Old 17th November 2022, 10:17   #31

Re: 2022 Lineup | The Best Enthusiast Cars in India

That's right. When I was shopping for a car in Feb this year the Polo was available for sale. It was even displayed in the showroom that I visited.
Originally Posted by 2000rpm View Post
The Polo TSI should be on the list, especially with the TC.

I think it was sold for the first half of 2022!!
amit1agrawal is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 10:23   #32

I test drove the C3 turbo yesterday and it just flies. Within no time you reach good speeds and apart from some tyre noise and thrum from engine the cabin is silent and the car is stable. On top of that, it gave a fuel economy of about 15 kmpl with hard driving and lots of idling on the traffic signal.
Although space inside is quite good, the only challenge in buying it is the interior feel, which for a layperson like my wife seems very pedestrian. It does not convey luxury in any sense. Hopefully I will be able to convince her and get C3 added to my garage.
autobahnjpr is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 11:01   #33

Citroen C3 1.2L Turbo-Petrol (you'll be surprised!)

This is the "one that flew under the cuckoo's radar" Its manual, but I like this, its too basic but seems to have the basics sorted. Features? Don't need them. Need to take a test drive.

Anyone know about kitna deti hai?
--

The Wagon R 1.2 shouldn't have been removed from the original list, its a fun car (if one can get over the shape) and worthy of this title compared to the Alto that was later included.

Last edited by Sankar : 17th November 2022 at 11:05.
Sankar is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 11:17   #34

I'd like to add the Audi S5 and previous generation Mercedes Benz C43 AMG coupe to this list. Two stonking fun & fast cars. The S5 will likely exceed the budget as a new car. Used samples from the 2017 generation should come in well under 50 lacs.

Of the two cars above, the S5 will be the more practical choice being a 4 door. Not a lot has changed with the current on sale S5 so if you can find an old one in good shape, close your eyes and buy one.

With the Mercedes C43, its all about the drive experience for two on board. As a model, the car is dated. There is no MBUX and the supplied unbranded stereo (Shocking for an AMG) is junk. In comparison, the S5 does come with a nice stock stereos system.

Mercedes Benz India did throw in good discounts for the C43 last year. The price for these cars were <75lacs on road. Might be worthwhile to walk into the showroom and ask them if there are any left.
sandeepmohan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 11:40   #35

Originally Posted by //M View Post
Mercedes Benz AMG A45 S

Attachment 2380200
Yes, Mercedes AMG A 45 S is missing in the list and it will be my easy pick any day
Old 17th November 2022, 11:46   #36

Happy that I have two out of these ‘enthusiasts cars’…my decade old Mini Cooper and nearly 2 year old Thar.
Indeed these just make me happy for the fact that I have them. Just simply joyous.

As for my Gypsy, well, you need enthusiasm of a different kind to own and love one of those…
shankar.balan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 11:55   #37

Quite frankly, one car that kind of doesnt sit well enough in this list, is the Honda City. Yes , the car is smooth and deceptively fast even in its CVT guise, but feels very skittish at high speed due to its dainty tyre profile. Compared to its rivals like the Skoda VW sedan cousins with the 1.5 DSG, it definitely loses out. A decade ago, perhaps. But even then, the Linea gave it a fairly stiff challenge as an enthusiasts car.
fhdowntheline is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 12:16   #38

Sadly not a single Tata car made it to the list except for the Nexon EV.

Probably an opportunity missed by Tata by not beefing up the Altroz as that had all the qualities to push itself on this list.

Hopefully with the petrol engines in the works for Harrier and Safari make them fun to drive and brand them as enthusiast cars.
maverick.munish is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 12:29   #39
Kln

+1 for ignis in the VFM category, actually. An upgrade to 195/60 tyres had made an incredible difference in handling and the fun quotient. Would strongly recommend it to anyone looking to buy a daily city beater with the occasional highway drive for a family of 2 or 3. Power on tap till 100 kmph is the norm. The engine + body weight combo is a hoot to drive.
Kln is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 12:40   #40

Very good thread, i was thinking sometime back what the new enthusiat thread would look like. Now this is a pure wish, if there was a thread we could consider on what it typically takes to maitain one of the german one (the big 3). Have been on the fence for a while. thanks for the time do the thread.

Best
Motoringlover is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 12:57   #41

Excellent thread! Covered everything, however you could look into creating an additional thread for the older enthusiast cars, like the 8th gen Civic, 1st gen City, Hyundai Getz, Chevrolet Cruze etc.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 17th November 2022 at 17:24. Reason: Missing capitalizations.
jono213 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 13:53   #42

Fully agree with all the additions to the list except the City. The i-vtec is good when there are 2-3 people in the car but it bogs down with 5 passengers and a bit of luggage. What's fun in a car where you have to ring out the engine hard to get a shove? Also, the soft suspension doesn't give confidence at high speeds at all. In fact, far cheaper vehicles like the C3 feel more stable and settled.

So the City I believe is now more of a comfortable family car rather than an enthusiast's tool.
Lowflyer23 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 15:31   #43

That's an enthusiast's dream list! XUV700, Kodiaq, and Tucson (Diesel) are notable omissions to the hall of fame. All worthy to be in there, I reckon.
VinsWagen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 15:49   #44

Fantastic thread GTO.
I do drool over an E53 or a full fat M5, Ftype v8, Fpace v8. Hopefully sometime soon before supercharged v8 become unattainable.

I’d nominate my SE XE (yea! Totally intended pun)
I find it the best combination of head turning potential, driving dynamics and about 250 horses on the tap, this side of half a crore.

Keeps me grinning

Presenting; cockpit. Ready to take off
2022 Lineup | The Best Enthusiast Cars in India-369869683f1544fc9e45a4bfda73ffe3.jpeg  

Last edited by Tutenkhamen : 17th November 2022 at 15:53.
Tutenkhamen is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 17th November 2022, 15:51   #45
KPR

I'm a fan of C3. I'm actually waiting for showroom to be opened in my town for that extra comfort one can get before owning one. It has ticked what is needed in mechanicals.
KPR is offline   (1) Thanks