Old 26th August 2012, 21:33   #16

Today I had called a test drive vehicle from g3 in thane. Scorpio vlx automatic. The vehicle is still available on sale. 13.78 lac. On road. 2wheel drive. Is it worth the investment.
Old 26th August 2012, 22:54   #17

Re: Mahindra Scorpio Automatic - Production stopped

Originally Posted by krdeshmukh View Post
Today I had called a test drive vehicle from g3 in thane. Scorpio vlx automatic. The vehicle is still available on sale. 13.78 lac. On road. 2wheel drive. Is it worth the investment.
Stay away from the auto. Been hearing a few issues a while back from the very few owners here. Do your research on the forum and talk to the owners before you end up plonking down the dough.
Old 27th August 2012, 03:45   #18

This is stock clearance going on at M&M and its dealers. You might have an issue with warranty replacements if required, on the autobox and spares.

I d suggest you stay away from it till the supply chain issues at M&M are resolved and the AT supplies restored.

I know there are absolutely no AT SUVs in that segment but there is no choice currently.
Old 28th August 2012, 17:25   #19

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Stay away from the auto. Been hearing a few issues a while back from the very few owners here. Do your research on the forum and talk to the owners before you end up plonking down the dough.
Apologies. I have seen some serious Scorpio Automatic bashing on this forum and I presume it is from people who haven't owned a Scorpio Automatic. I have had one for the last 2.5 years and it is a gem. Yes, the news that they are having trouble with their supplier surely is worrisome but I really would encourage friends from bashing / trashing the car without facts. Ping me or reach out to me if you need some real ownership experience from having had one for 2.5 years and put 42,000 kms on it.
ananth_iy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2012, 18:14   #20

I would suggest to stay away. There is no point in buying a vehicle that is already stopped. Warranty and other replacement issues in the lon run will not make sense.You would have to wait indefinitely at the A.S.S for your replacement to arrive.
Old 28th August 2012, 18:30   #21

Originally Posted by scopriobharath

I would suggest to stay away. There is no point in buying a vehicle that is already stopped. Warranty and other replacement issues in the lon run will not make sense.You would have to wait indefinitely at the A.S.S for your replacement to arrive.
Even if the supplier has stopped providing new boxes, Mahindra has enough boxes to take care of new vehicles and warranty issues, if any. Remember, Mahindra has integrated the AT box, with their engine, they have quite a good expertise to look into boxes for issues. If it fails, then they have enough to honour replacements.

I would still put my bet on AT Scorpio, for its the best vehicle in this price range.
tanwaramit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2012, 18:44   #22

Scorpio AT production stopped? On sunday 26 th Aug, I saw a Scorpio AT with 4X4 badge test mule (coffe brown color), completely uncovered at the Toll Naka near Talegaon (the one after which the left turn takes us to the W.Exp Way). It had MH-15 TC - some number on it. Unfortunately could not click any pics.

Is it possible, Mahindra is coming out with a different AT gearbox with 4X4?
Old 28th August 2012, 19:06   #23

Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
Even if the supplier has stopped providing new boxes, Mahindra has enough boxes to take care of new vehicles and warranty

I would still put my bet on AT Scorpio, for its the best vehicle in this price range.
That is a very courageous bet indeed!

More so in an environment where the law is observed more in the breach!

Keep in mind the fact that in case of any A.S.S. issues involving the AT part of the vehicle , should M&M decide you are not worth the bother for them to go to the trouble of resolving your issues - You will be at your wits end running from pillar to post while the law firm who have the retainer for M&M will merrily play the system and your money will be tied up in a non functional vehicle.
Old 29th August 2012, 12:46   #24

Originally Posted by RS_DEL View Post
That is a very courageous bet indeed!

More so in an environment where the law is observed more in the breach!

Keep in mind the fact that in case of any A.S.S. issues involving the AT part of the vehicle , should M&M decide you are not worth the bother for them to go to the trouble of resolving your issues - You will be at your wits end running from pillar to post while the law firm who have the retainer for M&M will merrily play the system and your money will be tied up in a non functional vehicle.
Maybe, if we do a compare of all the manufacturers, you will quickly realize that M&M is one of the most responsive and customer centric of the lot.

Yes, their vehicles have niggles, but their A$$ spare no efforts in setting it right and M&M has always had a history of fixing the niggles at regular intervals. Let us not generally start a "scare thread" with no valid inputs.

Yes, I also hear that they are having some trouble sourcing their AT boxes, but my confidence in completely with M&M - they will find a viable alternative and not leave customers high and dry.
ananth_iy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st August 2012, 22:50   #25

Posted the same on XUV thread also:

Scorpio might get an autobox from Hyundai. M&M and Ssanyong are working with Hyundai to source their 6 speed autobox. Expect at least 2 years for the formalities and testing before we get to buy one,

On the other hand, Mahindra is advertising the automatic now-a-days. Maybe this is an attempt to get rid of existing stock

Made to order requests for 4X4 has stopped. Example if you want a 4X4 Auto with 7 seater captain seats in black - it would be next to impossible to source one unless some dealer / yard has the stock.
Old 1st September 2012, 02:52   #26

OT, Scorpio export to US is also stopped because of setbacks -

Mahindra Scorpio Automatic - Production stopped-scorpio.jpeg
Old 12th March 2013, 07:50   #27

Is it really stopped ? Latest TVC by Mahindra does mention Automatic clearly.

Check at 53 secs.

Last edited by tanwaramit : 12th March 2013 at 07:53.
tanwaramit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2013, 08:23   #28

Originally Posted by josejoseph View Post
OT, Scorpio export to US is also stopped because of setbacks -
I believe (remember reading this somewhere) this is due to the crash & stability ratings and not due to the auto tranny. M&M now has a temporary 6 speed auto from Bosch rather than DSI.
People with credible information to confirm.
Old 12th March 2013, 09:58   #29

I have the VLX automatic for 3 years now. Done 50,000 kms on it. No issues. Great car to own and drive. I have a great service center here at Coimbatore and hence no issues. If you have good feedback about your service center go ahead. It has definitely become pricey inthe last 3 years. I bought for 11.7 lakhs on road.
Old 12th March 2013, 23:44   #30

Originally Posted by nitin.rai View Post
M&M now has a temporary 6 speed auto from Bosch rather than DSI.
People with credible information to confirm.
SsangYong Rexton already has an AT box, wonder why M&M cannot re-use the same in other vehicles in its line-up too. Its long due on the XUV 5OO.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com