Old 25th December 2019, 19:54   #1

Mitsubishi India requests government to extend BS-VI deadline

"In what comes across as a shocking revelation by a source, Missubishi India has requested the Indian government to prolong the BS-VI transition date. Mitsubishi India, the source claims, spoke with Nitin Gadkari "

https://www.financialexpress.com/aut...etrol/1797492/
LionX is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 25th December 2019, 20:15   #2

Re: Mitsubishi India requests government to extend BS-VI deadline

This is how the conversation with Mr. Gadkari will go

Mitsubishi big shot (MBS): Morning Mr. Gadkari. I represent Mitsubishi. We would like you to consider extending the BSVI implementation deadline.

Mr.Gadkari (NG): Mitsubishi? What business are you into exactly? ACs?

MBS(confused) : We make cars like the Outlander, erstwhile Lancer etc.

NG: Oh! Is it? Are these cars export only models? I don't seem to recollect seeing or hearing about any of those cars. Anyway. BSVI is only applicable for cars sold in India. Since you are mostly into export business, you can get in touch with the concerned minister of that country.

MBS (Banging his head on the table): Sir. But we still sell those cars in India

NG: Really??? Since you are anyway not selling many cars in India, I suggest you improve your business first so it helps our economy in terms if more taxes and then you can some meet me for such extensions.

MBS: (Angry but helpless): Ok sir. Thanks for your time.

Last edited by racer_ash : 25th December 2019 at 20:21.
racer_ash is offline   (56) Thanks
Old 25th December 2019, 20:28   #3

A nice joke to end the year 2019. This is like, a guy who has always scored last in the class, asking the Head Master to postpone the Annuals.

Unfortunately for Mitsubishi, nobody will care :(

Last edited by CliffHanger : 25th December 2019 at 20:31.
CliffHanger is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 25th December 2019, 20:44   #4

Shortest straw, it seems?
"Mitsubishi bhai, you go na. We'd have asked GM, but they packed off in a hurry. You're already one foot out the door. "

Be what may, isn't it a little too late to be realising this for motor corps? It's not like it's a class 9 assignment.
mayankk is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 06:27   #5

I really doubt this piece of news! Mitsubishi of all should be having the least amount of inventory in the entire country. They have not been manufacturing and neither selling anything significant, so why would they pitch this request at the highest level?
motorworks is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 06:47   #6

It's not for the Govt to set the deadline, the supreme court has set the deadline even after govt appealed to extend it further.

So if they want to extend the deadline, I think they have to approach the supreme court to appeal for the same.

Long story short, this news cannot be true.
GrammarNazi is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 10:09   #7

When I read the title, I was like . Mitsubishi has all of 5 cars in its inventory. If they don't clear their stock by 31st March 2020, they can gift these 5 cars to all of their (5) employees.

On a serious note, the Supreme Court & Government didn't listen to anyone the last time around when companies 1000 times bigger than Mitsubishi wanted an extension. No way they'll do it now.
GTO is offline   (28) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 12:09   #8

I am interested to know which car are they planning to upgrade to BS6? Do they even have engineers to carry out the required work?
PrideRed is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 12:28   #9

I hear Daewoo and Opel motors are next in line to ask for extension for BS6. Mitsubishi will gain some support by then.

I also heard HM and Premier motors are shaking in fear of the upcoming deadline.
dark.knight is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 12:49   #10

Originally Posted by dark.knight View Post
I hear Daewoo and Opel motors are next in line to ask for extension for BS6. Mitsubishi will gain some support by then.
I also heard HM and Premier motors are shaking in fear of the upcoming deadline.
Not to forget the biggest of them all by sales volume - SIPANI Motors.

On a serious note - the joke is not asking for an extension. Joke is asking it now. This late. What sort of a priority pass relationship does Mitsubishi have with Indian government establishment to even think of expecting something like this? As a stand-alone small player? Since the request is individual, it seems they didn't get any lobbying support via SIAM / other car makers either. They should exit gracefully rather than appearing stupid as a last act.
Reinhard is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 14:42   #11

Mitsubishi India has been smoking something good all this while ... they should have at least given it a thought before approaching the government. I am surprised they don't have engines supporting BS6 anywhere in the world ?
NiInJa is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 14:59   #12

It appears someone in Mitsubishi India wasn't too happy with the odd orders (most likely from Japan) to speak to Gadkari and hence, the leak to the media.
ashutoshb is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 16:55   #13

I have a great amount of respect for Mitsubishi as an absolute pioneer in what they do globally but I lost all of it when they started selling their products in India. They are without doubt the most ignorant car manufacturer ever to sell cars in India and now they want an extension? For what??

In all fairness, Mitsubishi, you are soon going to get a taste of your own medicine.
ron_9191 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 17:28   #14

Originally Posted by LionX View Post
The link mentions that "The first lot of 40 vehicles have already been sold out". Please correct me if I am wrong, but I did not find a single entry in the sales figures for HM-Mitsubishi since they launched it.
I have a soft spot for the Outlander (both old and new) since it has everything I need for my usage, except after-sales support. And the exception will be the one reason my family would probably kill me if I plonk 30 odd lakhs into this after a distant cousin got a Captiva and recently shared some horror stories about eye-watering spare parts prices. But still the heart wants what the heart wants.
Researcher is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 17:28   #15

Now with Mitsubishi in alliance with Renault-Nissan, this may be Mitsubishi's attempt to do some help for the alliance by saving the K9K from extinction, while not "defacing" Renault-Nissan with this stupid request.

Now, will Maruti come up with the same request - to postpone BS-VI-dates until their Diesel engine is ready for BS-VI?

Last edited by GTO : 27th December 2019 at 09:53. Reason: Typos
romeomidhun is offline   (2) Thanks Received Infraction

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com