Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 12th December 2007, 01:28   #1
fb1
BHPian

Importing a car from Singapore.

First of all I would like you guys to read this article.
Buying Used Car From Singapore

Second... check out this website

Global Car Exports Singapore - Stock List

The prices are ridiculously low... The price for a 2003 audi tt with 41k kms is $28k singapore dollars... that is roughly 8.2 lakhs... What if I want to get a car exported from singapore to chennai.. How would that work out? Also my father is flying for Singapore airlines... What is the duty for importing a second hand car from singapore to india? My dad is planning on shifting from Singapore to India in about 6 months.. Is there any chance of me getting a car such as Audi TT, Mazda RX8 / Integra Type R on "TR" Transfer of residence.. Isnt this when you dont have to pay taxes..??

Sorry guys I am very new to this whole thing so I need some help.. Thanks
Old 12th December 2007, 01:47   #2
fb1
BHPian

Actually I am not sure if its in USD or SGD but whatever... I need more info on this !! Thanks
Old 12th December 2007, 09:38   #3
Senior - BHPian

fb1-great find and great news for all.i am not sure of the procedure but the gurus here will help.as soon as its sorted out all the buddys out there can actually have a taste of angrezi autos still not available in the country.i liked the alfa romeo in blue and its only 7 l for it.amazing.

ram
Old 12th December 2007, 10:43   #4
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by fb1 View Post
Actually I am not sure if its in USD or SGD but whatever... I need more info on this !! Thanks
It does mention SGD on the website.
Old 12th December 2007, 11:12   #5
BHPian

DUDE, This is India, nothing is Tax free. Coming back on TR only permits you to get a used car into India, Duty works out to approximately 164 % on the depriciated value.