Team-BHP > Technical Stuff > DIY - Do it yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 12th November 2013, 13:04   #1
BHPian

DIY Detailing Journey. Starting with a rotary polisher

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Car_detailing

I have been detailing for 20 months now and all of it has been by hand. During this exciting journey, I tried & tested several waxes/sealants/polishes by hand. I was happy till about a few months ago as the paint was in impeccable condition and anything I tried on it made me happy.

All of that started changing gradually as swirls and scratches started appearing in the last few months due to sheer neglect and lack of time to even clean the car. That lead to a catch 22 situation - the dirtier it got, the lesser I wanted to clean it. It was apparent that my car now required some form of machine correction so I started talking to a few local detailers in town and visited a few. Their lack of knowledge and passion quickly turned me away. Plan B was to rope in some of the existing machine polishing pros in town but the schedules never matched as all of us have families and jobs as well. Plan C was to visit Bangalore to get machine correction done by an absolutely reliable detailer. However, no time to travel due to commitments at work and home. And then it hit me, by looking elsewhere; I was just stalling my own growth as a DIY detailer. Hence, I had to own a machine and I had to own it Now! A little research on the two basic types of machines - DA and Rotary confused me for a bit and there is enough information on the internet to help one decide. So, I picked up a Dewalt DWP849X Rotary and it currently retails at about Rs. 9,500 in Chennai.