Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Old 7th June 2021, 09:52   #46

Re: Salute from the TankMan

Hello and big thanks to everyone,
It's now when I realised why TBHP has the thanks button.

I read through all your replies and was really overwhelmed, sincere apologies for not being able to answer your queries.
While few replies have already mused me, few of them made me feel like the little baby who is taken to it's grandparent's home for the first time; i.e. loved by all.

TankMan is for the world the guy who stood facing the tanks in Tianmen Square (it takes a lion's heart to stand in front of a tank), hence the reason I took up the name Desert Knight.

OASIS is a nice suggestion, I'll think upon it!

Once again, thank you for your messages and love,

Jai Hind!
desertknight73 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th June 2021, 11:11   #47

Hi, Welcome to the Teambhp family. It is just amazing to know a tankman and I really liked your caption "I drive real tanks for a living!"

You have tried to give some useful insights regarding tanks which many of us might not know. I believe you are somewhere near Jodhpur, I do keep coming frequently to Jodhpur as my grandparents stay there. It will be a pleasure to catch up with you next time during my visit.
TJ02 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th June 2021, 15:07   #48

Welcome to the forum desretknight73. With your stupendous intro, you sure are going to be the hero of this family; and why not? Afterall, you have one envious job. It is hard to find another thrill that matches your job description, even though the habitability within your cupola is not everyone's cup of tea! Hatsoff to you brother. Thank you for your service to the nation.

Looking forward to the review of your Endy; whenever time permits
dhanushmenon is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th June 2021, 15:39   #49

Originally Posted by dhanushmenon View Post
With your stupendous intro, you sure are going to be the hero of this family; and why not? Afterall, you have one envious job. It is hard to find another thrill that matches your job description, ...
Sir, I think I can say " Look who is talking !! "

Salute to you too. I know it is not an easy job, or easy life. You put your soul into what you do. Nothing less than perfection, and often more. You all place yourself in front of us, and it is because of all of you that we are safe.

_/\_ _/\_

Last edited by condor : 7th June 2021 at 15:41.
condor is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th June 2021, 18:51   #50

Jai Hind Sir ji!!

One of the special members you are.

What a feeling to read this thread. I know how hard it is to be there as I had appeared for number of times for Indian Army Exams and SSB interview.

I remember the Indian Army ads from past ( Do You Have It In You?) where one of the ads say-' at the age of 25 you will be having a company car worth 55 Cr'. I had this poster on the wall for my Jr (6 Yrs old that time now 10+) to inspire him to get into Indian Armed Forces-

Salute from the TankMan-tankman.jpg

source- google

well; this was not the exact one but it says all.

Would love & appreciate to know a tank if you can educate/explain here within your limits.

p.s. Members-watch movie T34 on amazon prime video if you are interested in tank battles. (many of you must have already watched it.)

Wishing to see you in person sometime.

Guru_Shikhar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th June 2021, 19:04   #51

Welcome to the forum TankMan. Nothing like having your own tank right. Tank movies are absolute fun to watch but living in one day and night maybe a different ball game.

Whats the visibility like especially in deserts? Have heard the experience riding in a tank is something else.

Also when we talk of tanks usually only the russian tanks are spoken about, so how are the American tanks in comparison?

Lastly it gave me goosebumps looking at my buddy ride down Rajpath to take the Salute on the republic day, My Salute to what you do. One profession which has held our head high as clean and respected.

Jai hind
Maddy
maddy42 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th June 2021, 00:42   #52

Greetings Sir, and welcome to the forum.

On a lighter note, whats up with Tankies and free rides, eh?
When I was on a flight from Jodhpur to Delhi back in Jan/Feb 2018, I had the pleasure of sitting beside a Lt. Colonel SS (not naming, but he was to appear in front of the promotion board soon), and also socialised a bit. He also offered me a ride on the Arjun next time I was in the area.

I am also a Military Tech buff and do follow various forums, so I do hope to be able to interact and enrich myself further.
PS-You can add me to the list too. While I will take up Lt Col. SS (now maybe Col) for the Arjun, you can help with a joyride on the T-72.
SchrödingersCar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2021, 12:36   #53

Welcome to the forum, Sir!

Being a defence aspirant myself, I am in awe of the Armoured Corps. Most of my Officer friends are in the Infantry, so I have had limited interaction with somebody from the Armoured. If one day I do make it to the academy, it would be a tough call to put infantry as my first preference or the Armoured! (It will definitely be one among the two )

The dining area of the selection center I'd been to for my SSB, had this amazing poster of a setting sun in a desert, with a tank and an officer leaning onto it. The caption read "Which organization gives you a 55 crore company car? We do." followed by "Indian Army, Live A Life Less Ordinary". This, by far, has to be the most badass poster I've ever seen.

Also, congratulations on your Ford Endeavour! A tank at work, and a tank at home.

Hoping to catch up with you sometime in the future.

Till then, cheers!
amoghk98 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th June 2021, 07:40   #54

Dear Desertknight73,

Welcome to TBHP! Its great to have you here!

I am very happy for you to find out that you have got an opportunity to serve in the Armed Forces. Majority of my family has also been associated with our Armed Forces for multiple generations now.

Would love to read about your experiences in the uniform which you can share with us on the forum as per the Guidelines provided to you.

I also want to give you a heartfelt Gratitude for what you do for us.

Best Wishes!
Aksfdb