Old 11th November 2007, 07:55   #1

Accent Viva CRDI 38000 Kms report

I had a love and hate relationship with my Opel Astra 1.7TD for 1.5 years before we decided to part ways. My budget was 5 lakhs for the next car and I toyed around with various ideas- Indica Turbo, Swift Vxi, Wagon R Duo, used OHC etc. My personal choice was Swift but my wife has put in a simple but non negotiable clause that the car should be a diesel.

Diesel in 5 lakhs!! Well, my range is drastically narrowed down to Indica Turbo now. After a short test drive, I was unsold and ‘am back to square one. When I sat and rethought my options, I had new addition to my list. Accent CRDI !! Off I went to my favourite used car show room one weekend and announced that I wanted a used Accent CRDI and wanted it fast.

Saw four cars in a day and the last one really hooked me. A two year old Silver Viva CRDI, done 20k, loaded with accessories and a fancy number. I stretched my budget by 60k and went for it.

The good:
1) Awesome engine: This is one engine which is the best of both worlds. You have the turbo kick when you floor the pedal and you also have the low end torque of a 3 cylinder engine to trundle around with out the effects of turbo lag. Well, every turbo will have lag but here it is made up by the excellent low end torque.
2) Fuel efficiency: I get about 12 kmpl in city and about 17.5 in long drives. The best I ever got in highway is about 20. The worst I ever got in city and highway are 11 and 16.5 respectively. All these is with 100% AC.
3) Boot space: This is where the Viva beats many other cars. Bend the rear seat forward and coupled with the notch back styling, you’ve got a really big boot. I have once loaded 4 large suitcases and 2 small suitcases in it when my parents were traveling abroad.
4) Ride: For the price bracket the car was in, it has a pretty good ride quality and my cousins were pretty impressed by the way it handled bad roads.
5) Looks: I feel the notch backs are some of the best looking cars around and Accent Viva for me is the best looking Hyundai till date.

The average:
1) NVH: The noise, vibration and harshness characteristics of the car are nothing great to talk about. Nevertheless they are not issues that I have many cribs about. The engine sounds agricultural at low revs but once past 1500 rpm, it’s pretty smooth.
2) Space: Ideally, this is a 4 member car. I have traveled many times with 3 people at back but for the best comfort, 2+2 is the way to go.
3) Handling: Compared to the ford icon and fiesta, this car has slightly vague handling. This is especially evident when fully loaded. High speed handling is a little uncomfortable and I have never gone past 140kmph.
4) While I have some cribs about the quality of service, the spare part prices are not too high for a car in this range. I change oil and oil filter every 5K ( Cost less than Rs 2K) and had once done a 10k service-oil, oil fiter, fuel filter, air filter and engine decarbonising. (Costed Rs 5.5K including the engine flush)

The bad:
Well, actually nothing!! I really can’t find any major flaw that has really bugged me. This sums up the happy time I had with this great car till now.

Last edited by badri : 11th November 2007 at 08:00.
Old 11th November 2007, 21:16   #2

I love this car, especially the looks and the CRDI engine. I could not find a good second hand car. Enjoy!!
Old 11th November 2007, 23:25   #3

Originally Posted by badri View Post
Saw four cars in a day and the last one really hooked me. A two year old Silver Viva CRDI, done 20k, loaded with accessories and a fancy number. I stretched my budget by 60k and went for it.
You are lucky to get an Accent CRDi done 20k.

Most of the accents CRDi's i have seen do very high mileages within 2-3 years. My friend has a car done almost 2 years and around 50k kms. And he is happy with it. Infact, i drive it around too, and the car is a delight.

You can see the report of a long drive in the Accent CRDi, if you wish to.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...life-easy.html

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 11th November 2007 at 23:31.
Old 5th December 2007, 12:31   #4

Accent CRDi is the best medium sedan now in the market I feel. For the power, seating, handling, etc. and for the price, worth it.
I've covered 40,000 in 2 years and recently installed Petes Kit. Reading Badro's report on mileage, i get less than him. May it's because i use 14/195 tyres and usually long drive speed exceeds more than 100 kms/hr. I get about max 13 to 14 kms/ltr on Indian Oil Super Diesel. Any other ways to increase it? Well, Drive slow may be..
Old 5th December 2007, 12:38   #5

Badri,

Who the used car dealer you sourced the car from?
Old 5th December 2007, 14:20   #6

Badri,

I have a Viva CRDI 2 years old and done 20K on it. Love this car and proud i opted for it over City Automatic. Drove in Delhi & Mumbai.
Agree the space is amazing. While transferrring my stuff from Mumbai to Delhi loaded my car with TV Microwave and other stuff and smoothly reached.

The best part to feel the power of this car is when u accelerate in 2nd gear and see the RPM needle go up so does the engine sound.. makes u feel u driving some monster.

The average which i was getting in Mumbai was 11 with A/c (Driving is hell in Mumbai with bumpers sticking together and top speed 40 so hardly get option to drive in 4th gear for long forget the 5 gear)

Been in delhi for 5 days so will update u what average now i am getting in Delhi as in 1 year volume of traffic has risen astronomically.
Old 5th December 2007, 16:08   #7
tez

i am on lookout of viva crdi, but still not come through one that has less mileage on it.
Old 17th December 2007, 21:50   #8

Originally Posted by PatienceWins View Post
Badri,

Who the used car dealer you sourced the car from?

Sorry for the delayed reply. I have bought my car ( and 3 cars prior to it ) through Royal Automotives opposite to BTM water tank. You can quote my name if you would like to buy any car through him.Shibu is the contact person.
Old 18th December 2007, 07:20   #9

Originally Posted by shuhaib View Post
Reading Badro's report on mileage, i get less than him. May it's because i use 14/195 tyres and usually long drive speed exceeds more than 100 kms/hr. I get about max 13 to 14 kms/ltr on Indian Oil Super Diesel. Any other ways to increase it? Well, Drive slow may be..
Well, I normally cruise around 100 km/h and maintain a steady pace.Thanks to the Bangalore- Bellary road on which most of my long drives are. I fill fuel once I reach out skirts of city and refuel on out skirts again so that the low city mileage will not be taken into account.
Old 1st February 2009, 08:32   #10

63000 Km update

Folks, time for the 63000 km update:

I am very happy with the way the car is aging. Here is the summary

Engine: I do not observe any increase in noise or vibration of the engine over the last 43000km that I owned the car . No excessive oil consumption, no excess smoke etc till date. The acceleration is as good as ever. No drop whatsoever in the performance. Looks good to cross the psychological 80k mark with out any issues.

Clutch: No signs of needing a replacement in near future. This with 95% city driving !!

Gear box: Has become slightly stiffer after a recent gear oil change.

Drive shafts, bearings etc: No issues. All safe and sound

Electricals: No problems apart from the quirky back lit light for A/C controls. This goes on and off over bumps

Suspension: I suspect that it has become more softer than before. I need to look out for any tell tale troubles.

Rattles: No mechanical creaks and groans from the body. There is a loose AC duct which vibrates in a very narrow rpm band ( more of it later).

Maintenance: Similar to my initial post. The recent 60k service costed slightly higher (Rs 7700) with Oil change, Filters ( Oil, fuel, air) change, decarbonising, transmission oil change and coolant replacement.

Fuel efficiency: It has slightly gone up from my initial post

City: 12.5- 13.5 kmpl ( 80% inner city, 20% ring road)
Highway: 17-20 kmpl

The 20 is with five adults in car, boot loaded to hilt and cruising at 100-120 kmph. I had to switch off the AC as one of the members was allergic to it.

Problems:

Strange vibration: This is one issue I had forgotten to mention in my initial post. There is a slight vibration between 2300 to 2500 rpm in all gears. Since this is not there at idle, I presume it is not due to the engine. Rather than breaking my head, I took Psycho's adivce . Press the throttle and accelerate out of the troublesome zone...It works well ..

Brake caliper noise: The grease on the right brake caliper had dried and there was a 'bad bearing like' noise. Was solved with greasing the caliper.

Rust in fuel filler: There is a some rust in fuel filler pipe. If it increases further, I may need to replace the pipe.

Scratches and Dings: A million of them all over. Thanks to the kids who want to use my car as learning board, thanks to Bangalore traffic and thanks to my own mistakes.

On the whole :

I am very happy with the build quality and the reliability of the car. I intend to retain it atleast for another two years and the car looks good for it.

I have become a proponent of Hyundai vehicles now and I suggest to my friends to go for a Hyundai if they can afford the slight premium ( compared to Maruti ) and if they can live with the slightly softer handling charecterstics.
Old 8th February 2009, 18:54   #11

Strange vibration: This is one issue I had forgotten to mention in my initial post. There is a slight vibration between 2300 to 2500 rpm in all gears. Since this is not there at idle, I presume it is not due to the engine.
Guess the engine mounts are the culprits..kindly look into it.
Old 11th February 2009, 23:27   #12

Folks, time for the 63000 km update:

I am very happy with the way the car is aging.

I am very happy with the build quality and the reliability of the car.

I have become a proponent of Hyundai vehicles now
I also use an Accent Viva CRDi, registered December 2004, and am extremely happy with it. The car's done over 88k km, and no major issues have cropped up. Recently I've had a large chunk of expenses happening (about 16k) when I needed a battery (a DIN battery - that's Rs.5300), a pair of new tyres, and a service-oil change-filter change-timing belt change-decarb-engine flush for Rs.5600. A fuel pump choking problem at 65k km (I switched to normal diesel after that, because I am told the gummy deposits in my tank were due to XtraMile being used - no issues now, and my mileage has improved), and the power antenna being replaced 3 times under warranty - that's all apart from routine service.

I fully agree with all that has been quoted from your post above.

Last edited by SS-Traveller : 11th February 2009 at 23:30.
Old 12th February 2009, 07:47   #13

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
A fuel pump choking problem at 65k km (I switched to normal diesel after that, because I am told the gummy deposits in my tank were due to XtraMile being used - no issues now,
I use Xtramile and have no issues till date - 70K and counting!

Old 12th February 2009, 08:28   #14

I too own a Viva CRDi. It is now about 4 years old and about 40K run. I have not had any issues at all so far except for an irritating high mount light at the rear which rattles every now and then in spite of providing adequate soft insertions. Otherwise it is a smooth engine especially at higher speeds and a pleasure to drive in the city traffic.

Of course I also have the AC switch back light going on and off.
Old 12th February 2009, 10:33   #15

Originally Posted by headers View Post
I use Xtramile and have no issues till date - 70K and counting!

Please use one or two tankfuls of normal diesel and report if there's any improvement in FE. Your feedback will be most welcome. I have personally noted an FE increase by 1-1.5km/l when using normal diesel rather than XtraMile.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com