Old 7th January 2023, 15:10   #1

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore

BMW has launched the new G70 7 Series in India in 740i guise at 1.7 crore. The 740i utilises a straight-six petrol motor and produces 380 hp and 540 Nm, paired to an 8-speed automatic transmission. 0-100 kmph time is claimed to be 5.3 sec, and the top speed is electronically limited to 250 kmph.

BMW has also launched the all-electric i7 in xDrive 60 guise. The i7 xDrive 60 produces 545 hp and 745 Nm with a dual-motor setup, and has a 101.7kWh battery that offers a range of up to 625km. 0-100 time is 4.7sec, and the top speed is limited to 239kph.

Both models feature lots of tech, including a 31.3-inch Cinema 8K screen at the rear, a 14.9-inch infotainment screen running iDrive 8, a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster, and a 5.5-inch touchscreen on the rear doors.

The 740i will compete against the Mercedes S-Class and refreshed Audi A8L, while the i7 will take on the Mercedes EQS.

Source: Autocar India

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-4278ca8f82854740bcaa5a5682eee2dc.jpeg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-a313aa01814048f983898fc89b864e0a.jpeg

Last edited by Aditya : 7th January 2023 at 20:15. Reason: As requested
Arsenic is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 7th January 2023, 15:31   #2

re: BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore

Disappointed with the pricing. It is steep!
Not sure why BMW has done so, is this the price of CBU or CKD?

The S-class is the benchmark in this segment and pricing it above that is going to make it a hard sell. The i7 is 40L more than the EQS!

Not to forget there is also the A8 at 1.3cr and probably sells with a discount too. While it lacks the charisma of the 7 and S, it does make a compelling option for someone stepping up from a segment below.

Let’s hope the CKD 730Ld is launched soon at a better price!
Sahil is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 7th January 2023, 15:37   #3

Re: BMW lines-up i7 electric sedan & XM SUV for India; next-gen 7 Series & X7 facelift also due

New BMW 7 Series 740i launched at Rs 1.70 crore

- 3.0-litre, inline-six-cylinder petrol, gets mild-hybrid tech

- 380hp, 0-100kph in 5.4 sec, top speed of 250kph

- split-LED headlight setup

- 19-inch wheels as standard with the option to upgrade to 22-inches.

- 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.9-inch touchscreen running the latest iDrive 8 software.

- Gets a 31.3-inch, 8K 'cinema' screen that’s mounted on the roof and folds down to offer video streaming via Amazon Fire TV in 16:9, 21:9 and 32:9 formats.

- panoramic sunroof with LED lighting elements

- Adaptive air suspension and electronically controlled dampers as standard

- latest version of BMW’s Integral Active Steering, which provides up to 3.5 degree of steering angle to the rear wheels.

BMW i7 launched at Rs 1.95 crore

- offered in a single variant – xDrive 60 (CBU)

- two electric motors, mounted on each axle. It packs a 101.7kWh lithium-ion battery

- 544hp and 745Nm

- range between 591 to 625km on the WLTP cycle.

- 0-100kph time of 4.7sec and a limited top speed of 239kph.

- illuminated lighting element that surrounds the large kidney grille.

- can be charged at up to 11kW on an AC system and up to 195kW on a DC system, 10 to 80 percent in a claimed 34 minutes.

The new BMW 7 Series and its electric counterpart, the i7, in pictures

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-fb_img_1673086384531.jpg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-fb_img_1673086386731.jpg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-fb_img_1673086389222.jpg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-fb_img_1673086391534.jpg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-fb_img_1673086393699.jpg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-fb_img_1673086395947.jpg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-fb_img_1673086398738.jpg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-fb_img_1673086401076.jpg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-fb_img_1673086403635.jpg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-fb_img_1673086406251.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 7th January 2023 at 15:48.
Venkatesh is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 7th January 2023, 18:53   #4

Price of the new 7 series and i7 compared to their respective competitors:

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-31bc4deffd614f7f8b451feb9d560464.jpeg

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-b1eb1d95dda44bb194246d7fe2415579.jpeg
CEF_Beasts is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 7th January 2023, 20:09   #5

This is horribly overpriced. The 740i in the USA starts at USD 85K (INR 70 lakhs). Granted the model launched in India has many more bells and whistles than the base US model, but even assuming 25K USD worth of add-ons, we are speaking of a 95 lakh car in Indian rupee terms. The premium charged in India is nearly 80% over US price!!

Compare with BMW's own launch of the M340i a few weeks ago. It was launched at 69.2 lakhs in India. In the USA, the base model for the M340i XDrive starts at USD 56,700. Assuming another 20K USD worth feature add-ons to match the Indian model, the equivalent INR price of the US car is 62.32 lakhs. The premium charged in India compa4ed to US is a mere 10%!

So in the price inelastic segment of the 7-series, BMW is able to get away with an 80% premium. On the other hand, the lower segments such as 3 series are launched at very competitive prices in India when compared globally.
84.monsoon is online now   (24) Thanks
Old 8th January 2023, 02:00   #6

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Disappointed with the pricing. It is steep!
Not sure why BMW has done so, is this the price of CBU or CKD?
740 is indeed steep, higher than S class due to the technology and other high-grade stuff that BMW has loaded these.

The i7 is 40L more than the EQS!

A very different segment, EQ'S' has just an S to relate with the S class. In contrast, i7 is the same as 7/ S.

Let’s hope the CKD 730Ld is launched soon at a better price!
Going by the spec sheet, it looks like they will either have a few pre-configured units of CBU and then replace them with CKD. May come up with a lower model devoid of certain features in the next few months/ year.

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
The 740i in the USA starts at USD 85K (INR 70 lakhs). Even assuming 25K USD worth of add-ons, we are speaking of a 95 lakh car in Indian rupee terms. The premium charged in India is nearly 80% over US price

Compare with BMW's own launch of the M340i a few weeks ago. It was launched at 69.2 lakhs in India. In the USA, the base model for the M340i XDrive starts at USD 56,700. Assuming another 20K USD worth feature add-ons to match the Indian model, the equivalent INR price of the US car is 62.32 lakhs. The premium charged in India compa4ed to US is a mere 10%!

Wrong, you cannot add 20K USD options on an M340, And 740 starts at 93K, not 85K

I tried to build an M340 in the USA, and almost everything is included. Options like premium package and driving assistance are less than 2K, and we won't have comparable features.

If we consider 25% customs on the Kits and 50% GST we are getting cheaper than the USA. And if I am not mistaken, some of the initial cars are CBU, attracting 100% duties + 50% GST.

Yes, if we do a simple maths of the Ex-Showroom of an M340 vs 740 wrt the USA prices, an M340 will be cheaper. This is due to a lot of components from India. Also, BMW might be charging higher for an M340 in the USA as its a popular model, whereas in India, the 740 should outsell M340 (if my assumption is correct)

On the i7, BMW could have priced lower due to the 5% GST, but they won't have plans to get it via CKD anytime. So, they still pay 100% customs and considering the US Price of 120K with the options we get here, it's again competitively priced due to 100% customs!

How Audi can sell so cheaply if we compare it to the USA prices of 87K starting vs INR 1,3 Cr remains a mystery to me. Most likely, Audi is getting lower transfer prices, or BMW India is keeping higher profits despite cheaper transfer rates.

We should note that in the calculations above, we are taking Ex-USA dealer prices, manufacturers' costs or even Dealer purchase prices will be much lower and, accordingly, lower taxes while importing. So, consider these calculations only to satisfy your brain while you sign that cheque for the i7

Last edited by Turbanator : 8th January 2023 at 02:11.
Turbanator is online now   (20) Thanks
Old 8th January 2023, 09:33   #7

Pricing aside the design direction of BMW is so disappointing , its personal choice but IMO spending over 2cr to buy a car with such an oddball design is a bit much
nirvanaguy19 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 8th January 2023, 14:26   #8

Re: BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore

With due respect to future owners & fans of the G70, if anyone showed me these images 2 years back, told me it's the new 7-Series and then shouted "gotcha, April Fool's joke", I would have believed he was joking. But it is really hard to accept a BMW so ugly. Even its fans will admit that the new design direction is extremely polarizing.

The erstwhile ugliest-7-till-the-G70-was-unveiled E65 looks more palatable. The G70 is pushing things a bit too much. But then, maybe BMW just wants to stand out from the S-Class / A8 / LS & gang. I read somewhere in a marketing article that if 50% of your potential customers absolutely love your product and 50% absolutely hate it, that's still good enough for your business (although I think it'll be more like 25% of lovers tops for the G70). The diehard fans will also be a defensive vocal lot. Lest we forget, unconventional & IMHO ugly styling sure didn't stop the 2nd-gen Creta from being a runaway success:
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-bmw7seriese652002photo16.jpg
Source & more images

Last edited by GTO : 8th January 2023 at 14:28.
GTO is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 8th January 2023, 15:14   #9

Actually find the new 7 quite good looking. Disliked the dual tone variant that Autocar iirc used for their review, but the single color ones are great. And the interiors are amazing too. The price is unfortunately beyond what I would be able to afford in this lifetime - but c’est la vie.
Hayek is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 8th January 2023, 16:39   #10

No matter which way you try and put it.. Striking looks, acquired taste and so on; This is one ugly looking bmw! Period.

I wonder who decides the direction that the design language takes. They should probably do a soft launch and sound out the general feedback from potential customers rather than foist these abominations on to the unsuspecting populace.
sidbp is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th January 2023, 18:37   #11

G70 BMW 7 Series Walkaround

The seventh-generation BMW 7 Series is available in India at a price of between Rs. 1.7 - 1.95 Crore (ex-showroom)

BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-11c9af75b5fe468dbc5e4d9f191c04d3.jpeg

Introduction

The seventh-generation BMW 7 series, codenamed G70, made its debut globally in 2022, and was revealed in India in 7th January 2023. At launch, the 7er will be available with the petrol-powered 740i and electric i7 xDrive 60 powertrain options. The former gets power from an inline-six motor with an output of 380hp and 540nm mated to an 8-speed automatic, while the latter has a dual-motor setup producing 545hp and 745nm, with a 101.7kWh battery good for up to 625km of range. Apart from the powertrain, the i7 and 740i are completely alike. While units are imported as CBUs for now, according to a sales representative I met, later on BMW will be setting up CKD production for the 740i and a likely-to-arrive diesel-powered variant. The diesel variant of the new 7er will arrive later in 2023.

Exterior

Front end has very bold styling, with a large blingy chrome grille and split headlamps. This is definitely the worst angle to look at the new 7er from, although the grille does look better on a nice single-tone colour like this than it does on a dual-tone colour.
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-872643587d9b4ee9a4cac4fc14b9302f.jpeg

Simple and flat rear end is much more pleasing to view. Behind the BMW logo is a washer for the backup camera. Tailgate is opened via a reasonably well concealed button on the rear.
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-f79c7b2098774136a8958f615d424a3a.jpeg

Taillights get this cool detailing on the side:
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-6289de8959fc4b9da4f80a431e7dab2a.jpeg

Large 540L boot will gobble up your airport luggage with ease. The tailgate is quite heavy! Thankfully…
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-2cb032858da342339c127a7036f62ec6.jpeg

…the tailgate can be closed electronically.
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-bed22051491b42b7b7f6947a1ae2ba67.jpeg

The side profile is neat and is definitely the best angle to view the 7er from. Door handles are recessed and are similar to those on the iX SUV.
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-84775b58f1d64b91b6fcb6677b3fc022.jpeg

20-inch ‘M aerodynamic’ alloy wheels are shod with 285/40 Pirelli P-Zero tyres:
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-21f214848bd9419c8b0f78c996811d35.jpeg

Interior

Front seats offer decent legroom, and you don’t sit too low. Three-spoke steering wheel uses decent quality materials.
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-f06c6f79a85e47cabbc8197478f9ef95.jpeg

14.9 inch touchscreen infotainment system runs BMW’s latest iDrive 8 software. BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-910a6be7fb204643945ab7759cbf2410.jpeg

Large centre armrest houses a massive storage space underneath and is finished with high-quality leather.
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-a079b4098f414e7f8d410cd401a3da58.jpeg

The doorpad features a lovely metallic insert. Audio system is provided by Bowers and Wilkins.
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-f080120f45864ba2a466ec5c28395e35.jpeg

The main highlight of the new 7er is the 31.3 inch Cinema 8K screen at the back, on which content can be streamed via Amazon Fire TV, as well as…
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-c90c81dd52704c7395a8f88ad04ea437.jpeg

…the 5.5 inch touchscreens on the rear doors to control everything from the seat to the sunshades:
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-3c0d0e15c9d746b38e21213f976b7c69.jpeg

Rear seats are extremely comfortable and offer good legroom and under-thigh support. Middle floor hump isn’t too intrusive, so a 3rd passenger can be accommodated easily.
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-c831e2edb1e44213937692bfe4a31133.jpeg

Centre armrest houses a storage space and cupholders. There are air vents present on the rear centre console as well as…
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-f380852df7bc4826a511333e4d3f1293.jpeg

the B-pillars. Controls for the AC are on the rear console.
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-063614fd8532479fa4d0f793afa49d33.jpeg

There is no visible door handle on the interior. Instead, press on this button on the doorpad to release the doors:
BMW launches G70 7-Series in India @ 1.7 crore-73a98f41afe7426783201194a9ef2b49.jpeg
Arsenic is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 8th January 2023, 23:11   #12

That pricing is very optimistic (read: tone-deaf) by BMW. At that price with those looks I'll be having the S-Class any day!
Porcupine is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th January 2023, 12:51   #13

After the Maserati Quattroporté, to me, this is the first car that looks like the owners are rather dangerous people and not to be messed with!

The appearance is seriously eye-catching, and very very mafia like. On Indian roads, this would stand out like nothing else.

Last edited by lemedico : 9th January 2023 at 12:52.
lemedico is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 9th January 2023, 13:37   #14

But it is really hard to accept a BMW so ugly.
Agreed - Ugliest. BMW. Ever. Period.

This looks like it's designed by Chinese Geely or SAIC or something. Please do the world a favour and fire your designers, BMW.

I was saving my 500th post for a good ownership review of my new Tucson but this car has me riled up as a BMW fan. From the radical 4th gen Chris Bangle designs to the beautiful 5th and 6th gen design evolutions, BMW was moving the in the right direction - and now we get this monstrosity!
reppy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th January 2023, 16:31   #15

It will be good if BMW start designing separate designs - one for China and other for the world, just like so many brands have lwb models for China.

Such a fantastic car with a hideous design.

I have driven the EQS. Phenomenal acceleration and great to drive with a lovely interior, but rear seat has lesser recline and space than the lwb eclass. Its definitely not for those considering an electric replacement for the S class. Whereas the i7 can definitely take that role.

Hope good sense prevails.
spkrnh is offline   (1) Thanks