Team-BHP - BMW to launch the 1 Series later in 2013*UPDATE: Now launched*

-   -   BMW to launch the 1 Series later in 2013*UPDATE: Now launched* (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/135593-bmw-launch-1-series-later-2013-update-now-launched-9.html)

Originally Posted by manishk123 (Post 3205012)
Got this in my mail today. Its here.

Yea, got it too. Register for it and they will call you post Sep 2 for a test drive.

I just looked up the kerb weight of the 118d,and its 1400kgs.Thats pretty lardy,these cars are becoming heavier after each generation.

BMW sells a 518d in Europe so a 118d aint so bad power-wise

Originally Posted by Mpower (Post 3203740)
Is it a different engine?

I thought 118d is just a de-tuned version of the 120d.

Originally Posted by akshay1234 (Post 3203738)
EDIT - Mpower, it is the same engine.

Originally Posted by suhaas307 (Post 3204409)
Forget about the silly 118d and 120d, a remap should sort it out.

Looks like the 184 BHP version (320d, X1, etc.) does slightly differ from the 143 BHP version (118d).

The engine block seems to be the same, the turbo seems be running at the same boost levels, but the fuel rail is running lower at 1600 bar on the 143 BHP version (1800 bar on the 184 BHP version).

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_N47

This means that they could save costs by using a 2nd gen common rail and smaller injectors that could comfortably churn out 143 BHP, but not quite 184 BHP.

But yes, a remap will definitely take things higher; may not be to the extent as what a remap on the 320d's engine would.

BMW to launch all new 1-Series on 3rd September.

On the pricing front we could expect the car to be priced in the range of Rs. 20-25 lakhs. To keep costs low, the company will assemble the car at the Chennai plant alongside the 3, 5, 7, X1, X3 and MINI Countryman.
http://www.autosarena.com/bmw-to-lau...3rd-september/

Autocar show tonignt (10:30 pm -22nd Aug) reviews the India bound BMW 1-series!

Has anyone noticed BMW's aggressive marketing for the 1-Series? It features racing driver Arman Ibrahim and Sachin Tendulkar wearing racing-overalls and doing slithery stuff on the black-top, with a "Coming Soon" message at the end.

Originally Posted by suhaas307 (Post 3215582)
Has anyone noticed BMW's aggressive marketing for the 1-Series?

Some friends in Bangalore have spotted a few boards in malls which were saying "1.. Coming Soon.."

They are trying hard to get the brand enter the market further and better. It would be better if they strengthen their staff and others on ASC and all regarding their product launches.

Anurag.

And they better have that space in the boot for a spare tire. I hate these so called big 3's dictating terms on how I should handle a tire puncture...

Originally Posted by kryptonite (Post 3206458)

Looks like the 184 BHP version (320d, X1, etc.) does slightly differ from the 143 BHP version (118d).

The engine block seems to be the same, the turbo seems be running at the same boost levels, but the fuel rail is running lower at 1600 bar on the 143 BHP version (1800 bar on the 184 BHP version).

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_N47

This means that they could save costs by using a 2nd gen common rail and smaller injectors that could comfortably churn out 143 BHP, but not quite 184 BHP.

But yes, a remap will definitely take things higher; may not be to the extent as what a remap on the 320d's engine would.

Are the injectors also same as 3 series? If so then a remap can easily push the power on par with 3 series

Preview of the 1 series happening at Samrat in Delhi tomorrow. Anyone going from team bhp?

Received this in the mail:

Dear Guest,

We pleased to inform you that much awaited THE ALL-NEW BMW 1 SERIES Shall be available for an exclusive Preview on Saturday, August 24th, 2013 at Samrat Hotel, New Delhi.

We are delighted to offer this exclusive preview ahead of the launch of the ALL NEW BMW 1 SERIES this September.

You are requested to kindly confirm your attendance by return e-Mail . Please find bellow our Invite for the same. In case of any clarifications, you may contact our Marketing team at +91 9717295128.

We look forward to seeing you at Hotel Samrat this Saturday.

Originally Posted by reddevilgautam (Post 3216752)
Preview of the 1 series happening at Samrat in Delhi tomorrow. Anyone going from team bhp?

Are you not going for the Preview of the 1-Series?

The MODS who are near about Delhi would be attending this event for sure.

Anurag.

Originally Posted by a4anurag (Post 3216870)
Are you not going for the Preview of the 1-Series?

The MODS who are near about Delhi would be attending this event for sure.

Anurag.

Nope can't make it :( thats why was hoping if someone could catch the event and take some pics...

BMW 1 Series arrives at Indian dealerships.

BMW to launch the 1 Series later in 2013*UPDATE: Now launched*-bmw1seriesarrivesatdealerships.jpg

The BMW 1 Series would launch with one petrol and one diesel engine option. The petrol motor is a 1.6-liter turbocharged unit that creates 136bhp and 220Nm of peak power and torque. This engine is driven via an eight-speed automatic transmission that sends power down via the rear wheels.
The petrol engine’s ARAI-rated fuel efficiency is 16.28km/l and this package would go into the BMW 1 Series 116i variant.

The diesel engine is the 2.0-liter motor that India’s familiar with through the 3 Series and the base 5 Series variant. In the 1 Series, this engine is calibrated to produce a peak output of 143bhp and a peak torque of 320Nm, paired to the same 8-speed gearbox.

ARAI-rated fuel economy for the diesel stands at 20.58kpl

BMW India will assemble the 1 Series at its Chennai plant.

Rumored to be launched in the range of 20 -25 lakhs (ex showrom), to be confirmed in the Sept 3rd launch.

http://indianautosblog.com/2013/08/b...lerships-93190

Originally Posted by volkman10 (Post 3218646)
The BMW 1 Series would launch with one petrol and one diesel engine option. The diesel engine is the 2.0-liter motor that India’s familiar with through the 3 Series and the base 5 Series variant. In the 1 Series, this engine is calibrated to produce a peak output of 143bhp and a peak torque of 320Nm, paired to the same 8-speed gearbox.

ARAI-rated fuel economy for the diesel stands at 20.58 kpl.

Fantastic News and Thanks for sharing Volkman10

I quiet like the looks of the 1 series and looks like a little grown i20 with large bumpers. And with this engine configuration + RWD it is going to be 'Sheer Driving Pleasure!"

Originally Posted by volkman10 (Post 3218646)
BMW India will assemble the 1 Series at its Chennai plant.

Since it would be assembled here the cost would be on the lower side and not cheap but I am eagerly waiting for the Official Review!

Anurag.