Old 3rd July 2008, 12:25   #16

Originally Posted by rjstyles69 View Post
Saar this is next to impossible. The 1.1's sell at a premium atleast in bangalore and in comparo to the other cities lets say a price difference of about 40k tops. So this is out.

The Carb Zen could be contender for that price range. You might have to stretch your budget a wee little.
Why not look at the M800/M1000 ?

I second Riju about the 1.1 alto as i myself own one and definitely it is the juicy big brother car among the other alto versions and definitely cannot be in the 60k range

Carb Zen can be a choice but its hard to find one i suppose and esteem and m-1000 are a good choices and you might be lucky on this.
Old 3rd July 2008, 13:42   #17

I think a M800 would fit your requirements perfectly here.
IMHO, an alto definitely cannot be bought at this price unless it has some real issues.
Old 3rd July 2008, 19:33   #18

thanks for all those replies.. kinda made up my mind to go for an old zen.. i've shifted to pune now. any good place in pune where i can get a good car? one of the dealer in mumbai asked me 59k for a zen, forgot which model. he said he'll give it with a good paint job. i'm not sure about the registration part, can i register it in pune without an NOC. if registration is not a problem, i can go ahead with the deal, after checking the car.
Old 4th July 2008, 13:31   #19

Old zen is a good and wise choice but make sure you take the advice and if possible some test drives from the many pune and mumbai bhpians who do not mind to offer you help.
Old 4th July 2008, 17:05   #20

Originally Posted by musicmanaman View Post
Zen is your best bet, I just sold my 99 carb zen in excellent condition with 55k on the odo for 55k
55k only?? I had sold my 9-10 year old zen for 1 lac with 1.3km reading in April !Anyways Zen would be the best buy in the market
Old 5th July 2008, 22:40   #21

Zen is the best option available. Its a reliable car and wont give up huge running cost. Maintenance problems are also known to be less.
Old 1st August 2008, 16:28   #22

Budget increased..

Hi everyone, I have now increased my budget to 1 lakh, thanks to the salary hike. I started my search all over again and I found a 97 model black esteem for 85K which has run 116000 kms. Is it worth going for that car. I have no idea about the engine life of an esteem.

There are other esteems available for 80K which are 95 models, but I'll have to get a fitness certificate in 1.5 yrs. So I'm looking for 97+ models.

Also there is a 2001 palio available for 1 Lakh. Your opinions?
Old 1st August 2008, 19:30   #23

I'd go for a car with lesser mileage, as 1.2 lakh kms on Indian roads can hammer the life out of most cars. This is all the more important since you don't know how the car was used or maintained. Give it a miss and choose a car that has between 50 - 75K on the odo, even if means ending up with a hatchback.
Old 2nd August 2008, 00:36   #24

2001 Palio 1.2 for a lakh seems to be okay as long as the odo reading is not over 80-90k atleast by Delhi prices. Check how badly / well maintained it is, though.
Old 2nd August 2008, 00:48   #25

Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
As already pointed out, why not a M 1000? Any other brand adn spares availability may be a problem. Both M1000 and zen have the same engine, AFAIK.
The zen and the 1000 do NOT have the same engine, the 1000 shares its engine with the maruti gypsy, and i must say, the 1000 is a Horrible car, its underpowered and gives bad FE. pls stay away from it, also cielos and unos may be a headache alter on.

get a zen, nothing can beat it at this price range, and since now u have a bigger budget, get a better zen!

Last edited by JayD : 2nd August 2008 at 00:50.
Old 5th August 2008, 16:37   #26

I think within that budget a Palio or a FIAT Uno may be a good choice. The Palio better of the two. As far as the UNO is concerned, if it is in decent condition and has been properly maintained, you wont need to spend much on it as it seldon suffers from problems. I'm telling you this from my own experience as I have been driving an Uno 1.0 for the last 3 years. If you plan to only keep the car for a year, these are good choices in my opinion.
Old 8th August 2008, 15:13   #27

check on carwale.com. from the given choices, the zen would be the best bet. It is a very good car and spares would be easy to get.
Old 8th August 2008, 17:10   #28

IMO, a M800/Zen would be the right choice. Don't think of any thing beyond Maruti as others has explained.
Old 19th September 2008, 18:55   #29

Get yourself a Tata Sierra mate.

The mechanicals are the same as that of the Sumo. It look a million dollars and is small enough to be comfortable in the city. And it is diesel to top it off
Old 19th September 2008, 21:15   #30

Esteem is a good buy. for about 80-1L you can get really good examples which can last you pretty long. More spacious than a Zen and gives you that big car feel and smile anyways. Just go for it.