Old 23rd November 2005, 15:42   #16

I personally have bought 9 cars in the last 9 years (no second hand business; all new), but keeping the way the traffic situation is going, I am now planning to buy my 10th car and keeping it for at least 3-4years.
U mean to say you sell your cars every one year? The fastest we've sold any car is 5 years. And i'm sure Rudra holds the team-bhp record for keeping a car for the max number of years.

Shan2nu

Last edited by Shan2nu : 23rd November 2005 at 18:30.
Old 23rd November 2005, 17:20   #17

Originally Posted by Shan2nu
U mean to say you sell your cars every one year? The fastest we've sold any car is 5 years. And i'm sure Rudra holds the team-bhp record for keeping a car for the max number of years.

Shan2nu
Yes, sir! I am single, have no kids and am not into living a "very" lavish lifestyle which makes it easy for me to do so. The only car that has lasted me more than 14-15 or so months is the Toyota Corolla as my mother (I lost my dad when I was 19 and I like to take care of my mother without whom I wouldn't be here) is really old and has arthiritis (however one spells that)... She finds this car the easiest for her to get in and out of (even when compared to the Toyota Camry).

Just two examples... I sold my Palio GTX after just clocking 5,000kms or so and my Scorpio PLUS GLX after just clocking 10,000kms. or so.

Started with a 800, then a Contessa Classic GLX (or whatever), then a Maruti 1000, then an Esteem VX, then an Esteem VX98, then Mitsubishi Lancer GLX (or whatever the top end was in 98-99), then Palio GTX, then Toyota Corolla and then a Scorpio PLUS GLX. I also had an RD350 before I had a car, but that doesn't count.

Last edited by Shan2nu : 23rd November 2005 at 18:31.
Old 23rd November 2005, 18:35   #18

Started with a 800, then a Contessa Classic GLX (or whatever), then a Maruti 1000, then an Esteem VX, then an Esteem VX98, then Mitsubishi Lancer GLX (or whatever the top end was in 98-99), then Palio GTX, then Toyota Corolla and then a Scorpio PLUS GLX. I also had an RD350 before I had a car, but that doesn't count.
What!!! No Hondas?

Looking back at your posts, anyone here would have been made to believe that all your previous cars were Hondas.

Shan2nu
Old 23rd November 2005, 18:53   #19

Originally Posted by MrBoombastic
Yes, sir! I am single, have no kids and am not into living a "very" lavish lifestyle which makes it easy for me to do so.
i am ready for adoption ..hehe just get me all the cars i love..hehe..juss kidding..
Old 23rd November 2005, 19:17   #20

Originally Posted by Shan2nu
What!!! No Hondas?

Looking back at your posts, anyone here would have been made to believe that all your previous cars were Hondas.

Shan2nu
Sad, na? Thing is Honda releases never were at the same time when I was buying a car... This is why I am so eager to go in for the Honda Civic or Honda Accord 2006 V6 M/T. Even now, just see how cruel Honda is being to me (tears in eyes). Also, I confess, have always had a soft corner in my heart for Hondas.
Umm.. Wanna know another shocking truth about my insane mind? LOL I kinda still have a soft corner for the Esteem too.
Originally Posted by mclaren1885
i am ready for adoption ..hehe just get me all the cars i love..hehe..juss kidding..
Oh my God! LOL Bhai, the only two reasons I stay away from getting married are that I will have to share my car/s with my wife and don't want kids.. Hehehe!
Old 23rd November 2005, 22:29   #21

Anyway....getting back to the topic!! I really would have loved it if Honda was to get the Civic Hatch here.

I know it can't be done coz it's only sold in Europe and we don't get European models blah, blah, blah......but cmon man, it's hightime we got a small car from Honda and the Jazz isn't what i have in mind.

Shan2nu
Old 24th November 2005, 10:19   #22

Help!

Dear fellow Team-BHPians, I have a small favor to ask of all those who are reading this post… Could you all kindly call the Honda dealers in your respective cities and find out what news they have in regard to the launch of the Honda Civic and the 2006 Honda Accord V6 M/T? Thanks!
Old 24th November 2005, 11:08   #23

Mod CArs

I sort of noticed that in the US atleast nearly all the souped up cars are Honda Civics - seem to be the best platform to modify..
Old 24th November 2005, 11:37   #24

I Knw Ul Wantd To See These This Is My New Baby In The Making Here In Dubai!!!

i gues ul all jus dying to see the new accord...
its been out here over a bout 2mnths.....
sorry i dunt have pics of it though.....

But I Do have pics of this baby the new honda civic 2006...
the bak has been copied from the integra from japan....

hope u like em...
from the zen in bbay.....
to this bad baby in dubai..
. hope ul like these pics of the car in the honda centre here...

This Is Simply Beautiful....

even though this is only the base model....

i luv This car an trus me its only a few inches shorter than the new accord..

the sound system rocks.....

i will be pikin her up by the 1st week of december after the registration an and insurance comes thru....
Old 24th November 2005, 11:50   #25

Hey, thanks for the pics, PsychoLyn. To be honest, this is just what I was looking for... Pics of the new Honda Civic, but not taken by a magazine photographer/ professional.

Also, congratulations and wishing you all the best with your new car

Last edited by MrBoombastic : 24th November 2005 at 11:53.
Old 24th November 2005, 12:02   #26

Originally Posted by PsychoLyn
i gues ul all jus dying to see the new accord...
its been out here over a bout 2mnths.....
sorry i dunt have pics of it though.....

But I Do have pics of this baby the new honda civic 2006...
the bak has been copied from the integra from japan....

hope u like em...
from the zen in bbay.....
to this bad baby in dubai..
. hope ul like these pics of the car in the honda centre here...

i will be pikin her up by the 1st week of december after the registration an and insurance comes thru....
Nice pics there..

The car looks nice but the tail lamps and the tyres look skimpy ( 13 inchers maybe!) and you say it is the base model. The higher end ones may have a diffrent set.

Liked the front look though.
Old 24th November 2005, 12:19   #27

Hey is the blue car a hybrid by any chance coz it does have the hybrid headlamps.

I doubt if the Civic meant for India will look like this.

Shan2nu
Old 24th November 2005, 12:22   #28

this is the

this car is the middle east version.....
i gues if the civic does cum to india it will be the 2005 version...
not this one.....
Old 24th November 2005, 12:37   #29

engine specs 2006 civic

Engine Type In-Line 4-Cylinder

Engine Block/Cylinder Head Aluminum-Alloy

Displacement (cc) 1799

Horsepower @ rpm (SAE net, Rev 8/04)* 140 @ 6300

Torque (lb.-ft. @ rpm) 128 @ 4300

Redline (rpm) 6800

Bore and Stroke (mm) 81 x 87.3

Compression Ratio 10.5:1

Valve Train 16-Valve SOHC i-VTEC®

Multi-Point Fuel Injection Standard

Drive-by-Wire Throttle System™ Standard

Front-Wheel Drive Standard

CARB Emissions Rating ULEV-2

Direct Ignition System with Immobilizer Standard

100,000-Miles-or-More Tune-Up Interval† Standard

ENGINEERING: TRANSMISSIONS

TRIM LEVEL
Starting MSRP
DX
$14,560
LX
$16,510
EX
$18,260

5-Speed Manual Transmission Standard

Compact 5-Speed Automatic Transmission (available) Standard

ENGINEERING: BODY/SUSPENSION/CHASSIS

TRIM LEVEL
Starting MSRP
DX
$14,560
LX
$16,510
EX
$18,260

Unit-Body Construction Standard

Control-Link MacPherson Strut Front Suspension Standard

Reactive-Link Double Wishbone Rear Suspension Standard

Stabilizer Bar (mm., front/rear) 24.2 / 10.0

Power-Assisted Rack-and-Pinion Steering Standard

Steering Wheel Turns, Lock-to-Lock 2.67

Steering Ratio 13.73

Turning Diameter, Curb-to-Curb (ft.) 34.8 35.4

Power-Assisted Ventilated Front Disc/Rear Drum Brakes (in., front/rear) 10.3 / 7.9

Power-Assisted Ventilated Front Disc/Solid Rear Disc Brakes (in., front/rear) 10.3 / 10.2

Wheels 15" with Full Covers 16" with Full Covers 16" Alloys

All-Season Tires P195 / 65 R15 89H P205 / 55 R16 89H

Compact Spare Tire Standard
Old 27th November 2005, 00:21   #30

Guys, good news is that the new civic will be "MADE IN INDIA" at Greater Noida. This is the reason that it got delayed from June to Aug, since localisation of some parts was the issue. With this Honda may be able to undercut the corolla by a fair margin