Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 27th November 2024, 08:09   #211

re: Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 lakh

Wild EVs ! Absolutely love the styling, tech & big size. These are the kind of EVs that really get you excited, I can't wait to drive them (Omkar & Graaja are driving them as I type this post). Just wondering if Mahindra could have done better with the naming? BE 6e & XEV 9e sound more like geeky codenames (or a WiFI router name) rather than a brand name. I disagreed with VW's EV branding too - the ID.3, ID.5, ID Buzz etc are accepted as branding mistakes.

Names like XUV700, Sierra, Thar, Safari etc. are superior sub-brands IMHO. This BE 6e & XUV 9e naming convention is meh.
GTO is offline   (44) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 08:13   #212

re: Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 lakh

I know most of us are going gaga over the looks of 6E and 9E but I wonder whether it will be the same when the initial excitement dies down. I for one, do not like the front and rear
cybertruck-style design. I don't understand why they can't make good looking EVs like BYD or Vinfast or so many European luxury car makers do, why do they have to look like they belong to a different era.

Still, both of these are going to sell like hot cakes, due to the great pricing and overall good value. But I'll wait for something better looking at similar price range.

Ohh, and the names are just as bad. What's with the codenames?

Last edited by jazzy : 27th November 2024 at 08:14. Reason: more details
jazzy is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 08:20   #213

So, I have been waiting for 3.5 months for my allocation of BYD Atto 3 black variant and Mahindra drops this on the day my dealership calls me to share the good news that my car has finally been allocated and will be in the yard in 2 days for PDI.

Now, this 3.5 month wait, which I was cursing earlier might turn out to be a boon. I never expected Mahindra to do what they did yesterday, and I say this as a current owner of an XUV500 that I really like.

While I am skeptical of a 1st gen EV platform and the issues that one might have to deal with (2nd gen from Tata is still plagued with issues, especially on BMS front), but at the same time, most of the components are procured from top notch brands including Blade batteries with lifetime warranty. I am now in two minds as to what to do next - I am leaning towards holding off on the Atto 3 purchase for a couple of months to see how this will play out. I get the sense that Byd will have to drop prices on their models to be able to compete with these EV's, so even if I decide to stick with Byd a couple of months down the line, I will likely be paying much lesser than the 25L price for the Dynamic.

BE 6E is what I am really interested in and I am hoping Mahindra will release pricing for the higher priced variants soon. If they can keep the mid/top variant under 25L, those of us in Karnataka can avoid the 10% road tax too, incredible value if you ask me.
thejaguar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 08:25   #214

To all those questions related to how Mahindra can take credit for suppliers' innovation - this is how the automotive industry works.

Generally speaking, OEMs usually focus on developing platforms, powertrains, and most of the other components are sourced. OEMs' role would be to farm those components/systems and assemble them. Most OEMs, especially the mass market players, rely on tried and tested components/systems from Tier suppliers as they would offer the best value for money.

There are times when OEMs do work with Tier suppliers to bring in revolutionary products but those are far between and done more so at premium level.

Also, for eg, if BYD decides to stop offering their battery tech to other players, they might take forever to make a profit on them and it does not make a business case.

I too believe that there will be an impact on profitability, and I expect them to lose money on their EVs just like most of the other OEMs. This might be primarily because of high capital required to set up manufacturing plants. It will take a while to recover this cost.

Interesting times ahead for the Indian EV and ADAS market.
katchkamalesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 08:31   #215

Originally Posted by Precision View Post
Did anyone notice the red car bouncing all over the place as it was driven away?
The ground looked quite flat!
Because it's just carpeting over regular land and it's not smooth. You can notice the carpet getting pulled up when it is turning.
superblover is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 08:37   #216

Re: Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 la

If a couple of millimetres thick folded carpet is causing a car nearly two tonnes in weight to bounce like this,then what about the craters on our roads?
I am assuming to look good in photos they must have over inflated the tyres.
Old 27th November 2024, 08:49   #217

Re: Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 la

Originally Posted by katchkamalesh View Post
--
I too believe that there will be an impact on profitability, and I expect them to lose money on their EVs just like most of the other OEMs. This might be primarily because of high capital required to set up manufacturing plants. It will take a while to recover this cost. --
Here is a feel of the development costs.

- M&M has allocated Rs 4,500 crore to develop and manufacture the models out of the total Rs 16,000 crore investment planned for the F22-F27 cycle.

-This includes powertrain development, software and tech development, and manufacturing capacity expansion.

- The company is establishing a 90,000-unit annual production facility at its Automotive Division in Chakan, which is scheduled for completion by March 2025.

Link:

Mahindra XUV.e9 electric SUV spied. EDIT: XEV 9e Launched @ Rs. 21.90 lakh; BE 6e @ Rs. 18.90 lakh-screenshot-20241127-085314.png

The EVs (XEV and BE) though claimed by the 'overhyped' designer (Prathap Bose) as stunning and more, it is clearly inspired by Tesla Model Y.

With so much of technology bundled into this, this EV is not for the faint-hearted as normally with first launch it could be plagued with teething issues and unlike the mechanical issues with ICE vehicles, these vehicles will need special diagnostics and attention.

Last edited by volkman10 : 27th November 2024 at 09:02.
volkman10 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 08:50   #218

Although not a fan of such quirky design language but whats fascinating here is the drivetrain - RWD and AWD that too powered by the BYD battery tech in the mass segment! Wow, very bold, unexpected and welcoming in the boring crowd of FWDs all over.

Wish such drivetrain options would have been available in the low slung sleek cars, unfortunately thats no more a feasible segment in India to make sense from the business point of view.

Last edited by tbppjpr : 27th November 2024 at 08:51.
tbppjpr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 08:51   #219

In a spec to spec comparison, the Mahindra BE 6E is comparable not to the Curvv, but the Harrier. In fact, on most aspects, it exceeds the Harrier.

Yes, I mean the 6E, not the 9E. This is despite the 6E being 234mm shorter than the Harrier. This is the advantage of being a Born EV and not an ICE shared EV.

Someone asked me couple of months back why I think Tata screwed up with the Curvv. This (and the Windsor) is why I said it.

6E 59 kWh is comparable spec to spec with a Harrier ICE, 1.5 segments above the Curvv. For a starting price 50k less than the Curvv.EV 55.

The day these come out, Tatas have effectively lost their first mover advantage AND the customers' trust because they were sold a compromise for a premium all this while.

And no, I don't think Windsor will be affected much by this. That is operating in a different price range and price difference is ₹5.4 lakhs (40% extra) between the base models. Both have their own advantages and use cases. Of course, to enthusiasts like us, it is a no brainer. But not everyone is an enthusiast.

Last edited by antz.bin : 27th November 2024 at 08:56.
antz.bin is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 09:02   #220

Love the styling but I'm not an EV guy, so I can only drool on these designs.

We at home are already calling it "BEBE" as the name "BE 6e" is like "BEbe"
Old 27th November 2024, 09:02   #221

Mod Note : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum.

We advise you to read the Forum Rules before proceeding any further. Request to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

Last edited by GTO : 27th November 2024 at 13:10.
Sedated is online now   Received Infraction
Old 27th November 2024, 09:09   #222

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Media drive begins in Chennai
Nah. I feel Mahindra lost the plot on design. Doesn’t work for me. The other specs are good. Especially the RWD decision is awesome. But this baby Urus looks like a toy.

Last edited by manson : 29th November 2024 at 07:36. Reason: Trimming quoted post; kindly quote only relevant sections of the post
rascalangel is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 09:14   #223

Just wish that they had launched the AWD variant of BE 6E, with motors in the front and the back.

It would have given it ~400 bhp and 0 to 100 in under 5 seconds. Not to mention, the better handling and cornering with AWD.

Now, that would have challenged all the sports car in under 2 crore range and would have been the go-to car for all the enthusiasts and race lovers.

People complaining about engine sound, should note that BMW uses synthesized sound in its car. (I do love their straight six cylinder engine though.)

Would not have minded paying 10 lakhs more. I hope they launch it in coming months.
comprakash is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2024, 09:44   #224

Originally Posted by rkv_hunter View Post
I guess in one swoop they have targeted the Windsor, ZS EV, Atto3, Curvv. Even the ICE cars Creta, Harrier, Etc will be challenged.
How is this in comparison with Windsor? Didn't understand. From a price point, the base price is more expensive than the top end variant of Windsor right?
Old 27th November 2024, 10:01   #225

Originally Posted by invidious View Post
Anyone else notice the old 80s “Boom Boom” song derived from a Nazia Hassan song? Wonder if they acquired the rights. Whiff of nostalgia indeed.

https://Youtu.be/1Wjo1rVbCeY?si=vbixV1xIYCDPhZFL

Hope it’s not too off topic for the mods.

I wonder if they acquired the rights of remix! For us 90s Chhayageet/ Chitrahaar kids, this song/video showing up Sunday afternoon is quite memorable, but the remix video seems to have been pulled off YouTube entirely (could be easily found a few months back) . This is the closest I could find:

Could say the current ad is influenced somewhat by this video. "Copy Nothing" is not clearly intended here

Last edited by Nikhil Beke : 27th November 2024 at 10:08.
Nikhil Beke is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com