Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 25th January 2012, 17:50   #16

Re: Sporty car for <85 lakhs OTR

Sorry to say this about the legendary EVO, but I honestly found the X to be very boring to drive. There's cars that cost 1/2 as much, and are more fun (even though they are not as quick).

If you are happy with the service you have received for the A6, I'd second the recommendation on the RS5. My personal pick would be the Porsche Cayman (or the Boxster). Seriously, it's got everything. Looks, power, handling, depth of engineering and brand. Wait for the all-new generation's launch that is just around the corner (Related Thread).
Old 25th January 2012, 23:44   #17

Although I agree with GTO, I also suggest you try out used options. You could get well maintained 911s for that price, and they're a hoot to drive. Not to mention supremely easy to drive, maneuver, park, see-out-of, etc. there is at least one 911 that is driven by a lady in Bangalore, and it's a Turbo!

Otherwise, the other option would be the BMW 640d. it's ideal. Might be a tad large, but you should get accustomed to the size. Beware, it may be sporty, but it's still a plush grand-tourer.

I'd also suggest the Audi RS5.
Old 26th January 2012, 02:08   #18

Originally Posted by msbehave View Post
Looking to buy a sporty car to replace our A6.

Thinking about the Jaguar XF, Porsche Boxster, BMW 330d, BMWZ4.

Open to other suggestions and doesnt necessarily have to be a 2 seater or 4 seater.

Thanks in advance!
ISnt XF-R in this range? around 85 right?
Old 26th January 2012, 03:01   #19

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team: Please take the time to use proper punctuation as per Team-BHP rules. Avoid...typing...like...this. Thanks.

Bimmer 640d is the best option out there... It is as fast as the 640i ...0-60 in ~5 secs... high low end torque.. Great quality of interior ... and best of all.. its a diesel...

RS5 is another great option... but if you wanted to go in that direction... M3 is much better car to drive.. RS5 may be faster but its a boring ride with the awd ... M3 is much more engaging car to drive... and this the last gen of M3 to have a V8.... Its a future classic...

370z and evo have cheap interior .. If you re spending 50+ lakh... i am sure comfort and quality of the interior are important to you. Boxter n cayman are chick cars...

Last edited by aah78 : 26th January 2012 at 05:33. Reason: See note.
Mike89 is offline   Received Infraction
Old 26th January 2012, 03:09   #20

Originally Posted by Mike89 View Post
Boxter n cayman are chick cars...
Chick cars they may be, but they're more than capable of delivering all the fun you're looking for. It's not for nothing that they're considered to be the greatest handling cars ever made. They're reasonably fast, easy to drive, look attractive, come with that all-important Porsche badge, and most importantly, they're immense fun!

Ask fellow member Dante, and he'd echo my sentiments.

A Mercedes SLK or an Audi TT could be considered chick-cars, but cars like the BMW Z4 and Cayman have turned it up a notch and are a whole lot more serious than just poser hair-dressers' wagons.
Old 26th January 2012, 04:14   #21

Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
Chick cars they may be, but they're more than capable of delivering all the fun you're looking for. It's not for nothing that they're considered to be the greatest handling cars ever made. They're reasonably fast, easy to drive, look attractive, come with that all-important Porsche badge, and most importantly, they're immense fun!

Ask fellow member Dante, and he'd echo my sentiments.

A Mercedes SLK or an Audi TT could be considered chick-cars, but cars like the BMW Z4 and Cayman have turned it up a notch and are a whole lot more serious than just poser hair-dressers' wagons.
Ofcrse they are capable of delivering the performance, its a porsche afterall. I am just speaking from what i have seen. Majority of slks,tts, boxters, caymans, and even z4s are driven by chicks. Its nothing against the car. but I personally would not like to be seen in these cars. Thats just me though.
But thn again, in India most sports cars are driven by guys; be it tt or boxter or slk

Last edited by Mike89 : 26th January 2012 at 04:16.
Old 26th January 2012, 10:19   #22

Originally Posted by Mike89 View Post
I am just speaking from what i have seen. Majority of slks,tts, boxters, caymans, and even z4s are driven by chicks.
The thread starter is a lady BTW.

Personally, I'm in love with the 2013 Boxster (and Cayman, if the rendering is anything to go by). The Cayman was always a favourite, and the new styling is a huge step forward.
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th January 2012, 10:41   #23

The thread starter is a lady BTW.

Personally, I'm in love with the 2013 Boxster (and Cayman, if the rendering is anything to go by). The Cayman was always a favourite, and the new styling is a huge step forward.
If its for a lady, than its my bad. I would definitely recommend Z4 and the new boxter. They have done a fine job with that car. However the twin turbo on the z4 would be much more fun to drive around in; unless she gets boxter s which would be a better choice. I ve not seen 2013 cayman yet so i cant comment on that.

I would strongly recommend 640d simply because its much more practical of them and still holds the sportcar factor.
Mike89 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th January 2012, 11:10   #24

Hey a trio of delicious options might just be up for you. Of course apart from the engine no other details are disclosed yet so have no clue if they would be within the budget.
BMW's diesel monster trio - the M550D , X5 M50d & X6M 50d.
Goes without saying, the driving marvel out of the 3 would be the 550d M of course. The stats are nothing short of staggering (since the M550d is the best driver's car out of the 3, am putting up only its stats) -
0-100km/h - 4.7 secs...that is just 3/10ths of a second off the ACTUAL petrol M5.
Icing on the cake- Average fuel consumption - 6.3litres / 100km
That's like dreamland when compared to its petrol counterpart.
The magic of I6 tri-turbo for you. All of 381hp and 740 LOCOMOTIVE PULLING newton meters of torque !
Atleast 2 of the 3 above variants would be EVEN quicker than the already quick 640d !
Sure the 6 would get you a lot more attention but frankly who cares about all that when you get to drive a completely bonkers car with blistering performance coupled with diesel efficiency.
In this guise ,the variants would come with custom bumpers and probably even a body kit so would be distinct from the regular sluggish 530d's ! LOL ! (pray for that amazing interlagos blue color to make it to our shores )
You might have to wait it out a bit but rest assured it'll be totally worth every minute.

Last edited by PlatzdaTurbo : 26th January 2012 at 11:18.
Old 26th January 2012, 11:14   #25

Why not give a look at the Merc C63 AMG? Not sure if it will fall in the less than 85 lakhs OTR category. Or probably look at something smaller and cheaper - a Mini Cooper S
Old 26th January 2012, 11:16   #26

Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
Why not give a look at the Merc C63 AMG? Not sure if it will fall in the less than 85 lakhs OTR category. Or probably look at something smaller and cheaper - a Mini Cooper S

Wayy above budget pal
Am not sure if even a sparsely USED c63 would make it within the prescribed amount. The pricing is just over the top on those things.
PlatzdaTurbo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th January 2012, 12:47   #27

Get the new boxer will fit in your budget, the new 2013 models are out in India, the base cayman ex showroom is 59 and the S model is 69, do look at The link below for more details you can also configure your car online to see how much it will cost you in your choice of options, I am in love with the silver with red interior car used in the press shots,

http://www.porsche.com/middle-east/_mumbai_/

Below is the model combination I speak of,

http://www.porsche.com/middle-east/_...ter/boxster-s/

BMW 640d will cost you approx 88 lac on road, while I love the car I don't appreciate it's dynamics as sporty, I'd say it's exactly what it is, a GT. but a lovely car,

C63 is wonderful and best is Mercedes India loads their AMG cars with all options as standard and is about 68 lacs ex showroom so will cost about 77.5 on road depending on where you live as some states have double RTO for CBU cars.

Avoid, XF, 330d, and Z4' nothing really special about them.

Originally Posted by msbehave
Looking to buy a sporty car to replace our A6.

Thinking about the Jaguar XF, Porsche Boxster, BMW 330d, BMWZ4.
!
Platzdaturbo,

How you been, C63 is an amazingly priced car in India and comes with all German options as standard ill drive it tomm as now my dealer has a test drive car

here you can see the prices of most models sold in India,

http://www.mercedes-benz.co.in/conte...view/West.html

Originally Posted by vb-san
Originally Posted by PlatzdaTurbo

Wayy above budget pal
Am not sure if even a sparsely USED c63 would make it within the prescribed amount. The pricing is just over the top on those things.

Last edited by S350L-E240 : 26th January 2012 at 12:58.
S350L-E240 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th February 2012, 12:22   #28

For Power - BMW 640D or M3
For Sportiness - Porsche Cayman

If you start looking into the used / preowned market then your options open up considerably! You could get some great Italians or Germans heck even cabriolets for under 85... But of course, need to come across a prime example and not a used and abused one!!
Old 8th February 2012, 15:52   #29

The Jaguar XFR is hoot to drive and practical for everyday use. Its luxurious, super fast, excellent dynamics and will certainly plant a smile on your face every time you floor the pedal. Its worth considering this though it maybe slightly above your budget. Test drive one, you'll get your answer

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com