Old 16th August 2007, 17:31   #271

Originally Posted by Rahulk76 View Post
Any updates on the results of test mule with performance enchancer chip ?
Err - I wouldnt call it a test 'Mule'. Its a rather luxurious vehicle to be called a mule.

The results of the 'test' are apparently very , very good. The truck allegedly does standing starts in 2nd gear comfortably, in 3rd at a pinch. I dont have the exact numbers - the testers do.

Will wait for at least 500 to 1000 kms of running before any serious comment.
Old 17th August 2007, 17:57   #272

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Err - I wouldnt call it a test 'Mule'. Its a rather luxurious vehicle to be called a mule.

The results of the 'test' are apparently very , very good. The truck allegedly does standing starts in 2nd gear comfortably, in 3rd at a pinch. I dont have the exact numbers - the testers do.

Will wait for at least 500 to 1000 kms of running before any serious comment.
Its a rather luxurious vehicle to be called a mule.

Start in 2nd gear ..WOW ...ooodles of torque pouring in i guess

Well... i am really happy this thing works & will anxiously await the results.

ny thoughts on VNT/VGT retrofitments
Old 1st September 2007, 11:44   #273

UPDATE - 40K KMS UP

Issues:

1. Tie Rods changed. The LHS Tie Rod end had given up by the time I reached Bangalore after 5 Palghat - Coimbatore round trips in 2 days (those that know the 'road' will know why this may have happened), some bad roads around Coorg and a lot of unmarked speedbreakers in Karnataka. Since we were replacing one my personal pit-stop in Bangalore suggested replacing the pair, and I did. Cost: Rs.2,300. The job took just over an hour.

2. A/c Compressor noise is slightly higher than normal. Need to get this checked up - probably needs belt tightening or something. This is not very apparent while driving, but is very obvious when you're idling without a/c and switch on the damn thing.

The speedbreakers in Karnataka are so bad that we ALL (3 in the car) sighed with relief as soon as we entered Kerala through NH212. Now we could RIP without worrying about sudden speedbreakers. My son counted 38 speedbreakers between Mysore and the Kerala border - ALL of them unmarked, many enough to break a truck and almost all of them crudely built.

Other than that there isnt much to update. Vehicle running smooth, no further issues except that I had a small rattle on the steering column which was sorted out while I was getting the tie-rods replaced.

PS: I just realized that Accent CRDis are easy meat & Fiesta TDCis are so boring it isnt worth talking about them!

Last edited by Steeroid : 1st September 2007 at 11:48.
Old 1st September 2007, 13:09   #274

PS: I just realized that Accent CRDis are easy meat & Fiesta TDCis are so boring it isnt worth talking about them!
You have called out for the wrath !!!
Old 1st September 2007, 15:34   #275

UPDATE - 40K KMS UP

Are you not going to tell us why and how this became possible,you sly (bhai)devil.
Old 1st September 2007, 20:57   #276

Steer, please tell the secret to the faster car, the box?

Pics, pics, pics of your new alloys.
Old 1st September 2007, 21:06   #277

Pics of the alloys can be posted after tomorrow's meet - I've taken pics, but I only have my wife's @(&!)#$) Sony camera which as you know requires proprietary cables to connect to a PC. And being a !&!(@_! Sony it also uses proprietary Memory Sticks that dont work with any of the built-in card readers on my laptop.

I hate Sony.

Desert Fox bhai thoda dhua nikal raha hai - not much, just swalpa swalpa.

Busa - what box?

Last edited by Steeroid : 1st September 2007 at 21:08.
Old 1st September 2007, 21:18   #278

Busa - what box?
Steer, the performance box for the Safari you got from outside which takes the power to 140bhp or so.
Old 1st September 2007, 21:23   #279

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Steer, the performance box for the Safari you got from outside which takes the power to 140bhp or so.
Thats in Bangalore, running on someone else's car!
Old 1st September 2007, 21:24   #280

Thats in Bangalore, running on someone else's car!
Eagerly waiting for the review on the same
Old 1st September 2007, 21:38   #281

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Eagerly waiting for the review on the same
The news on that front is good. The original settings werent that great but the chaps who know what the box is about worked on the settings (using the modulator that doesnt come with std kits) and tweaked it to an extent where Accents are eatable. I didnt mean my car - I cant take that chance with warranty!! These guys can afford to.

Anyway the results with tweaked settings are really good - I drove the truck so here are my impressions:

1. Wheelspins common on first gear. This is without any revving or clutch-dumping - just regular starts.

2. 2nd Gear starts are comforable. Wheelspins on 2nd gear starts too if you revv it and dump the clutch.

3. In-gear acceleration is terrific now - though you still have to wait for the turbo to kick in. Dont expect any theatrics before that.

4. Earlier the vehicle would cruise effortlessly at 100 kmph + something, with the engine hardly stressed. You can now do the same at 120-130 kmph.

5. Fuel economy I'm told is the same with or without the box. Dont quote me on this because this isnt personal experience.

Low end torque seems to have improved but this could be because of the new dual-mode ECU setting this particular car is running (not available to us mortals) and not just the box. There is no mistaking the top-end though.

For those interested in top-speeds (I am not) I did 160 on the vehicle with the box and there was still some way to go on the pedal.

Last edited by Steeroid : 1st September 2007 at 21:40.
Old 1st September 2007, 22:31   #282

Nice review there Steer, so the box seems worth it.

How much does it cost, not available in India?
Old 1st September 2007, 22:49   #283

Hi Steeroids, whats this box all about! is it some turbo accessory?
Old 1st September 2007, 23:28   #284

Originally Posted by Monster_BHP View Post
Something like a Petes tunning box, which chnages the injector timings
Old 2nd September 2007, 00:14   #285

Originally Posted by Monster_BHP View Post
Box which boosts the performance of the truck.
BHP - 140
Torque - 360 Nm