Old 5th April 2022, 20:36   #166

Re: Scrappage policy approved, to come into effect from April 2022

I was talking to someone today casually who mentioned he works in automotive industry and that according to the new scrappage policy, which came into effect from 01/04/22, the registration on new car will be waived off if you scrap your older one. He even claimed one of his relatives in Thane is already making a new car purchase taking advantage of this rule. Now I am not sure this is true because it's unlikely states would give even a single rupee rebate unless they are getting something from the central govt. in return.
Do you folks have any idea if any such scheme has come into effect?
PS: It would be nice to have an article which precisely explains what has come into effect from 01/04/22 because on google I could not find anything much I could trust.
pkk077 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th May 2022, 12:30   #167

My Dad visited Dwarka RTO today and they mentioned there's no incentive or discount on new car registration when scrapping old car.

Last edited by rauldsouza : 27th May 2022 at 12:30. Reason: typo
rauldsouza is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th May 2022, 12:49   #168

Originally Posted by shancz View Post
It would be extremely idiotic to have a no road tax dues clause.
In that case it will be unfair to provide the scrappage policy benefits to the owner.
fordday is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2022, 16:28   #169

Originally Posted by fordday View Post
In that case it will be unfair to provide the scrappage policy benefits to the owner.
True, there are two components IIRC, the scrap value and the incentive.
Cars with road tax dues should only get the scrap value(the bare minimum) and a certificate so they can go ahead with deregistration giving a standardized way of disposal to such owners.
The incentive, which should be a larger chunk should be only applicable to vehicles with no dues of any kind, typically targeting 15-20 year old cars.

This meets their second objective of providing raw material for core industries like steel, which currently import scrap from other countries and will also develop/upgrade our scrappage industry and make it more accessible.

Last edited by shancz : 27th May 2022 at 16:29. Reason: upd
shancz is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th June 2022, 14:21   #170

Any update on the proposed discount and registration waivers? I'm planning to utilise the policy but clarity not available on this topic.
Old 4th June 2022, 16:22   #171

Originally Posted by goel.honey View Post
Any update on the proposed discount and registration waivers? I'm planning to utilise the policy but clarity not available on this topic.
I was interested in this as my car is completing 15 years in Nov 2022.

On googling found this : https://www.scrapoto.com/

They immediately called back but said that the whole discount and waivers will start for commercial vehicles in 2023 and personal vehicles in 2024. However, they will take you current car, give all the documents and scrap it in a "responsible" way now.
m8002? is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 8th July 2022, 23:14   #172

Assam State cabinet has approved scrappage policy. Although no clear details emerging right now, they claim to scrap vehicles above 15 years old. Not sure whether it is mandatory or advisory. Will post the relevant link for more info :- http://www.sentinelassam.com/north-east-india-news/assam-news/assam-cabinet-gives-nod-to-vehicle-scrappage-policy-601101

https://www.guwahatiplus.com/assam/a...rappage-policy

Last edited by Gypsian : 8th July 2022 at 23:21. Reason: To add the second link.
Gypsian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2022, 15:49   #173

We need to draw an analogy and conclusion from this media report, without going into the political overtones of this statement about "USE AND THROW" logic getting applied that the Hon'ble Minister is critical about.

I, during my schooldays was taught an excellent quote by my revered and late English teacher Jackie Collaco Sir. He used to always tell us these golden lines :

“Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

This maxim, known as “the golden rule” of ethics, as we learnt, was summarised by Jesus in whole of the Old Testament in a single phrase.

Now the statement by our Hon'ble Union Minister Mr Gadkari saying "one should never indulge in use and throw" opens up a Pandora box from where we draw analogies and conclusions.

Mr Gadkari has himself ushered in the NEW ERA of "use and throw" for we automobile enthusiasts and also for the retired persons, have-nots and underprivileged low income groups with his Draconian Scrappage Policy that has come as a gazette notification amending existing laws and rules for motor vehicles. The older automobiles that we own, that are close to our hearts and are parts and parcels of our DNA since several years, have now come under the evil eye and scanner of almost all the arms of a democratically elected government. This includes the legislature, executive and the judiciary. The fourth arm that is the media including the print and electronic media is also sometimes critical about older motor vehicles. The era of crippling re-registration fees and penalties for delays ushered in by Mr Gadkari have unnerved almost all owners of 15-49 year old motor vehicles.

And he proclaims "one should never indulge in use and throw".

The link to read his statement :-

"One should never indulge in use and throw, says Gadkari days after being dropped from BJP parliamentary board"

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/stor...areurltracking

No political discussions please. Kindly observe forum rules

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 28th August 2022 at 16:06.
anjan_c2007 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2022, 21:16   #174

Now automakers presumably with a proxy environment professor are again attacking less than 10 year old diesel engines. The professor says he has studied a few hundred less than 10 year old diesel cars and finds those with high mileage emitting more greenhouse gases. He is ignorant about the diesel engines that are high compression and emit much lower CO2 vis a vis the petrol. The environment professor also becomes an expert on maintenance of diesel engines. However, he is also ignorant about diesel injectors, fuel line, the engine. He talks about catalytic convertors in diesels that many of these engines are not fitted with. It's true that badly maintained diesels are more polluting and release much more particulate matter.

He also totally ignores other sources that contribute to atmospheric pollution raising greenhouse gases. As an environmental professor, the learned person needed to have taken a holistic view and should have quoted quantum of pollutants in % age released from all other sources listing these alongside those emitted by diesel and petrol engines.

https://twitter.com/timesofindia/sta...YhhSe8_4w&s=08

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 2nd September 2022 at 21:18.
anjan_c2007 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2022, 23:00   #175

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
Now automakers presumably with a proxy environment professor are again attacking less than 10 year old diesel engines. The professor says he has studied a few hundred less than 10 year old diesel cars and finds those with high mileage emitting more greenhouse gases.
I have no issue in scrapping my car. I'll even accept all the advices of environmental activists on their face value provided the government returns my money which I spent on the car, the tax I paid at each refill and tolls I paid after paying my registration tax. If government can refund that amount, take my car, do whatever you wish to do and this time I'll buy an EV with an off grid connection to my home irrespective of the costs just to make sure I pay 0 penny to the government for running my vehicle for life.

I also wish people start adopting EVs much much faster so the government starts to get the pinch when collections from diesels falls from Lakhs crore to crores.

Everything has been trivialised so much that it doesn't even bother now. I had thought that people would start protesting in Kolkata after the ban but nope. It isn't even a priority.

Then the government wonders what else can be done for a more conducive environment for businesses. Sigh.
Old 20th October 2022, 21:31   #176

The GST Council that is tasked with rationalisation of GST rates is slated to meet before mid Nov '22. In its agenda are the setting up of GST Administrative Tribunals and levy of taxes on certain entertainment services and so on. Raising GST rates on a host of other goods and services has been dispensed with in view of the high inflation.

There neither was and neither is any agenda point to offer the MoRTH requested/demanded GST rebate on brand new cars bought after scrapping the older car.

Presently, the manufacturers rebate, state/UT discount on registration charges (these charges are quite low compared to the other state tax like Road Tax) and the scrap value of the old car are only available as benefits.

The MoRTH has made a hollow and pipe dream like assurance in October 2021 when this policy was unveiled, that GST rebate could be available for new car purchases, post scrapping by the owner of his old car.

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 20th October 2022 at 21:33.
Old 6th December 2022, 08:33   #177

There are several conflicting things I have read in this thread, hence want to understand what are the expected benefits and when does this scheme start for personal passenger vehicles?

I have two Toyota Altis which I am holding on to since 2009 in the hope that I can use them to buy a higher end car and save 15%(RTO of 10% waived+5% approx ex showroom off) in total valuing approx 15L(assuming new car is 1cr ex-showroom).
Could the above scenario actually be reality? If so I’ll be getting nearly 5x of the car’s current value back this way.
Old 6th December 2022, 09:16   #178

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
There are several conflicting things I have read in this thread, hence want to understand what are the expected benefits and when does this scheme start for personal passenger vehicles?

I have two Toyota Altis which I am holding on to since 2009 in the hope that I can use them to buy a higher end car and save 15%(RTO of 10% waived+5% approx ex showroom off) in total valuing approx 15L(assuming new car is 1cr ex-showroom).
Could the above scenario actually be reality? If so I’ll be getting nearly 5x of the car’s current value back this way.
There is no benefit of this scheme. It is just fancy words.

I am sitting with scrapping certificate of my old Scorpio. Every dealer of every brand has categorically denied the implementation of this scheme. There is no rebate, no road tax waiver, no discount, no nothing.

Right now, this is purely a scam to push people into scrapping their cars for throwaway prices at selected corporate backed scrapyards with big promises, and then washing away their hands later on.
Shreyans_Jain is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 5th March 2023, 19:07   #179

Tata Motor’s scrappage facility in Jaipur. They plan to setup 12 such facilities across the country.

Video credit: OverDrive YT channel
Old 11th July 2023, 12:16   #180

There is so much data available on the internet and very conflicting also for that matter, that I decided to seek help in this esteemed forum. My 2010 Santro Xing will be eligible for scrapping in 2025. It's a West Bengal registration car and is in Kolkata. What are the benefits that i can accrue by scrapping the car?
Following details will be appreciated with respect to West Bengal and Assam please :-
  • Procedure of scrapping the car in West Bengal and dealers/ agencies if any.
  • Benefit on registration cost of new vehicle
  • Benefit on Road Tax of new vehicle
  • Any benefit passed on to customer by manufacturer of new vehicle
  • Possibility of scrapping the car in some other state
  • What all documents should I ask from various agencies and what all to retain ?
  • Any embargo or capping on number of vehicles that can be scrapped by owner?
Thanks in advance

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com