Old 23rd March 2019, 10:47   #1

AJP wants to bring Shelby to India

Ford Shelby to launch in India, price tag ₹2 crore.

Pune-based AJP Group will locally assemble these top-end cars in its AJ Performance Studio as technical partner of Shelby India. The first models will roll out as early as the second half of this year .

India will definitely get at least one of the Mustang Shelby GT cars to begin with, though the plan for products is currently being drawn up by Shelby India for the country.

volkman10 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 28th March 2019, 07:25   #2

Re: AJP wants to bring Shelby to India

AJP wants to bring Shelby to India - Post moved to a new thread.
Aditya is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th March 2019, 08:35   #3

If AJP were to ask me for my free & unbiased advice, I'd tell them to not even bother with it. Reasons:
  • I LOVE the Mustang, but will be the first to admit that it's grossly overpriced in India. Ford still has many 2018 Mustangs which are being sold at whopping discounts. Who is even going to consider a more expensive Mustang, no matter how powerful it is?
  • No one really cares about Shelby Mustangs anymore, not even Americans. Reason = stock Mustangs have gotten so good. Carroll Shelby had to file for bankruptcy - link.
  • When spending over a crore, the Indian customer wants a "brand". When one can have a Porsche or even used Ferraris & Lamborghinis for 2 crores, who is going to bother with a beefed up Mustang?
  • A Shelby Mustang VS a brand new regular Mustang + brand new Cayman for lesser money. Hmmmm.

Last edited by tsk1979 : 28th March 2019 at 10:17. Reason: Looks better with bullets
GTO is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 28th March 2019, 10:17   #4

Another Factor in the pricing is to compare against similar cars where the car is primarily sold. The Shelby mustang is a 35000$ car. That buys you stuff like 4runner and other midsize-large SUVs in the USA, aka fortuner.

So Its like Fortuner with USA version sticker being sold for 2 crore. Does not make sense at all. At sub 50L, it may have a snowball's chance in hell, but at 2 crore, ..... But then in India, where some people buy a gold iphone cases which do not even have an ecoboost engine
tsk1979 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 28th March 2019, 10:17   #5

If AJP were to ask me for my free & unbiased advice, I'd tell them to not even bother with it. Reasons:

- Ford still has many 2018 Mustangs which are being sold at whopping discounts.
Plus 1. Actually they have some colours white/ grey from 2016 and most colours from 2017 in stocks.

Last edited by Turbanator : 28th March 2019 at 10:20.
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th March 2019, 10:47   #6

Plus 1. Actually they have some colours white/ grey from 2016 and most colours from 2017 in stocks.
How much are they letting them go for?
Sahil is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th March 2019, 11:43   #7

Another Factor in the pricing is to compare against similar cars where the car is primarily sold. The Shelby mustang is a 35000$ car.
I believe you are way off the mark when it comes to prices of the current Mustang Shelby ... the 2019 Mustang Shelby® GT350R, to give it its full name.

Please see https://www.ford.com/cars/mustang/models/shelby-gt350r/ ... the car starts at USD $67,135.

If you're talking about Shelby branded cars based on the Mustang ...

2019 Shelby GT Starting MSRP USD $61,345.
Source : http://www.shelby.com/images/PDF/2019ShelbyGT_Web.pdf

FourWheelDrift
FourWheelDrift is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 28th March 2019, 11:51   #8

Originally Posted by FourWheelDrift View Post
I believe you are way off the mark when it comes to prices of the current Mustang Shelby ... the 2019 Mustang Shelby® GT350R, to give it its full name.

Please see https://www.ford.com/cars/mustang/models/shelby-gt350r/ ... the car starts at USD $67,135.

If you're talking about Shelby branded cars based on the Mustang ...

2019 Shelby GT Starting MSRP USD $61,345.
Source : http://www.shelby.com/images/PDF/2019ShelbyGT_Web.pdf

FourWheelDrift

Aah My bad. So Probably it should be priced same as the BMW X3? So 70L approx?
Old 28th March 2019, 12:26   #9

Aah My bad. So Probably it should be priced same as the BMW X3? So 70L approx?
Not quite.

BMW X3 prices in the US start at USD $41,000, which is much lower than the Mustang Shelby's starting price.

Source: https://www.bmwusa.com/byo.html?seri...nt-selector/x3

To give this some more perspective, the Ford Mustang GT sold in India at ~Rs. 75 Lakh, has a starting MSRP of USD $36,450 in the US.

Sources :
https://www.india.ford.com/cars/must...g-gt-fastback/
https://shop.ford.com/build/mustang/

FourWheelDrift

Last edited by FourWheelDrift : 28th March 2019 at 12:35.
FourWheelDrift is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th March 2019, 13:41   #10

Pune-based AJP Group will locally assemble these top-end cars in its AJ Performance Studio as technical partner of Shelby India.
Surprised to read this knowing plans of AJP for Scomadi classic scooters (Scomadi to bring British classic scooters to India).
Bit perplexed to see AJP opening multiple threads in luxury automotive market, does luxury market have enough demand?
sukiwa is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th March 2019, 13:53   #11

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
How much are they letting them go for?
About 51 for 2016 MY- White, Silver or Grey. For MY 2017 - Red/ Yellow around 59. These are prices here in North. Basically, FORD has done sort of an agreement with one dealer in each region who will get these cars from the factory at special prices and if any other dealer wants to buy they will have to route via him. For multiple reasons, even with these low prices, I am not tempted to consider this offer, perhaps around 45
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th March 2019, 07:15   #12

Received the following note from AJP:

I wanted to clarify that the Ford Mustang Shelby 500/350 etc belong to the product portfolio of Ford. Meaning that although they carry the name Shelby as part of their product name, they still belong to the Ford portfolio.

What we are talking about is the Shelby portfolio which does not have cars named as you mention in the article- the Shelby portfolio contains the likes of the Shelby SuperSnake, Shelby Cobra and others.

AJP Group is the technical partner of Shelby and not of Ford- hence we will customize the Shelby product/s, not the ones that belong to the Ford portfolio.

I have also attached the car images in this email.
AJP wants to bring Shelby to India-ss-rear.jpg
GTO is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 29th March 2019, 11:04   #13

What we are talking about is the Shelby portfolio which does not have cars named as you mention in the article- the Shelby portfolio contains the likes of the Shelby SuperSnake, Shelby Cobra and others.

Attachment 1863935
This clarifies which cars are being offered by AJP - i.e. by Shelby as a manufacturer, and not the Ford ones which license the Shelby name.

The Shelby vehicle range can be seen at http://www.shelby.com/?topic=vehicles

I wonder if all these models are available in RHD. @GTO, perhaps you can follow up with AJP and seek clarification.

FourWheelDrift

AJPerformance has website where some MY 2018 Shelby products are listed ... not sure if this implies these are the vehicles they will be assembling in India.

https://www.ajperformance.in/shelby/

FourWheelDrift

Last edited by suhaas307 : 29th March 2019 at 12:48. Reason: Merging back to back posts
Old 2nd April 2019, 07:55   #14

Originally Posted by FourWheelDrift View Post
I wonder if all these models are available in RHD.
They will have to build them in RHD. The government won't allow sales of LHD cars, and neither will customers be interested in them.
Old 2nd April 2019, 11:12   #15

Regardless, I think what you earlier stated still applies.
Even with these beefed up vehicles I too feel Ford and/or Shelby badge simply lacks the brand equity to command such high prices.

Best of luck to them though, it's always nice to see a higher variety of sports cars on our roads.
Maky is offline   (1) Thanks