Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 1st February 2012, 13:33   #61

re: Suzuki Kizashi - Should I or shouldn't I? UPDATE: Got a Passat!

@I-Chief, any update on your Kizashi purchase ? Also, do post the price breakup you have been offered.
Old 4th February 2012, 08:09   #62

@I-Chief, i am sure the car would have arrived and you are having fun driving it all around, but you owe us a ownership thread buddy.

Please find some time to click some pictures and create an ownership thread of Kizashi, the first one on Team BHP. Lot of us are eagerly waiting to read and know more about Kizashi.
mayankjha1806 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2012, 06:42   #63

Having driven the Kizashi (both CVT and Manual), I must say that the manual feels like it has a completely different engine !! The way it pulls strongly from low rpms is amazing. The high speed stability is fantastic.

Suzuki had benchmarked this car against the C class and the A4 and it supposedly improves upon both of them in almost all handling parameters (slalom tests and braking are claimed by Suzuki to be better than the base model C class and A4).

On actually driving these cars I feel that the Kizashi does not exhibit the slight nervousness that you experience at 180 kmph in a C220 CDI or A4 2.0 TFSI. I have done 175 in a Kizashi and it felt very stable on the same road that I had driven the C class and A4 at 180 kmph (and in both the C and A4 there was a slight nervousness).

The only fly in the ointment is that Suzuki (not Maruti) does not to remove the Japanese spec speed limiter which cuts in at a very low 181 kmph !!! Maruti also does not remove it for you. This is quite sad as 181 kmph does not feel anywhere near "fast" for this car.

There were also plans for a 3.5 V6 engine which was to come to India too but after the tsunami, plans have been put on hold.
Old 5th February 2012, 10:20   #64

With folks concerned about the Maruti 'value' branding on a premium vehicle, I think the premium segment vehicles should have a Suzuki branding whereas the value segment vehicles can retain their Maruti branding.

The Grand Vitara isn't a failed product like some people suggest. In the middle east, the Grand Vitara makes a good budget SUV and it has to looks too. The GV is also available internationally with a 3.2L 220hp V6 engine. Sure, it isn't fast but it can go offroad.
Old 20th March 2012, 11:44   #65

er, have you started an ownership thread somewhere?
if not, the we REALLY need to know what happened, yaar!!!
Old 26th May 2012, 13:17   #66

Friends, I finally did not go for the Kizashi due to the immense negative opinions.

I instead have picked up a mint condition used VW Passat 2.0 DSG and with the recent Gasoline price hike I think I made the right choice.

Thanks all for your inputs and guidance. I really appreciate the brotherhood here.

Suzuki Kizashi - Should I or shouldn't I? UPDATE: Got a Passat!-45073_20120426031250662_640x428.jpg  

Suzuki Kizashi - Should I or shouldn't I? UPDATE: Got a Passat!-45073_20120426031341816_640x428.jpg  

Suzuki Kizashi - Should I or shouldn't I? UPDATE: Got a Passat!-45073_20120426031352596_640x428.jpg  

I-Chief is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th May 2012, 14:35   #67

^^ Thats a very clean looking piece. Mind sharing some model / milage / price information ?
Old 26th May 2012, 14:58   #68

Congrats I-Chief. Please share with us more details on the Passat. Looking forward to an ownership report on the German beauty! The car looks spectacular. Happy motoring

K
Old 26th May 2012, 17:28   #69

Congratulations, you owe us a ownership thread nevertheless. Please start one as soon as you can. The government apathy towards petrol users make one wonder if the future of petrol cars in India is almost dead.

With the preview pictures that you showed, the car looks in mint condition, making me more impatient to read up the ownership thread and to see more pictures.
mayankjha1806 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 16:10   #70

Re: Suzuki Kizashi - Should I or shouldn't I? UPDATE: Got a Passat!

It's a pretty old thread but one of the few open ones.

Anyway, I absolutely love the Suzuki Kizashi CVT and I'm getting a used one under 3 lakhs.

Simultaneously, there are a few Chevrolet Cruze's which is a similar car in terms of specs and pricing.

Which one would be a better buy?

I'm contemplating only between the automatic variants.

I would be delighted to get your esteemed assistance.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 6th October 2020 at 12:13. Reason: Spacing for improved readability
Old 2nd October 2020, 16:39   #71

Originally Posted by Sunil@786 View Post
Simultaneously, there are a few Chevrolet Cruze's which is a similar car in terms of specs and pricing.
Which one would be a better buy?
Kizashi shall be a better bet. Chevrolet has packed up and part sourcing/ servicing would be an issue. Kizashi too is discontinued however the company is still operational and unarguably has the best after sales service. The parts would take time to come and would be expensive however you shall have complete support. If you are looking to keep the car for a long period then it is better to go for Kizashi. Get it thoroughly checked at the service center and accordingly take a decision.
VWAllstar is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 16:50   #72

Originally Posted by VWAllstar View Post
Kizashi shall be a better bet. Chevrolet has packed up and part sourcing/ servicing would be an issue. Kizashi too is discontinued however the company is still operational and unarguably has the best after sales service. The parts would take time to come and would be expensive however you shall have complete support. If you are looking to keep the car for a long period then it is better to go for Kizashi. Get it thoroughly checked at the service center and accordingly take a decision.
Thank you.

Most well-wishers told me the same about Chevrolet and Suzuki.

I do plan to keep the car for a long time and given the current petrol/diesel rates in Mumbai, the choice between the 2 is pretty negligible.

I contacted a Maruti dealer who informed me that acquiring parts shouldn't be an issue. The same went for Chevrolet. However, the proof is in the pudding.

Also, I found an app called GoMechanic whose charges are pretty nominal which was surprising

Hence, I realised the good sales of MS cars.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 6th October 2020 at 12:13. Reason: Spacing for improved readability
Old 6th October 2020, 11:42   #73

The Kizashi is a noticeably better car in almost every aspect, but I'd suggest doing some research about the CVT I have not heard many good things about the automatic but cannot comment on the CVTs long term reliability. As far as the rest of the car goes it is impeccable. Parts are stocked in Gurgaon and anything that isn't in stock, is procured within 2 weeks from Japan (pre-lockdown).
IshaanIan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th October 2020, 12:04   #74

Originally Posted by IshaanIan View Post
The Kizashi is a noticeably better car in almost every aspect, but I'd suggest doing some research about the CVT I have not heard many good things about the automatic but cannot comment on the CVTs long term reliability. As far as the rest of the car goes it is impeccable. Parts are stocked in Gurgaon and anything that isn't in stock, is procured within 2 weeks from Japan (pre-lockdown).
Thanks Ishaan.

I was going through reviews of both cars and found almost no negative review about the Kizashi compared to the Cruze. No doubt the Cruze too is a very good car but somehow the Kizashi is a better alternative

What were the negative points you have heard about the CVT version though?

Anything to be concerned about or can the part be replaced so it's hassle free?

Also, the Kizashi is relatively very reasonable to maintain with regards to the Cruze.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 6th October 2020 at 12:12. Reason: Spacing for improved readability
Old 6th October 2020, 15:43   #75

Originally Posted by Sunil@786 View Post
Thanks Ishaan.

I was going through reviews of both cars and found almost no negative review about the Kizashi compared to the Cruze. No doubt the Cruze too is a very good car but somehow the Kizashi is a better alternative

What were the negative points you have heard about the CVT version though?

Anything to be concerned about or can the part be replaced so it's hassle free?

Also, the Kizashi is relatively very reasonable to maintain with regards to the Cruze.
CVT will require some research I do not remember specifically what reliability concerns I had heard about it. That said parts are easy to source and the car is more or less of fairly simple engineering and construction; even the engine bay is quite spacious owing to pre-production V6 prototypes, so fixing anything and working on the car in general should not be a hassle
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com