Old 20th May 2008, 21:33   #16

Originally Posted by neon_daytona View Post
Ford fusion - Plus Diesel. Good GC (198mm), Diesel, Spacious yet easier to drive.
No idea about A.S.S and Resale. Comes with Alloys, ABS/EBD and Driver seat height adjuster

Airbags is one thing that you would miss.
Should come at 7 lakhs on road with some bargaining.
Palio diesel SDX would be well within budegt. Again lacks safety features.

-Shashi
@LightningSpring Fusion is indeed a great car/SUV/both.
Have test driven one when i went shopping for my friends car.
He is still inclined towards Palio MJD.
If i remember correctly then fusion + indeed had SRS airbags.
Do check the car out.
The 1.4 diesel is peppy yet powerful. Was driving like breeze @90 kmph in city.

All the best for your buy

Old 20th May 2008, 23:49   #17

Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
I think if you extend your budget a bit you can get SX4 ZXi fully loaded. Its is 7.35 on road in Gurgaon.

In my first full tank I got 11 Km/Ltr. And I am sure it will increase after first and second service
Only 7.35 for a SX4 Zxi?? In Namma Bengaluru it is 8.3 L OTR, this was 2 weeks back and now must be more 'coz of Maruti price hike. Are you sure??
Old 21st May 2008, 00:00   #18

@mhafeez - Yes, it is around 7.3 OTR ZXi in Agra too + throw in a few freebies . This is after the new 25k exchange bonus.

No waiting period too. Ready off the shelf here - White & black colours available. It consumes too much fuel, else would have brought it straightaway

Last edited by vkochar : 21st May 2008 at 00:14.
Old 21st May 2008, 00:15   #19

Originally Posted by mhafeez_13666 View Post
Only 7.35 for a SX4 Zxi?? In Namma Bengaluru it is 8.3 L OTR, this was 2 weeks back and now must be more 'coz of Maruti price hike. Are you sure??
Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
@mhafeez - Yes, it is around 7.3 OTR ZXi in Agra too + throw in a few freebies and I think they have a 25 k discount now as well. No waiting period too. Ready off the shelf here - White & black colours available. It consumes too much fuel, else would have brought it straightaway

I am confused to the hilt.
Can some one explain this one lakh price difference.
I hope its not for the transport cost
Old 21st May 2008, 00:39   #20

Originally Posted by motorheadinc View Post
I have been always confused on this also. Bangalore prices never cease to amaze me !!

Here is the quote I get from New Cars, Used Cars, Buy Cars, Sell Cars, New Car Prices, Used Car Prices - CarWale.com India

5-7L No car we can buy?-1.jpg

It say's approximate OTR - 7,46,000 ( Without Discounts ). So I get a further 25k as Exchange Bonus + 10k worth of accessories.

I do not know if this is with price hike or not.
Old 21st May 2008, 08:27   #21

Heartfelt thanks to each for their time and thoughts

@Jaxy: Fabia petrol is still open. I'd be damned if the lady let me buy that noisy diesel - its OUR car ! NVH was definitely notches below dZire.

@Ballkey/Sukiwa: The UVA comes pretty close. Frugal yet decent 1.2L engine. 188mm GC, service promise, ABS, alloys and we have a decent case on our hands. Ford's high service costs I've read so many places that I'm scared. Plus, prime driver is madam. Nicks are par for the
course. As might be one set of clutch plates during the first year for sure. So do I want to pay Rs 2L more for the Fusion - maybe not?

Point taken though. Will be TD'd this weekend.

@Hafeez bhai: Fabia classic seems like an interesting proposition. Fabia petrol elegance is a steal and a half at 7+L OTR - and low GC. Makes the Verna XXi ABS suddenly look cheap. Plus image value for madam. Makes a strong case at that price point. Swift is great except Maruti's love for cheap metal and inadequately available safety equipped cars. Seasoned by the long waiting period.

@Neon: Will consider, as shared with BK. Yes, SDX makes my heart still skip a beat, but the day madam will have to visit the TASS, she will barbecue my a.s.s!

@RotorHead/RkB: Touched upon SDX. SX4 is the obvious option left. Have left it for last. However, then there's also Swift ZXi. Has anyone in tbhp heard of anyone buying the WagonR VXi+ABS/Airbags. Possibility to save 2.5 odd lakh and use towards petrol!

@Whatcanthisbe: I hear you on that one. Extremely tempting, however, would we wish to buy an end-of-line product to keep for 4-5 years? Not really.

@karan: We're level for points 1/2 but Linea would still have a T.A.S.S!

@Mobike: Yes, only ABS, not airbags. We are parallely looking out for used Scorpios to see if any decent compromise could be worked out.

@VK: Yea, Aveo will be tested - although option pack is sort of out of our budget. Logan is a good car, but horrible interiors. In Fabia one can rationalize that one has paid for German interiors. Logan diesel is ugly in comparison. The city is Good-gaon.

@Pavan: With Verna, not only do we exceed budget, but its a dangerous car to give to a newbie. Indigo CS ruled out because of TATA.

@SB: Our budget can expand, but with other future commitments, we've mentally set that limit, since dZire ZDi just falls around there! Except for the 8 month waiting!! Exclusivity is not a decision criteria for us.

@motorhead: Not really enthusiastic about Ford, and consequently Fusion.

In summary, we'll check out the Fusion and maybe the Verna.
Petrols that fit in our budget: WagonR VXi+ABS (Does it really exist? Seems a creature of MUL website legend), Swift ZXi, Spark with option pack (Only 1 airbag), dZire ZX/ZDi (What a wait!), SX4 ZXi, i10 Magna(If only for the HORRENDOUS EPS).

Cars just outside our budget: Aveo with option pack, Fusion + (no airbags).

From a safety perspective, how would Scorpio Lx fare? Or a pre-owned version?
Old 21st May 2008, 09:37   #22

Originally Posted by motorheadinc
Karnataka has a much higher road taxes, compared to other states.
Old 21st May 2008, 10:16   #23

Why no Getz CRDi till now?
Old 21st May 2008, 11:29   #24

Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
Karnataka has a much higher road taxes, compared to other states.

Higher I agree.
But one lakh rupees....
That is daylight robbery
Old 21st May 2008, 11:36   #25

22,571 RTO for 7L car = 3.21%
In Bangalore it is 12.15%

You are in heaven....
As the base price goes up difference goes up....
Old 21st May 2008, 11:53   #26

Originally Posted by sriturl View Post
You are in heaven....
No, I think Gurgaon would be classified as Heaven as it is dirt cheap there. For Diesels it is even better.

Originally Posted by LightningSpring View Post
@VK: Yea, Aveo will be tested - although option pack is sort of out of our budget. Logan is a good car, but horrible interiors. In Fabia one can rationalize that one has paid for German interiors. Logan diesel is ugly in comparison. The city is Good-gaon.

In summary, we'll check out the Fusion and maybe the Verna.
Petrols that fit in our budget: WagonR VXi+ABS (Does it really exist? Seems a creature of MUL website legend), Swift ZXi, Spark with option pack (Only 1 airbag), dZire ZX/ZDi (What a wait!), SX4 ZXi, i10 Magna(If only for the HORRENDOUS EPS).

Cars just outside our budget: Aveo with option pack, Fusion + (no airbags).

From a safety perspective, how would Scorpio Lx fare? Or a pre-owned version?
Aveo (o ) with discounts should be close or less than your declared budget I feel. Correct me if I am wrong.

Swift ZXi is also very good and well below your budget. I do not think petrols have a waiting in Gurgaon.

Fabia - How much is it On road in Gurgaon ?

i10 Magna optional - Is good but not a highway car. EPS isn't that bad !!

OT - ok - 12 hr power cut city is Gurgaon. I forgot I have a house in Gurgaon and I know ( Malibu Towne )

Last edited by Technocrat : 21st May 2008 at 13:33. Reason: Pleas use edit & multi Quote option
Old 21st May 2008, 13:05   #27

Aveo (o ) with discounts should be close or less than your declared budget I feel. Correct me if I am wrong.

Swift ZXi is also very good and well below your budget. I do not think petrols have a waiting in Gurgaon.

Fabia - How much is it On road in Gurgaon ?

i10 Magna optional - Is good but not a highway car. EPS isn't that bad !!

OT - ok - 12 hr power cut city is Gurgaon. I forgot I have a house in Gurgaon and I know ( Malibu Towne )
Aveo (o) is costlier than SX4 - just called up and checked.

ZXi has 2 month minimum waiting.

Fabia petrol classic is about 5.62 and comes with many goodies (Airbags!). The GC is unsuitable for Gurgaon itself - 145 or thereabouts!

i10 - will be bulk driven by madam in the city. So that will be fine! 15 day waiting only. 100+ cruising it should manage. My worry is the EPS. Just went through many pages of the Accidents thread - many Swifts, no i10!

How (un)safe is i10 - has kpzen posted any pics? He seems to be living close to a Hyundai service center - no offence bro.
Old 21st May 2008, 13:15   #28

Originally Posted by LightningSpring View Post
As might be one set of clutch plates during the first year for sure.
Why do you want to replace your clutch plates? If your madam is driving the wrong way, just tell her. She will learn and you can save money
Old 21st May 2008, 13:44   #29

Originally Posted by LightningSpring
@SB: Our budget can expand, but with other future commitments, we've mentally set that limit, since dZire ZDi just falls around there! Except for the 8 month waiting!!
At Gurgaon, I think you will get the SX4 Zxi at 7.25lacs (atleast that's the price I saw on someother thread). Also, if you like the Dzire, why not take the Petrol Zxi - that should not have a waiting period like the diesel dZire, I guess.
Old 21st May 2008, 14:03   #30

Originally Posted by srijit View Post
Why do you want to replace your clutch plates? If your madam is driving the wrong way, just tell her. She will learn and you can save money
Clearly, you have not taught a lady how to drive.

LS: I suggest the i10. I am sure you will get used to the steering in due course.