Old 15th September 2022, 16:06   #16

Re: Mahindra Scorpio-N commands a waiting period of 2 years

This just seems to be the way in the current car market, where demand is seemingly overshadowing supply. Most manufacturers are struggling to meet the short-term demand, and with Mahindra having their manufacturing volume limitations coupled with the blockbuster success of back to back to back launches, the waiting period gets further amplified. Being a silent passenger on their gravy train and just hoping to either get a niggle free Scorpio N next year or an early XUV700 delivery.

Originally Posted by dr_TJ View Post
The strategy of Absolute priority to Z8L variants is something which is good for manufacturing point of view but not good at all from delivery point of view.
I think the absolute prioritization of Z8 Luxury variants was based around their learning from the XUV700 launch and the outstanding demand for the L variants.

What seems to have muddied the waters and left the Z8 L as the variant to get for early delivery is the fact that compared to the XUV700 Luxury pack, the additions offered on the Scorpio N for a similar price are just not compelling enough.

XUV700 Luxury Pack premium = under 1,87,000/-
Scorpio N Luxury Pack premium = 2,00,000/-

What you get - XUV700 vs Scorpio N
Wireless charging - Scorpio N gets only on 4WD AT
Blind-spot monitoring - not available on Scorpio N
360-degree camera - only Front camera + sensors on Scorpio N
Passive keyless entry - Standard on normal Z8
Sony 3D sound system - Slightly inferior on Scorpio N
Electronic parking brake - Not available on Scorpio N

in addition you also get the below add-ons -
Powered driver seat without memory
17" Alloy wheels (only for manual variant, AT variants get 18" alloys as standard from Z8 onwards)

A quick glance at that list and it makes the Luxury pack poor value on AT variants, and slightly better value for Manual variants. And my guess is that is what has caused the excess demand for Z8s vs Z8Ls, and left Mahindra's planning look a little lopsided during the first few months of delivery.

Last edited by ask99 : 15th September 2022 at 16:07.
ask99 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 15th September 2022, 16:46   #17

If you want your child to go to Doon School, you have to apply for admission when you are pregnant.

ScorpioN is the Doon School of cars
anshumandun is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 15th September 2022, 16:47   #18

Originally Posted by UD17 View Post
On the other hand, I am wondering what is stopping Mahindra to start delivering the ScorpioN to the customer even now, I am seeing the yards fully packed and dispatches trucks doing sorties in full swing.
We Indians value the "Auspicious Occasions" so much, that work Mahindra has taken over. Navaratri is starting on 26th hence the Muhurat.
Originally Posted by negi15 View Post
However, this may have caused multiple and dummy bookings. One of my friend who has booked scorpio N at introductory price has seen these dummy bookings up for sale on Facebook groups at some premium. Hopefully Mahindra would not allow this. I think better way to avoid this would have been one booking against single PAN number, as finally dealer is going to ask for it to deduct TCS.

But as a layman, I think vehicles released for press and promos must have gone through strict QC checks and long test runs, as they would not have wanted bad promotion. Actual niggles will show up when real owners start driving them on roads with different driving styles after delivery.
There are dummy bookings, if you go through the Scorpio N booking thread, you will find dealers have booked vehicles using names and contact details without the knowledge of the customers. this may be done by Mahindra's own sales officers to show the numbers and boost the market value.
However, on testing part Scorpio N has undergone a good long testing and also the reviewers have mishandled the units given to them for testing. I do not expect many mechanical niggles in the car. Electronics in MnM cars is still not matured enough, so maybe we will see some niggles, but most variants of Scorpio N are devoid of much electronics, so that is good.

Originally Posted by ask99 View Post

I think the absolute prioritization of Z8 Luxury variants was based around their learning from the XUV700 launch and the outstanding demand for the L variants.

And my guess is that is what has caused the excess demand for Z8s vs Z8Ls, and left Mahindra's planning look a little lopsided during the first few months of delivery.
Z8L is pricier and is too close to XUV700 Luxury variant. Anyone who had the capacity had already checked out the car and booked it in last one year, many must be expecting deliveries in nearer times. In addition, Z8L is not as feature reach as AX7L (except for proper 4WD) so demand forecast by MnM had missed in my opinion.
MnM must learn from this missed planning, and now also give some capacity to Z8s.
Old 15th September 2022, 19:01   #19

Originally Posted by anshumandun View Post
If you want your child to go to Doon School, you have to apply for admission when you are pregnant.

ScorpioN is the Doon School of cars
Very apt comments i must say. Wondering what you will say to XUV7oo?

Originally Posted by rooster.ram View Post
We Indians value the "Auspicious Occasions" so much, that work Mahindra has taken over. Navaratri is starting on 26th hence the Muhurat.
That's true, but these cars are stocked since July, what stopped them then? I suspect may be some missing component?

Originally Posted by Contrapunto View Post
You can wait 2-4 months, but not 2 years !!!
As i said, there is a trade off between Building capacity (Capex) and sustaining sales for that CAPEX. Mahindra had already declared that they can produce 6K ScorpioN, 6K XUV7oo and some 3.5K Thar. This is the volume they see as sustaining in long run irrespective of current demands. So they are ready to sacrifice some sales.
UD17 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th September 2022, 19:24   #20

In the technological instant world, two years is way high for any age group.

People would loose interest and develop so much skeptism about their vehicle. Competition and the car capabilities also changes.

If seen more sensibly, there would be new version/model change also by two years

Definitely not something a company should be proud of. Industrial automation advanced so much not to be in this state, unless there is a rear metal dependency.

From business perspective, its a early waste of RnD effort with out production capacity.

Very happy for Mahindra products to be successful, but does not fit the timelines

On dummy bookings, there should be penalty for cancellation of vehicle on availability.
tirumalavoleti is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th September 2022, 22:17   #21

Originally Posted by tirumalavoleti View Post
In the technological instant world, two years is way high for any age group.

People would loose interest and develop so much skeptism about their vehicle. Competition and the car capabilities also changes.

If seen more sensibly, there would be new version/model change also by two years

Definitely not something a company should be proud of. Industrial automation advanced so much not to be in this state, unless there is a rear metal dependency.

From business perspective, its a early waste of RnD effort with out production capacity.

Very happy for Mahindra products to be successful, but does not fit the timelines

On dummy bookings, there should be penalty for cancellation of vehicle on availability.
This isn't a phone or laptop, desirable cars don't get much by way of upgrades or kit until a facelift comes along usually about 3-4 years after launch. A long waiting list is an indicator of how the company has managed to get the product right, those who get an alternative because of the waiting list will pay with depreciation.

Body on frame SUVs have a long production run, so other than small changes, expect this to be in demand whatever complaints come in social media. The scorpio has no alternative, no other brand operates in the segment, the waiting list will get tempered in time.
avira_tk is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th September 2022, 01:13   #22

Although I criticised Mahindra earlier for improper planning but now I completely understand.

1. Products like ScorpioN usually have a life cycle of 10-12 years. If Mahindra would start producing say 15000 per month, then after 3 years they might be running on 50% capacity only.

2. Mahindra could have launched ScorpioN even at 2 lakh more price to keep demand in control. But they didn't, so we should be actually happy about it.

3. After 2 years or so waiting period shall come down to 6 months, which is acceptable.

4. Products like duster, ecosport and even XUV500 had seen insane waiting. But they were selling at discounts later on with production much lower than capacity.

5. Thar waiting period is reduced now, within 2 years. XUV700 is also coming down. So will ScorpioN.

6. With electric vehicles at doorstep one can't expect Mahindra to invest insane amount on ICE production lines.

Only thing Mahindra could have done it price the ScorpioN at 15 lakh starting and be happy with 5-6 K per month, but they didn't. Any vehicle launched at right prices is bound to see waiting. Imagine if Octavia (for example only) was launched 5-6 lakh cheaper, how much waiting had it seen.

We can find ways to blame Mahindra but truth is they have launched a good product at lucrative price so it is bound to be disruptive. Also, not to forget the brand name Scorpio has become in last decade.
Indepth is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th September 2022, 09:35   #23

Originally Posted by acquillew View Post
There is currently zero cancellation charge for Scorpio-N.
Also, IMO it doesn't benefit the company to declare long waiting periods. There are plenty of people who will NOT book the car with such waiting periods. I believe that when cancellations start, most bookings will get preponed.
Maybe I'm missing something but wasn't there a 10% cancellation fee when Mahindra opened the Scorpio N bookings? Just to ensure that all bookings received are genuine?
superbad is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th September 2022, 09:49   #24

Originally Posted by superbad View Post
Maybe I'm missing something but wasn't there a 10% cancellation fee when Mahindra opened the Scorpio N bookings? Just to ensure that all bookings received are genuine?
No, there wasn't. If you go to cancel your booking today, you will see a message that there is a 10% cancellation fees (except Scorpio-N). On Twitter, Mahindra had clarified from the very beginning that the booking amount would be fully refundable. See my post in the Mahindra Scorpio-N Booking Thread (What happened with your Mahindra Scorpio-N Booking?) from August 2,2022.
acquillew is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th September 2022, 10:33   #25

I am so happy for Mahindra.. The fact that people are comfortable paying 25-30L for a Mahindra makes me excited about their future, and gives me hope that Tata will hopefully start taking big gambles with their iconic badges like Sumo Sierra Safari Estate, etc
vellatechie is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th September 2022, 14:18   #26

Originally Posted by vellatechie View Post
I am so happy for Mahindra.. The fact that people are comfortable paying 25-30L for a Mahindra makes me excited about their future, and gives me hope that Tata will hopefully start taking big gambles with their iconic badges like Sumo Sierra Safari Estate, etc
I think M&M and Tata are on different paths.

Mahindra is following "disrupt the market" strategy with its value preposition. They have directed their R&D effort in few products expecting them to cut across the segments. In fact, with XUV7OO they tried to disrupt all segments(12L to 25L+) using one product having n number of variants. Were they successful? Majority may say yes. However, some may also say no. Reason for me - this segment has many candidates. XUV700 6K per month and Tata just lagging by combined Harrier/Safari Sales is not a walkover for XUV7OO. Even others like Hector, Seltos, Carens are not doing bad either. Why I joined Harrier and Safari together? Because, XUV7OO also comes in 5/7 seater configuration. Now Mahindra has tried another "disrupt the market" thing with Scorpio N. Now who are its competitors here? Fortuner/Gloster/Meridien.. At least Safari/Carens is not its competitor, at it has different takers. So, effectively Scorpio N was already poised to sweep its segment. XUV7OO/Thar has turned out to be its only competitor as both support AWD.

On the other hand, Tata is following the strategy of taking on the competition in each segment one by one. They are targeting to displace Hyundai and Suzuki as market leaders. Their R&D is focussed on different segments instead of using using one size fits all approach. This is demonstrated by their range of products, Punch, Nexon, Altroz, Tigor and may be upcoming blackbird. On top of that, they made the first move in EV market to take advantage early adopters and they are getting pretty successful at that.

I think Tata is sticking to its image of people's mover manufacturer and Mahindra to its rough and touch image. I don't see them competing with each other for couple of years. Competition will only start once they start targeting each other's segment. Recently saw a thread on forum where rumour of Tata doing its own 2.2L Diesel engine. Once that is ready, that will be the point Tata can take on Mahindra in their own segment, as it would wipe out indigenous engine cost advantage that Mahindra currently possess.

Only time will tell how it the auto market will evolve into. But the ultimate winner will be India.
negi15 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 16th September 2022, 14:55   #27

Weirdly I think TaMo would be happier looking at this waiting period, than M&M themselves. TaMo lacks the aspirational products today like the Scorpio Classic, Scorpio-N and the Thar. They have no real image to put on billboards to claim making tough SUVs. Its a portfolio of FWD monocoques from base to top segments.

The key driver for TaMo sales right now in "SUV" area - is the unbearable waiting period of M&M. In comparison, Tata cars are available much earlier (relatively). Thankfully - pretty much ALL Tata cars look superior in their respective segments and the customers are happy to take that.

I wonder what impact it would have on the TaMo sales above the Nexon, if M&M cars didn't have such hilarious waiting periods right now.
While they won't print it on the brochures, I'm sure TaMo sales teams know "Less waiting time compared to Mahindra" - is actually one of the top USPs of their cars .
Reinhard is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 16th September 2022, 16:53   #28

Heard this from a Mahindra sales executive I met earlier this week. He himself is amused when he said that 2 year waiting period, like which customer is going to wait that long for a car. He'll either lose the customer within the brand or outside.

Also heard from him that the Scorpio-N manufacturing is being prioritized for the next 2 months. If I were to book a XUV 700, the waiting times would factor those 2 extra months.

I wonder where XUV 400 is going to be fit in these scheme of things
Old 16th September 2022, 17:21   #29

In the words of Atticus- "Chase your stars fool, life is short"
Old 16th September 2022, 20:23   #30
AZT

No publicity is bad publicity. It gets M&M in the news and grabs some headlines.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com