Old 31st July 2009, 14:41   #1
SCH

Toyota's new Camry @ Rs 21.26 lakh

July 31, 2009
Toyota's new Camry @ Rs 21.26 lakh
Tags: Dark Green Mica Metallic and Beige Mica Metallic, Toyota Camry, Minus Ion Generator, Hiroshi Nakagawa, Sandeep Singh
Email
thisSave to
My PageAsk
UsersWrite a
CommentToyota launched on Friday the New Camry [ Images ], the new variant of the luxury sedan, in India, looking at an yearly sales of 500 units of this model.

The New Camry would be available in four grades and is priced between Rs 21,26,000 and Rs 23,40,000, officials of Toyota's Indian unit, Toyota Kirloskar [ Images ] Motor, told a news conference in Bangalore.

The launch was seen as Toyota's attempt to revitalise sales of this model.

The sales of existing Camry (the earlier version) went down by more than 75 per cent in the April-June quarter -- it sold 44 units as compared to 182 in the year-ago period --, losing marketshare to rival SkodaAuto in this category.

"Camry is not a volume product", deputy managing director of TKM, Sandeep Singh, said. It's more of a brand and 'showcasing of technologies' by Toyota.

TKM's managing director, Hiroshi Nakagawa, said the Toyota Camry has already defined the concept of premium car in India and the New Camry 'will offer an exclusive blend of modern styling and luxurious features'.

The New Camry sports new design exterior, is available in two colours -- Dark Green Mica Metallic and Beige Mica Metallic -- and its other features include Plasmacluster A/C with Minus Ion Generator, intelligent rain sensing wipers and moonroof, company officials said.

Image: Toyota Camry

Last edited by GTO : 5th August 2009 at 15:25. Reason: Adding source.
Old 31st July 2009, 14:55   #2

Any pics? And is it still a CBU?
Old 31st July 2009, 15:02   #3

:: More details ::
  • Launched in four variants W1, W2, W3 & W4
  • Price range from Rs.21.26 – Rs.23.43 lakh
  • 2.4L VVT-i petrol engine to remain
  • Moon roof
  • ipod connectivity
  • Chrome Grille
  • Multi-reflector headlamp
  • Chrome Ringed fog-lamps
  • LED turn signals
  • New 10 spoke alloy wheels
  • New colours
  • Bookings and deliveries to start on 1st August 2009

VT

Last edited by *VT* : 31st July 2009 at 15:04.
Old 31st July 2009, 15:06   #4

Source: Toyota - The New Camry

The New Camry – Luxury Beyond Excellence.
Indulge in the new Camry and discover a world of subtle detail. The dynamic exterior is fine-tuned with sleek new trimmings. Classy chrome grille, bolder fog lamps and sporty 10-spoke alloys, to name some. Inside, a convenient aux-in port has been added to the soothing music system with Psychoacoustics. In two stunning new colours, the luxurious new Camry is waiting to take you just where you belong. Far beyond excellence. Its dynamic physical presence and exhilarating performance stimulates your desire to drive. Your pleasure is heightened by the subtle appeal of contemporary comfort and relaxing atmosphere that speaks directly to your soul. Sleek and strong, the eye-catching design and dramatic stance exudes a vital life force. Vibrant and poised, the bold flowing lines hint at superb aerodynamics, immediately raising spirits.

__________________________________________________ _______

Not sure whats different... anyways enjoy!

Was the old one sold at around 30L? if so, the new price seems good!

Price list:

Name:  Picture 1.png
Views: 3792
Size:  34.8 KB

Specs:

Toyota's new Camry @ Rs 21.26 lakh-picture-2.png
Toyota's new Camry @ Rs 21.26 lakh-gal_pic01_800600_tcm25193610.jpg  

Toyota's new Camry @ Rs 21.26 lakh-gal_pic03_800600_tcm25193612.jpg  

Toyota's new Camry @ Rs 21.26 lakh-gal_pic07_800600_tcm25193616.jpg  

Toyota's new Camry @ Rs 21.26 lakh-gal_pic06_800600_tcm25193615.jpg  

Last edited by anekho : 31st July 2009 at 15:07.
Old 31st July 2009, 15:38   #5

new alloys and a bit of chrome and in the interiors the wood finish has a darker color.
are you sure about the ipod connectivity?
if yes then i think i can get it retrofitted in mine
Old 31st July 2009, 17:16   #6
gpa

I see a resemblance of the Camry grille to that of the new Innova grille. Perhaps, this is a new styling cue from Toyota. Love the new fogs as well that appear to be a lot bolder and stand out.
Old 31st July 2009, 18:12   #7

Still a CBU and still way more expensive than the newer Accord! C'mon Toyota, build the damn Camry HERE!
Old 31st July 2009, 18:18   #8

Yup.
Toyota needs to build the camry here, Only then it may become a successful product. I would still prefer the new Accord over it anyday.

VT
Old 31st July 2009, 21:12   #9

this again makes skoda superb a more valur proposition
Old 31st July 2009, 21:28   #10

What kind of research is toyota doing? A whopping 4 lakhs more than the accord 2.4. This is after Honda itself put a premium on the accord.

I'm glad that this car is failing, if you don't want to spend money building the car here, you don't deserve any sales.
Old 31st July 2009, 21:35   #11

The pricing is insane .The 2009 Camry here in US is around 21k around 8 lacs!!!

I dont see why people should buy it.You can get a much better car for 12 lacs.
Old 31st July 2009, 22:11   #12

Toyota Camry in UAE for 64,999 Dirhams and its called Camry Sports! multiply this amount by 13 rupees!
Toyota's new Camry @ Rs 21.26 lakh-toyota-sport-edition-cars.jpg  

Last edited by Parm : 31st July 2009 at 22:12.
Old 31st July 2009, 22:20   #13

nice pix not much difference in styling.. a soft facelift i would say.

still no LED taillamps.
Corolla has them !!
Old 31st July 2009, 22:28   #14

Still a CBU and still way more expensive than the newer Accord! C'mon Toyota, build the damn Camry HERE!
I always wondered what would the sales numbers have to be to invest in building a car locally. I really dont think its viable unless you will run the assembly line for more years like some people do (not maruti ofcourse)
Old 31st July 2009, 22:44   #15

Originally Posted by maxj2005 View Post
The pricing is insane .The 2009 Camry here in US is around 21k around 8 lacs!!!

I dont see why people should buy it.You can get a much better car for 12 lacs.
Exactly! I just tried to convert the cost into $. If only there were more contenders in the Rs10-20 lakh segment, more sporty or more refined sedans to be precise.