Old 4th January 2007, 10:22   #31

Yeah, thats right. many folks here in india are familiar with the 'benz', not the bmw, probably because we had those 'benz' buses those days & all the movie stars used to own 'benz' cars
Old 4th January 2007, 10:32   #32

The Overdrive Car of the Year was announced lastnight and the top honour went to the Hyundai Verna.
Old 5th January 2007, 21:07   #33

In the rurals... people dont realy understand BMW... But, from what i've seen, even in rural areas, people knows the respect the Merc demands...

But... I'd agree that persons who know a thing or two on cars... BMW has an almost equal status as a Merc (Cant say same about Audi though!)
You hit it on the head. To a more sophisticated pallate - there is virtually no difference between the 2 brands - it just boils down to a preference - drivers car or chauffered ride. But to the average consumer that is less educated about brand equity et all. - the Bimmer will never get the same respect as the 3 pointed star. Atleast in India.

Case in point - The largest numbers of MBs sold in India as of today is in the state of Punjab where most income comes from agriculture - the residents of punjab are loaded and most of them are probably educated - but from a marketing perspective they have been exposed to a few popular luxury brands. To them a Pajero is probably equal or better than say a Audi Q7. I know I am stereotyping here - but honestly when you read in the papers that some land owner in Gurgaon didnt have a penny to his name and is now worth 16 crores because a BPO bought his land and is now spending money by the lakhs - he goes out and buys a Merc over any other ride cause thats what "Bada Sahibs and Bada Babus' ride.
Old 6th January 2007, 00:03   #34

Maruti

I am sure 2007 is going to be one great year for us . We are going to witness one of the best auto fights in the history of India . Mahindra is also a strong contender if Logan hits the sweet spot on pricing. But any way MAruti seems kinda indestructibile right now.
  • Monthly sales of around 45000+ units
  • Swift Diesel and New Baleno may even make the dominance go stronger if priced rightly
  • The entry level Alto seems to have no competetion and feels like no one can ever compete to its level of easy on maintenece feel.
  • 1.3 Multi Jet in the hands of Maruti is like giving PETE SAMPRAS/ROGER FEDERER a Wilson ProStaff .
  • Fiat can to an extent fight back with the Palio and Punto to a sales around 15000+ a month but 45000+ ... TATA 1 lac-ie may succeed selling more than that if launched ever for 1Lac INR !
Old 6th January 2007, 00:18   #35

Originally Posted by maxbhp View Post
[*]Fiat can to an extent fight back with the Palio and Punto to a sales around 15000+ a month but 45000+ ... TATA 1 lac-ie may succeed selling more than that if launched ever for 1Lac INR !
You gotta be kidding!!! Fiat selling 15000+ (let's forget 45000+) a month? Only if we can order them online. Not even Indica sells that much. Besides, don't they need dealers to sell cars, and they have very few dealers. Between Apr-Oct 2006 they sold only 1400 Fiat cars, that's barely 250 cars a month.
Old 6th January 2007, 00:35   #36

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
You gotta be kidding!!! Fiat selling 15000+ (let's forget 45000+) a month? Only if we can order them online. Not even Indica sells that much. Besides, don't they need dealers to sell cars, and they have very few dealers. Between Apr-Oct 2006 they sold only 1400 Fiat cars, that's barely 250 cars a month.

• You know and I know and everyone knows why they aren't selling right now . I know many many many people who have restrained themselves from buying Paio coz of the same reason . Indica would have never been in the position had Fiat taken care of their root trouble.
  • By 15000 I mean combined sales . Since they are planning to launch couple of new cars + since they have seriously decided on pumping money I think they are going to spruce up customer relation plus service etc . IF a santro can sell 12000 units a month , Palio given the right amount of support can easily do 9000 , and Grand punto at 5-6 lacs can take another 4000+ a month , and 2000+ if Linea materialises so its 9 + 4 + 2 K = 15 K a month which isnt too optimistic . Yes , I do agree that they have a herculian task of gaining back customer confidence . IF they intend to be a long term player am sure they are going to do something to rectify it after all they are one of the Worlds best small car manufacturer . IF nothing works out , they better call Mr.Subbu to sort out the trouble.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com