Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 15th February 2021, 11:42   #1

Hello from Chennai

Hello Guys

I am Balaji, living in Chennai. I am glad that I got admitted as a member after 10 long years (after 4 tries). I am a software Engineer by profession. My current drive is a VW Ameo and current ride is TVS Star City.

I learnt to ride in our family Bajaj Chetak during my class 6. During the initial days of learning to ride, whenever I engage the gear the scooter stalled. Our home is in a slope. So, I would start the scooter, sit on it and when the scooter rolls down the slop, I engage the gear. As days passed, I master the art of engaging the gear without stalling it.

I learnt to drive in a driving school in Chennai. The instructor wanted every new student to come to the class early in the morning. The reason behind it was
1. He would turn on the headlights before starting the session
2. He will ask us to understand the boundaries of the car by the light and shadow

After completing my driving class, my friend loaned me his Zen for a week for me to hone my skills. It was an old model Zen with only Hydraulic steering. I used to panic during the U-Turns, as I had to make multiple forward and reverse movements with this HS to achieve.

I got my first car in 2009. It was Maruti Alto LXi. After 2 years and 39000+ mileage on it, I felt an upgrade to diesel was mandatory.
My second car was a Ritz VDi (Alto was exchanged) and it did its duty for 6 years and 88000+ Kms.

VW Ameo came into family in 2017 and has completed 48K kms so far. Off late the highway runs are lesser because of kids getting into higher classes.

This is pretty much about me. I have been a silent viewer all these years and would like to contribute more to this forum moving forward.

Cheers & Stay safe !
mailbalaji is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 13:37   #2
BHPian

Re: Hello from Chennai

Quote: