Old 5th December 2009, 20:59   #16

We've paid 1 lakh as the booking amount So if I cancel the booking what happens to my 1 lakh is the million dollar (or at least 1 lakh rupee) question. The black one will be arriving on Monday. We'll have a look at it with a sort of open mind - but if are still not happy with the black - we've decided to stick to our guns. Sounds reasonable to you guys?
Old 5th December 2009, 22:00   #17

You can very well go ahead and cancel the booking as no car has been registered in your name till now.Your 1 lac will be refunded to you.They may charge a nominal fee as cancellation amount though.That's what a Hyundai dealer told me.
Old 6th December 2009, 00:16   #18

If it is an authorized dealer, he should have no problem procuring one in white for you. Of course some cars cost different for different colors, but not in your case. There might be a delay if he doesn't have stock. When my wife bought an NHC, the dealer had to get Carbon-Bronze shipped from somewhere else.
Old 6th December 2009, 00:20   #19

I don't foresee any problem in changing the color. He is a dealer and has a thousand customers. If not you, someone else can pick up the color you originally booked. Just request him a bit and I think this should be a done deal
Old 6th December 2009, 00:27   #20

Originally Posted by Akadian View Post
I don't foresee any problem in changing the color. He is a dealer and has a thousand customers. If not you, someone else can pick up the color you originally booked. Just request him a bit and I think this should be a done deal
1.Cedia is a slow selling car.
2.Its year end, so after a month the car will only sell with a big discount.
Old 6th December 2009, 00:31   #21

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
1.Cedia is a slow selling car.
2.Its year end, so after a month the car will only sell with a big discount.
Now, that is an excellent thought. I never took these considerations in my appraisal of the situation. Thanks a lot for the eye-opener
Old 6th December 2009, 10:12   #22

you can change the colour. i did this while purchasing our indica. we actually changed the Model 4 times from trubo DLX to XETA GLX then again turbo and finally XETA and colour 3 times from Silver to Salsa red then black and then Silver again
Old 6th December 2009, 15:45   #23

Originally Posted by agnisumita View Post
Thanks for your support. I am feeling much better now I guess for a car that is not really selling like hot cakes - it might be tad difficult for the dealer but I'd stick to my choice. Once the car is booked - can they really change the price?
Color change is usually permitted. The dealer does get sulky at times though and runs the usual routines of 'Another color means later delivery', 'Late delivery means increased pricing' etc. This is done so that he is able to sell a car that he has in stock at the soonest. I faced the same issues with Honda people. If you are strong-footed on getting the color you want, he will get it for you. You know that it is allowed to cancel the booking altogether and get a full-refund, I have asked 4 different dealers here in Hyderabad(Honda, Hyundai) and they confirmed to me that I get a full refund if I cancel a booking.

Delay is not in the dealer's hands. Since this is December, all companies usually shutdown or slow-down production as most of the people wanting to buy a car want the next years VIN number on the cars. So, yes, there is a chance that the delivery of the vehicle may get delayed depending on the demand-supply ratio for that particular model/ color.

Regarding the pricing part, the dealer might well be right. If you read the fine print of the specs given to you. I am sure it would read 'Prices at the delivery time only apply'. Usually, if you book a car in a month and if its delivered in the same month, the chances of pricing getting changed is almost NIL. But, since this is December, 2009 and if the delivery of your vehicle gets done in Jan, 2010, there are chances that the prices might have been bumped up by then. Again, dealers are supposed to have delivered vehicles to people at the old prices even after a price hike at times and also, I have known cases where the dealers have reduced the prices since the new price was reduced on a pre-booked cars.
Old 9th December 2009, 17:29   #24

Whats the current status on your car? Have you managed to change the color to the one you like?
Old 9th December 2009, 17:41   #25

The best person in the world to answer all your questions is just few fingertips away !

Get the phone & call the dealer, ask all your queries, instead of thinking all possible ifs & buts.
Old 9th December 2009, 18:27   #26

I did change from Grey to silver while getting my ANHC. Yes you can ask for refund even if you paid 1 lac, Legally he cannot force you to buy if you don't want to proceed, he should refund it with some minor transaction charges. So you can stick on for changing the color.
Old 19th December 2009, 09:41   #27

Just to update evryone. We had a look at the black one with an open mind and in the end did like the colour. So it was a bit of anticlimax but we are all happy at least about the colour issue. Thanks everybody for your inputs though Mods - I guess you can close the thread now.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com