Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 10th August 2007, 09:04   #1

Internet Options for a large modern office

Guys, help me out here.

For a modern office with 120 computers which mostly relies on the internet, what sort of a broadband line/leased line is preferred. I heard leased lines were 'old' technology, is that true ? what should be the ideal sort of connection that i should be looking for ?
Old 10th August 2007, 09:15   #2

Leased line still rules with big companies who need net 24x with CIR. The type of connection depends on what your needs are.
Old 10th August 2007, 09:18   #3

Basically, it needs to be pretty fast & trouble free. Like how it should be for a BPO (but this is not for a BPO).
Old 10th August 2007, 09:18   #4

You will need a plan with unlimited volume. Airtel has some great unlimited business plans.

Check the attachment.
File Type: xls business_hig_plans.xls (19.0 KB, 443 views)
Old 10th August 2007, 09:24   #5

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Leased line still rules with big companies who need net 24x with CIR. The type of connection depends on what your needs are.
This is for continuous availability without downtime. This is very expensive and should be used only in production environments. If the business can withstand occasional blips (a few hours of interruptions once in a month or two), then ADSL is the way to go. It is much cheaper.

Last edited by Samurai : 10th August 2007 at 09:32.
Old 10th August 2007, 09:25   #6

Thanks samurai. But would these kind of plans be sufficient for that many computers ? max speed is given as 512 kbps, would that be good enough ?

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
This is for continous availbility without downtime.
This is what we are looking for.

Last edited by esteem_lover : 10th August 2007 at 09:26.
Old 10th August 2007, 09:28   #7

would you be dealing with voice?
Old 10th August 2007, 09:30   #8

would you be dealing with voice?
No, just data transfers.
Old 10th August 2007, 09:34   #9

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
No, just data transfers.
there are two types of leased lines, one is premium ( 1:1) and other is 1:4. 1:1 is when you need CIR for 24x but 1:4 only for short bursts,like uploading now and then etc.

Check around for price range from various provides like Airtel, reliance , VSNL etc. Reliance rate starts at 2.8lac or so for 1Mbps 1:4.

And then pacific side or? Choosing the right ISP also depends on to which country/ area you need to connect to as there can be different latency rate for different ISP/country.
Old 10th August 2007, 09:37   #10

Thanks jk. Doesn't BSNL have leased lines ?
Old 10th August 2007, 09:37   #11

This is what we are looking for.
Are you sure? Because you will be paying many times more for the same bandwidth. While ADSL will give you 98% uptime, the dedicated leased line will give you 99.9% uptime. If this makes a real difference to you, then leased line is the way to go. I use ADSL because I can manage with anything above 95% uptime.
Old 10th August 2007, 09:39   #12

yes they do

the point is some lease leased lines from big isp and some have good redundancy .

pssst..Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd. .. check the last line
Old 10th August 2007, 09:40   #13

Dont know about BSNL but VSNL used to provide excellend 2Mbps leased line 3-4 years back. I think you should go for 2Mbps leased line if you will have 100-150 active workstations.

Old 10th August 2007, 09:43   #14

Originally Posted by rishibravo View Post
Dont know about BSNL but VSNL used to provide excellend 2Mbps leased line 3-4 years back. I think you should go for 2Mbps leased line if you will have 100-150 active workstations.
VSNL still rules Do you know that they have their network designed, implemented and maintained by Cisco ( Cisco's biggest project, just 20,000 Crores).

About 2Mb for 100-150 is a wrong calculation.
Old 10th August 2007, 09:51   #15

opppsie... My bad... just confirmed with my office sys ad. we are 50 people in office each having a workstation and 2Mbps sometimes falls short so for 100-150 people he should be going for atleast 5Mbps if I am not wrong this time..
About 2Mb for 100-150 is a wrong calculation.