(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
10MM White L.E.D. is Rs.3/each in my town.
Resistance is Rs.30/100pcs for 1/4watt ones.
normal 5mm L.E.D is Rs.125/100 pcs.
now comes using the right resistor try this
LED CALC
I would certainly use a few extra ohm to save LED from Burn out.
(instead of 33 ohm i use 100 ohm)
as keeping right voltage would run LED for a few years already, see your stabilizer light, or printer, telephones, they have LED working for years.
Shreyas, your Fog lights are exactly what my plans are, but I'll be using more LED's
also i read somewhere on this forum, you can get Power L.E.D. in Bangalore, So why don't you go for it, it would be 1watt or 3 watt LED and will give more light to your fog Lamp. Make sure to use proper heat sink with them, heard they are Super HOT.
Other .E.D option is Pirhana L.E.D. but they are available only at few outlets and cost from Rs.10 - 20 each.
Post EDITED since it contained various [FONT], [COLOR] and [SIZE] tags.
Posting with such text formatting should be avoided on Team-BHP as it is inconvenient for members to read post.
Kindly go through Announcements section before proceeding.
Thanking You for your anticipated co-operation
The Team-BHP Support
post color were NOT chosen for purpose, actually i copied member name from one of the post and it brought the color tag along.
Greenhorn,
Thanks for your quick reply..
To remove the roof lamp, just pull the top glass cover and in a similar way also pull the light assembly. It is fixed to the roof using 4 tension clips which come out if small amount of force is applied. I had seen this when I went to a TASC for checking the roof lamp, where i came to know that the button is faulty..
While putting it back, follow the same steps in reverse order.
About the LED's, its a good idea to check it on a 12V adapter... but my main concern is what register to use. Now that you have mentioned about ohms rating i'll go to shop once again and try out for the mentioned rating...
I tried connecting the LED to the bulb socket directly without the register and it got burnt..will same thing haopen if i check it with the 12V adapter...
Is it that using 2/3 5 mm LED's will give me more light than 1 10mm one with the same register power..
I am so possessed by this LED thing, that i won't be able to sit quiet till the time i do it successfully...:)
Rahul.
using a single 10 mm LED+ 330 ohm, resistor, you are effectively wasting 80% of the power in the resistor, and drawing more current than you should. with three LED's and a single 100 ohm resistor, you will be using about 70% of the power, and using less current. the only disadvantage will be a slight variation in the intensities with the engine on and off
Originally Posted by rahulya007
(Post 1288908)
About the LED's, its a good idea to check it on a 12V adapter... but my main concern is what register to use. |
Rahul, dont take this in the wrong way, but the actual term to be used is a
resistor and not
register.
Bens,
I actually had to write resistor, but what i did is by mistake typed register and did a Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V wherever required, without reading the spell.:D and hence the mistake.
Greenhorn, the site mentioned by you..ledcalculator.net actually seems to be a helpful site for people like us who do not know the details but want to do the DIY..
will check the site and the the ratings and keep you posted...
In the mean time, if you can guide me further on the DIY with the resistor values, it would be great..Also in the above site, when the wiring diagram is displayed, it shows the resistor connected to the ground of the terminal instead of the +ve terminal..
I was connecting the resistor to the positive of the LED till now, was I wrong here..because of which I was getting a low light..
Rahul
Rahul Ji, the site was suggested by me :-)
grrrrrrr, you didn't noticed who posted the link. sob sob sob
Anyway
It hardly matters where the resistor is connected, cause its only used to limit the current flow in the circuit and doesn't affects anything except dropping the voltage.
You may be getting low output due to wrong resistor values.
if you are connecting 3 x 5mm LED, 100 ohm 1/4 watt is enough the ones i use all over in my house and car.
if you are using remote control batteries, the LED's will not light up enough. 2xAA batteries = 3V. a white LED's operating voltage is ~3.5V, so its barely on. Try with a 12V adapter to see how bright it will really be.
the Link you have mentioned was mentioned my ghpk.
use the following values
Power supply voltage (V): 12V (engine off) and 14.4V( engine on)
LED voltage drop (V): 3.5
LED current rating (mA): 20
Number of LEDs:3
remember that resistors are available only in values of 10, 12,15,18,22,27,33,39,47,56,68,82, then 100, 120,150,180, and so on
Sorry ghpk,
I noticed the link posted by you only i replied to the post..since i have been posting messages to greenhorn, I thot the link was sent by him...really sorry..sorry:
Hi Greenhorn,
Since you too have an Indica/go, and you have already done the roof lamp LED setup, Pls. let me know what size and type of LED's have you used and also the resistor values. How is the setup done, LED's connected in parallel or series. I won't waste more time as I am getting desperate to see the white light in my cabin ASAP. Is the same type of setup also done for the boot/ trunk lamp.
Have you had success opening the roof lamp assembly by now as I had mentioned...or still not tried.
From your earlier post it seems you have already provided most of the information, but still post it once again and do me a favor.
Warm Regards,
Rahul
Greenhorn,
Awaiting your reply...
Rahul K
Yes, same as the numberplate lamps. three 5mm LED's in series with a 100 Ohm resistor, and 3 of those circuits in parallel.
will be trying the roof lamp thing this weekend
by the way, it seems even 100 ohm is a bit too much if the lights are going to be lit up at 14.4V(engine running) all the time. Both my numberplate lights have died out twice. Am planning to increase the resistor to 150 ohms.
the boot and cabin lamp are fine since they are turned on only now and then, and run off with the engine off ( =12V from the battery)
with the engine on, the current through the LED's is much higher than with the engine off the numberplate lamps have been running like that for a long time, so they're dying out
my soldering iron went bust, so no fun today. but did manage to take apart my roof lamp assembly thanks to rahul's directions. am really thinking of doing a fade in - fade out setup now :D
Originally Posted by greenhorn
(Post 1295957)
am really thinking of doing a fade in - fade out setup now :D |
I would be eagerly awaiting this setup. Will do the same on my car once you've burnt your fingers. [:D] My car is not in town now, hence unable to proceed on anything. I've been relegated to the sidelines as of now, watchin and learning.
Greenhorn, how exactly do you plan on realizing the fade in and fade out effect? Just using a capacitor, or the entire switching circuit?