -   Spotted - Buses meant for Export. (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/commercial-vehicles/28798-spotted-buses-meant-export-2.html)

Originally Posted by maxbhp (Post 564509)
Correction there , its Kerala .

Please note the temp registration numbers are TN-47, which I think is Hosur where AL has its factory. Normally all vehicles carry the temp registration number of the place where their factory is located till they are registered by their buyers. Obviously, the buses are being shipped through Kochi Port which would be the most convenient port for a Dubai shipment.

Originally Posted by Mpower (Post 564223)
The sticket says its an 85 seater. Didn't know you could put so many seats in a bus.

This is a typical white construction worker ferry bus. They cram as many construction workers as possible into these, often not even switching the a/c on to save diesel (which is very expensive here).

They're worse than prison vans.

Originally Posted by hvkumar (Post 564534)
Please note the temp registration numbers are TN-47, which I think is Hosur where AL has its factory. Normally all vehicles carry the temp registration number of the place where their factory is located till they are registered by their buyers. Obviously, the buses are being shipped through Kochi Port which would be the most convenient port for a Dubai shipment.

Sir
Hosur is TN-29 and TN-47 is Karur i think.

good topic.. was plannin to start a thread on this one since long

there are many many LHD buses from TATA/ AL / EICHER / SWARAJ MAZDA.. seen on mumbai roads.. especially nr. the dock area.. ie sewri, dockyard road, cotton green. etc. they have tn ap gj mh plates mostly.
some days ago i even saw an AL bus.. which was right hand drive.. but it was meant to export for sri lanka.. it was almost like a normal new MUTP B.E.S.T bus.. almost same color but all the stuff was written in some sri lankan language. i askd the driver.. he told me its bound to go to sri lanka.

Originally Posted by Steeroid (Post 564539)
This is a typical white construction worker ferry bus. They cram as many construction workers as possible into these, often not even switching the a/c on to save diesel (which is very expensive here).

They're worse than prison vans.

No wonder the buses come from India. Probably the cheapest in the world.

I'm surprised to hear about your comment on diesel price. There is a general notion that gasoline products are cheap as dirt in Gulf countries.

Originally Posted by kpzen (Post 564552)
Sir

Yes it is ...Karur is very famous for Bus body building

Yes TN47 is Karur. It is well known for Bus Body Building.
You can see many private (Even many BMTC buses in Bangalore) buses in TN, Karnataka, Andhra are body building done at Karur

These buses are 99% Ashokleyland. Belhasa markets them in Gulf regions. Jaico body builders (Azad)build most of these models. But these buses are limited only to ferry labourers.

Sir

Yes Sir, KP Sir. wah ! Kyah broad awareness hai ! pardon my hindi.

Have seen many more but more beautiful buses made here in chennai as well as in Hosur at the AL plant with LHD meant for export. I am damn sure it is an AL bus. Body built in karur where the temp RC has been taken.

Originally Posted by esteem_lover (Post 566029)
Yes Sir, KP Sir. wah ! Kyah broad awareness hai ! pardon my hindi.

Thank u Anna ji :p

Does TVS have a truck/bus body building plant in Karur ?

I don't think they do.

There are some wonderful buses running here in chennai. will take snaps of them & post them soon.

Originally Posted by kpzen (Post 566084)
Thank u Anna ji :p

Does TVS have a truck/bus body building plant in Karur ?

Elgi Group (L G Balakrsihnan Brothers) has a very large body-building operation there. I don't think the TVS group has - theirs is out of Madurai.

given the vague steering wheel and instrument panel ,which is quite high ,the bus is defiunitely an AL . Tata buses have a low steering and driver seating .

this is not a right hand drive vihicle.i think this left hand drive vehicles exporting through mangalore port.

10-15mins from Panvel, towards lonavala, on the NH4 (not MPE), u come across a field full of Ashok Leyland buses. These are quite common on the sion-panvel highway too