Old 27th October 2022, 12:30   #1

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due

BMW India is strengthening its flagship range with four new models. Besides the next-gen 7 Series and the X7 facelift, the carmaker has also lined up the i7 electric sedan and the XM SUV for the Indian market.

BMW XM and X7 facelift:

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-download-73.jpg

According to a media report, BMW plans to launch the X7 facelift and the XM in December 2022. While the X7 has been given a mid-life makeover, the XM is an all-new high-performance SUV.

The latter features imposing styling, albeit a little controversial. It has an illuminated kidney grille flanked by split headlamps on either side. Inside, you get space for five and all the latest gizmos like a large touchscreen infotainment system with BMW’s latest iDrive 8 software, a digital instrument cluster and a head-up display.

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-download-74.jpg

The XM is offered with a plug-in hybrid powertrain. The SUV comes with a 4.4-litre V8 petrol engine paired with an electric motor, producing a combined output of 644 BHP and 800 Nm. It is paired with an 8-speed automatic transmission that sends power to all four wheels.

BMW claims the XM is capable of sprinting from 0 - 100 km/h in 4.3 seconds and has an electronically limited top speed of 250 km/h. The XM also comes with a 25.7 kWh lithium-ion battery pack, which allows the SUV to run in electric-only mode for around 50 km with a top speed of 140 km/h.

7th-gen BMW 7 Series and i7 electric sedan:

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-download-72.jpg

The report also states that BMW India plans to debut the 7th-gen of its flagship 7 Series in January 2023. The all-electric version called the i7 will also debut around the same time

The new 7 Series is based on BMW’s CLAR platform. Like most of its high-end models, BMW has adopted the split headlamp design for its sedan as well. The car gets a large kidney grille and slim LED tail lights.

Inside, the car comes with a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.9-inch touchscreen infotainment system But, the highlight of the new 7 Series has to be the massive 31-inch 8K roof-mounted theatre screen at the back.

In the international market, the new 7 Series is offered with a range of petrol, diesel and plug-in hybrid powertrains. The all-electric i7 uses a 101.7 kWh battery that powers two electric motors that produce 536 BHP and 745 Nm. It has a maximum range of 625 km on a single charge.

Source: Autocar India

Link to Team-BHP News

Last edited by TusharK : 27th October 2022 at 12:31.
TusharK is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st November 2022, 18:16   #2

Re: BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due

BMW India will be announcing prices of its luxury SUVs – the X7 facelift and the new XM on 10th December.

Old 21st November 2022, 20:46   #3

Re: BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due

Hope BMW has started production of the 7 and i7 CKD versions. Any news of the same?
Old 22nd November 2022, 19:16   #4

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Hope BMW has started production of the 7 and i7 CKD versions. Any news of the same?
Apart from the December 10 press conference, there are two more in Jan 2023. They haven't mentioned what they are for. But they will be for the launch for the i7 and the 7 Series for sure.

Infact a friend has already spoken for an i7.
Old 23rd November 2022, 09:51   #5

Originally Posted by Dippy View Post
Apart from the December 10 press conference, there are two more in Jan 2023. They haven't mentioned what they are for. But they will be for the launch for the i7 and the 7 Series for sure.

Infact a friend has already spoken for an i7.
Any indication on the i7 pricing ?
Old 23rd November 2022, 09:56   #6

Originally Posted by tommani View Post
No clue as of now but shall ask my friend on the indicative pricing he has been given
Old 23rd November 2022, 13:26   #7

Originally Posted by tommani View Post
My hunch is that they will price at par or around the EQS 580 as internationally these two models compete head on and priced at par. The i7 comes as an exact replica of the 7 while the EQS is a quirky watered down version of the S, IMO.

At 1.55 ex-showroom for the i7, I am ready with my cheque!

BMW will need to be pragmatic with the pricing of the 7. MBIL took the S-class pricing too far, as a result you don't see all that many on the road even though its now over 1.5 years since launch. The W222 on the other hand had a long wait period due to high demand in the same time frame.
Sahil is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2022, 13:37   #8

My hunch is that they will price at par or around the EQS 580 as internationally these two models compete head on and priced at par. The i7 comes as an exact replica of the 7 while the EQS is a quirky watered down version of the S, IMO.

BMW will need to be pragmatic with the pricing of the 7. MBIL took the S-class pricing too far, as a result you don't see all that many on the road even though its now over 1.5 years since launch. The W222 on the other hand had a long wait period due to high demand in the same time frame.

As per USA pricing the 580 is 5.5% higher than the i7. So below 1.5cr is a possibility !
tommani is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2022, 13:43   #9

Not so cheap, the car we are getting is loaded to the brim and CBU; some standard options include - Automatic Doors, Integral active steering, and Driving Assistant professional with 21 Inch alloys. Options on i7 - Two-tone paint, Individual leather with exclusive contents including cashmere wool and Bowers & Wilkins Diamond surround. It should be more like the CBU prices of EQS.

740 also comes fairly loaded with Merino leather, Rear Seat experience, Bowers & Wilkins (20 speakers) & 48 V system. Early cars in CBU and then CKD. To begin with, four colour and leather options are pre-configured on 740. Later CKD, more (or shall I say less options)

Your known dealers should have all details, and you should go for an i7 irrespective of the costs
Old 23rd November 2022, 13:54   #10

Early cars in CBU and then CKD.
This is the MBIL trick of "launch edition" cars, BMW usually start with CKD itself.

The CBU EQS is an AMG 53, which competes with the i7 M70 that is not launched yet. Thus pricing it at par or close to the EQS AMG is a bad move.

The price diff is substantial between the CKD and CBU. If they launch with the latter they will be outpriced by the CKD S which is the top choice in the category.

Last edited by Sahil : 23rd November 2022 at 13:57.
Old 23rd November 2022, 14:04   #11

Yea but I will prefer to pick a CBU over CKD for varying reasons. i7, I don’t think BMW has plans for CKD so that will be my pick over 740, for someone shopping in this segment.
Old 1st December 2022, 22:44   #12

Start of production begins for first-ever BMW XM at BMW manufacturing,

First Ever High-Performance Vehicle With Electrified Drive System from BMW M.
BMW XM Will Arrive at Dealers Worldwide in Spring 2023.
Start of Production Ends Remarkable Year for South Carolina Plant.
BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-261frp9861.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-bmw_8917.jpg

volkman10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th December 2022, 14:52   #13

New BMW M 340i launched at Rs 69.20 lakh - Source

- 3.0L inline-six petrol engine
- 387hp of power
- 500Nm of torque
- 0-100kmph in 4.4 sec
- 48V mild hybrid tech, output of 11hp.
- 8-Speed Automatic
- 14.9-inch curved touchscreen and a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster which run BMW’s eight-generation iDrive interface.
- new 19-inch alloy wheels

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_144508.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_144511.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_144520.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_144522.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_144525.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_144531.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-fb_img_1670663968656.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_144730.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_144732.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_144734.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_144737.jpg

BMW launched the all new XM for Rs.2.60 Crores [ex-showroom].

- plug-in hybrid V8 powertrain

- Twin-turbo 4.4-litre V8 engine produces 483PS.

- 194PS electric motor built into the 8-speed automatic gearbox and a 29.5 kWh battery pack, of which 25.7 kWh is useable.

- This gives a total of 653PS and 800 Nm of torque as the combined output.

- 0-100kmph in 4.3s, 82km in pure EV mode

- Adaptive M suspension, electronically controlled dampers

- Gets 21-inch wheels as standard but customers can also opt for 22- or 23-inch wheels.

- 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.9-inch touchscreen running the latest iDrive 8 software

- ADAS tech, ambient lighting, four-zone automatic climate control, and the Harman Kardon surround sound system.

- illuminated kidney grille

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-20221210_145723.jpg

BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due-fb_img_1670664462158.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 10th December 2022 at 15:17.
Venkatesh is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 10th December 2022, 17:40   #14

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
New BMW M 340i launched at Rs 69.20 lakh - Source

- 387hp of power
- 500Nm of torque
- 0-100kmph in 4.4 sec
- 48V mild hybrid tech, output of 11hp.
- 8-Speed Automatic
- 14.9-inch curved touchscreen and a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster which run BMW’s eight-generation iDrive interface.
- new 19-inch alloy wheels
When it comes to performance oriented sedans, nothing else comes to my mind except the BMW M. And that matte grey! No Mercedes, no Audi.. After the M, my mind simply jumps to Porsche!!
Nilesh5417 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th December 2022, 18:16   #15

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
[b]New BMW M 340i launched at Rs 69.20 lakh

- 387hp of power
Thanks for the post and the nice pics - The peak horsepower is down to 374 HP actually but the 48V mild hybrid tech makes up for this by adding an extra 11 hp boost at start up and lower speeds. Another difference is 10% improved fuel efficiency to 13.02 KPL from 11.86 KPL due to the mild hybrid.

I have made a detailed comparison with the pre-LCI M340i here on the review thread:

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...ml#post5454343 (BMW M340i xDrive Review)

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 10th December 2022 at 18:17.