Old 1st October 2008, 05:59   #46

Mahindra is very intelligent in guessing that rural folklore will continue to patronize their product, even if it were heavily priced.
They should ideally keep Bolero in th <6L range, which suits the product, present price is for die hard Bolero fanatics, even they will feel the pinch & shy away.
Another non value for money product like the Scorpio VLX.
Its more of like selling M800 with new heart & couple of more features & demanding huge premium for the same!
Suddenly competition vizaviz Sumo, Safari, etc. seem more VFM products.
Old 1st October 2008, 11:05   #47

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
Overall I think the Sumo Grande is probably better value than this.
I was thinking along the same lines. The Sumo Grande has fantastic driveability and acres of room; the Bolero doesn't even come close in terms of comfort.

Plus, the Sumo has proven itself as the most reliable Tata product. Not that the Bolero is any less dependable, but the Sumo received some phenomenal ratings in our ownership reviews from guys who had driven a lac kms +
Old 1st October 2008, 11:40   #48

Have to agree that they have goofed up on the pricing.
Old 1st October 2008, 12:38   #49

I remember when the Bolero DI turbo was launched, many experts predicted it to be a big flop. Some went to the extent of saying - adding a turbo charger to the old MDI engine was like giving viagra to an old man.

But the sales figures proved otherwise, DI turbo was a bigger hit.

Similarly many expected Sumo Grande to be a Scorpio killer, again nothing happened.

Guess the market is highly unpredictable today. May be Bolero CRDe would be a big hit.
Old 1st October 2008, 12:47   #50
jp1

Mahindra seems to be too greedy with this upgrade of the engine, It was meanignful if they provided some additional features such as 16' wheels, alloy wheels, split and foldable rear seats and 4x4 etc, but none other than the engine upgrade
Old 1st October 2008, 16:16   #51

Anybody has test driven? Request to please test drive and post your comments.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 1st October 2008, 16:30   #52

When the Sumo Grande was introduced, most of us thought the Tavera would be finished. Nothing like that happened. The Scorpio and Innova are doing well too.
The Bolero CRDe may not sell too well because of its price, but, the other variants will keep it from sinking till some discounts are made available.
Old 1st October 2008, 16:37   #53

1. I wish M&M had launched this jeep in BLR. It seems to be everywhere else except here.
2. I wish small things like split foldable rear seats had been provided - this would be superbly useful for any utility owner - this Bolero Crde jeep is almost as expensive as the FUSION TDCi with ABS on ROAD. So why cant some of the bells and whistles also be given on the Bolero?
3. I wish that they had offered alloys as an option and 16 inch wheels as standard.
4. I also wish they had given the option of ABS.
5. Why are the improvements that are made, always largely cosmetic in nature? Whats wrong with providing functional improvements? (other than the Crde engine of course which is a superb step forward.)
6. Why no 4WD version as yet?
7. Why not small things like rear window defogger and a good pair of foglamps as standard?

I believe there is a certain segment of people who appreciate the Bolero for what it is and these small functional improvements would certainly tip the balance as far as a lot of potential utility and value seeking buyers are concerned!! With these few improvements the vehicle would be unbeatable.

All said and done I am waiting to test drive it when it comes.

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 1st October 2008, 18:29   #54

Originally Posted by Rough Square View Post
I remember when the Bolero DI turbo was launched, many experts predicted it to be a big flop. Some went to the extent of saying - adding a turbo charger to the old MDI engine was like giving viagra to an old man.

But the sales figures proved otherwise, DI turbo was a bigger hit.

Similarly many expected Sumo Grande to be a Scorpio killer, again nothing happened.

Guess the market is highly unpredictable today. May be Bolero CRDe would be a big hit.
Bolero sells because it is a Value for Money vehicle. Low purchase and running costs and good reliability.

I think with an OTR price in the high 7 lakh range for the CRDe version, I may prefer to spring for a scorpio/safari/sumo grande. The only compelling reason for me to spring for the CRDe Bolero would be if I could order the 4x4 version.

However, I would love to install this power train in my MM540. What we really need is an MM540 with this power train. I think if M&M can do that it will be a great recreational 4x4 product.

Last edited by 4x4addict : 1st October 2008 at 18:32.
Old 1st October 2008, 19:01   #55

Well still no TD report. I was having a small chat at home and my mom was all in for an upgrade from the older version of this vehicle. Thats probably on hold till i get to know more on this vehicle and some test reports are out though.
The older one was brilliant on bad roads but lacked steam while on the highway. Remember had a tough time in keeping up with a Rhino which used to always get beaten only on rough stretches.
Old 1st October 2008, 19:04   #56

haha. But you will have to wit for the new Bolero in Bangalore buddy. check their website, they dont have karnataka at all in their sales list.
That's terrible, when so many off-road enthusiasts are there in Karnataka and actually there are so many off-roads are actually in karnataka (remember the coorg off-road that jus got over).

Anup
Old 1st October 2008, 19:17   #57
rippergeo

I'll try and do a TD as soon as the CRDe gets to the showroom here in COK. but it is kind of pointless to me, as i had my heart set on the 4WD version.

Old 1st October 2008, 19:45   #58

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
I guess it may be too early to ask first hand experience on CRDe:Bolero’s fuel economy. Any expert opinion? Positive/negative/neutral?
Old 1st October 2008, 22:39   #59

Nice to see the Bolero getting an upgrade.

I think M&M really manage to out price themselves. How come their vehicles prices keep on increasing while other manufacturers manage to keep the same price or even lower it.The bolero which I want should be in the 5-6 lac range and it has touched 7 lac, but the competitors are still in their price range.

Sorry, for being off-topic, but I cant buy it because of their "price raj". so had to vent out my frustration.
Old 2nd October 2008, 15:10   #60

asked about the bolero crde / vlx in hyd's showroom yest, they said they dont even have a clue about such a variant. wonder when the launch is in hyd.