Old 10th February 2010, 15:55   #16

mahindra also has a 3 wheeler similar to AAPE called Alpha
Old 10th February 2010, 21:25   #17

Originally Posted by ambivalent_98 View Post
Apart from your questions, here is something I did with Paintbrush. Does that look familiar now ???? ...I reminded me of the commercial vehicle common in and around Pune / Mumbai called as APE (I don't know how to pronounce it but it seems to be called as AAPAY)

Yes now it looks very familiar now.

we call here that as AAApey...
Old 10th February 2010, 21:40   #18

Apart from your questions, here is something I did with Paintbrush. Does that look familiar now ???? ...I reminded me of the commercial vehicle common in and around Pune / Mumbai called as APE (I don't know how to pronounce it but it seems to be called as AAPAY)

Yes now it looks very familiar now.

we call here that as AAApey...
Old 10th February 2010, 21:56   #19

Congrats buddy. The vehicle is practical more than anything. Best to squeeze through the tiny gallis of Mumbai. I have seen it at work. Was carrying cement bags. Was on the highway doing about 40 odd with a sharp sound from the engine.

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
I was amazed by its practicality and also suprisingly found it very adorable. Why, i even ended up almost buying one when i realized i dont need it!
We conned all our friends into sitting in the Gio. When it was show-cased with alloy wheels at the expo, I was most definite that you would buy one.

OT:
I reminded me of the commercial vehicle common in and around Pune / Mumbai called as APE (I don't know how to pronounce it but it seems to be called as AAPAY)
Hmm..does resemble the Piaggio Ape. Here is something from Wikipedia
The Piaggio Ape (pronounced "ah-peh" - Italian for bee) is a three-wheeled light commercial vehicle first produced in 1948 by Piaggio.
All the locals were right. I was the stupid one calling it Ape (the animal).

At last, an Indian question, "Mileage kya milta hai?"
Old 11th February 2010, 10:44   #20

Originally Posted by Cartman View Post
We conned all our friends into sitting in the Gio. When it was show-cased with alloy wheels at the expo, I was most definite that you would buy one.
i really wanted to buy one, just for fun!

then i realized i dont have money plants in my garden!
Old 11th February 2010, 12:39   #21

Saw one GIO (green color) yesterday near my house. Very noisy vehicle !!
Old 13th February 2010, 14:42   #22

The Gio is really narrow accomodating barely 1 and a half people in it's intimate width. Boat tailing the cabin to increase the width of the door by another 6 inches would allow the extra person to sit safely next to the driver.

The vehicle understandably been severely built to an untra low price.