Old 2nd April 2009, 16:46   #16

Originally Posted by loving_alaap View Post
2. In CNG version, you can find a good number of used decent hatches (Santro, Wagon R etc).
Correct me if am wrong, CNG is not yet available in Chennai. So diesel or LPG are his options. Diesel invariably will be the better option here, but then your choices are limited. In used cars, you can look for Indica/Indigo. Accent CRDi will be a little on the costlier side.
Old 2nd April 2009, 16:50   #17

ill second tejas on this.
stay away from used diesel cars.i had one hell of an experiance trying to find a used swift DDis.most of them were accident vehicles and almost all of them had their odometers tampered and the turbo effect was practically missing.
il suggest you for used petrol cars and plonk in LPG kit.
in your budget you will find well maintained OHC,BALENO,SIENNA,PETRA,LANCER.
all are comfortable cars for your size.
you will also get brand new santro in that budget.
Old 2nd April 2009, 16:58   #18

I would suggest that you can go for an ESTEEM, even though it is discontinued, there are enough stocks of spares around. Its is a very low maintenance car, light weight and if you put an LPG kit, it will be cheaper to run. Also, you can get a 2005 esteem easily in that price.

Issues with esteem will be that it has low seating and seems a bit fragile; but it will more or less make it up with the low ownership cost and efficiency.
Old 3rd April 2009, 08:24   #19

Guys, I thank everyone for the suggestions provided. I am inclined towards diesel than the LPG because of the lugging my friend faces in his Wagon R. We have been through an embarrassment of the car stopping in middle of thick traffic and we have to push the car to the road side.
I am currently on a look out for Indica V2, but my wife is pushing me for a used Getz. Hopefully I should be able to convince her for Indica.
Old 5th April 2009, 19:13   #20

Guys, yesterday my friend called me to tell that his Indica has got a overheating issue and to meet him at concorde motors, Ambattur. When wee spoke to the service advisor, he informed that there is some engine work to be done and the estimate will be around 30K. My friend spent around 65k in the same service center just 3 weeks back. Looking at this I am now not comfortable in going for a used Indica.

So I started looking for OHC within my budget. Following is the details of a car I found with 85K on the odo in Team-bhp classifieds.I just wanted to ask you guys if there will be any preventive maintenance that has to be done around this mileage, and if so please give me a rough estimate. It will help me mitigate the risks.

Llumar Tints - light charcoal
130/100 Phillips Rallye headlights with relay & wiring
O.Z. Racing F1 Cup Evo 14" alloys
Newer Mitchelin XM1 tyres 185 60 14
New rear shocks, CV joints
Pioneer CD/MP3 player/ Eclipse speakers / Sony Amp / Subwoofer
Excellent interior, almost spotless
Exterior has one deep scratch, no accidents
All service records - SundaramHonda/Electra
Extra horns, fancy number, comprehensive insurance etc
Old 5th April 2009, 19:43   #21

Originally Posted by cruiser_1982 View Post
Hopefully I should be able to convince her for Indica.
With a budget of 2.5 lacs I feel you should go for a new car instead.

You have choices for an Alto, Spark and an Indica by just stretching your budget slightly
Old 5th April 2009, 20:17   #22

So I started looking for OHC within my budget. Following is the details of a car I found with 85K on the odo in Team-bhp classifieds.I just wanted to ask you guys if there will be any preventive maintenance that has to be done around this mileage, and if so please give me a rough estimate. It will help me mitigate the risks.
Great choice going for an OHC. That's what i suggested in my first post to you. You will need to check front suspension setup completely (assuming the rear new one is fine), front brakes and get the timing belt replaced. Also check steering assembly & clutch condition. Nothing more should be required.
Old 5th April 2009, 20:18   #23

In June 2007, I got an Indica V2 DLS(AC,PS & metalic) with Central Locking Sys, Xplod 4-spkr System, Leather Seat covers, and all other goodies with a total running of 28000 KMS for 2.05 (2 lakh five thousand) ;I still dont know whether i got its dirt cheap or thats the real Indica's Worth, although i have'nt had any trouble with it since then current running in 50000 kms.

Can somebody comment???
Old 6th April 2009, 11:29   #24

Llumar Tints - light charcoal
130/100 Phillips Rallye headlights with relay & wiring
O.Z. Racing F1 Cup Evo 14" alloys
Newer Mitchelin XM1 tyres 185 60 14
New rear shocks, CV joints
Pioneer CD/MP3 player/ Eclipse speakers / Sony Amp / Subwoofer
Excellent interior, almost spotless
Exterior has one deep scratch, no accidents
All service records - SundaramHonda/Electra
Extra horns, fancy number, comprehensive insurance etc

Guys, What will be the apt price for the above mentioned car considering it is in a decent mechanical and cosmetic condition? This is going to be my first car and I am looking forward to your advice regarding the price. Please help me, Thanks in advance.
Old 6th April 2009, 11:50   #25

Month & year of make?
Model?
1.3 / 1.5?
No of owners?
Company owed / Individual?
Old 6th April 2009, 12:15   #26

The car is a 2001 1.5 EXI (dont know the month)
1 owner and company owned vehicle.
Old 6th April 2009, 12:23   #27

Going by your description, i think 2.75 lakhs should be a good price. What price is the owner quoting?
Old 6th April 2009, 13:03   #28

Thw owner's quote is 3.1L and he is ready to negotiate.
Old 6th April 2009, 15:19   #29

Since i have been planning to buy a car myself, i have been doing my research on the same. As per carwale an excellently maintained OHC of the description should cost the maximum of 2.9Lacs. Though quiet frankly, i am yet to see a well maintained OHC for less than 3Lacs.

Moreover, i have been advised; not to buy a company owned car, for the simple reason that since the car may not have had a dedicated single user with any emo attachment to the car; therefore it may have been driven roughly to the people allotted the car.
Old 6th April 2009, 15:24   #30

CarWale CarValue : 2001 Honda City 1.5 EXi in Chennai (85K odo)

If you are buying a car
Individual Value
Car Condition Excellent Good Fair Car Value (Rs.) 2,98,500 2,84,200 2,68,500 Dealer Value*
Car Condition Excellent Good Fair Car Value (Rs.) 3,10,500 2,90,000 2,71,500

So, try to negotiate on 2.4-2.5 & close the deal around 2.6.

Last edited by loving_alaap : 6th April 2009 at 15:25.