Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 24th March 2006, 01:11   #1
Senior - BHPian

UK Registration, whats required?

Hi, If I am wanting to register a car in UK that I buy there, what all is required? I am thinking of all things that I can do when I come back to India. I am in US, but ofcourse can own a car in UK for 6 months and import it back to india after 6 months of my arrival , agreed the car would be 1 yr old, but who cares when you save 80% on the cost...

thanks..
Old 24th March 2006, 01:39   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

1Day- Let me in on this deal once u get more info off it. I am studying in the US and graduating next year...Am i eligible for this thing..its TR?
Old 24th March 2006, 01:53   #3
Senior - BHPian

This is EXACTLY the thread I kinda started yesterday. I want to take a good car to India from the UK and save a bunch on duty. HOW HOW HOW?!
Old 24th March 2006, 02:10   #4
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by aniguchisan
This is EXACTLY the thread I kinda started yesterday. I want to take a good car to India from the UK and save a bunch on duty. HOW HOW HOW?!
See I sort of know the background, that you can get the car in , no duty, it needs to be registered under your name for atleast 1 yrs prior to bringing the car in and you can bring a car 6 months after you come, so basically you could buy one 6 months before you leave and give the next 6 months while you in india for the whole importing process...but for this the car needs to be registered in your name, now what do i need to do to registration the car on my name in UK?

aniguchisan you from UK, can you tell me that? then the rest about importing i can find out from dad..he will know someone who can do the whole process...all you need to do is hire an agent, may be give me 1-2% or something and be done with it..

Last edited by 1Day : 24th March 2006 at 02:12.
Old 24th March 2006, 02:30   #5