Team-BHP > The Indian Car Scene
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 25th February 2010, 17:27   #1
BHPian

Driving school woes

<disclaimer>Ok, this is more of a rant post, plus a query at the end.</disclaimer>

I am new to driving, and I had enrolled in the locally popular "Megacity Motor Driving School" here in Begumpet, Hyderabad.

They have charged some 3300 for driving lessons alone (i.e. without license). Now that my lessons are over, I'm quite unimpressed, to say the least!

Positives:

- home pickup and drop
- Car was good (Santro with PS in decent condition)

... thats about it!

Negatives: too many to mention, but anyway:

- Did not practice reversing more than 2-3 times
- No parking practice (once only for namesake when I complained)
- Did not even mention how to cope with up-sloping roads, forget about parking brake vs brake-accelerator techniques
- Extremely lazy about license. I have completed my lessons a month back, and I'm yet to get my learner's license (part of fault is mine here probably - I did not know when to push them well enough)

totally not worth 3.3k

Coming to my question - when I blasted them about why I'm getting my license so late, they said - why worry syaar, you can drive any vehicle for 6 months with that license as long as you have "L" board - no need of another person with permanent license to accompany you.

I could not get any information regarding this from Andhra's RTO website:

Welcome To TRANSPORT DEPARTMENT GOVERNMENT OF ANDHRAPRADESH - INDIA

So can anyone please confirm/reject this? Can I drive without a permanent license holder when I have an LL?

Thanks in advance!
Old 25th February 2010, 17:35   #2
BHPian

Yes you can drive without a Permanent License when you have the LL but with a 'L' board on your car/bike.

But i guess that is only when you are alone. In case you have someone else with you he/she needs to have a permanent license.
Old 25th February 2010, 17:35   #3