Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 23rd June 2006, 10:15   #16

Those prices include an iron clad warranty + fact that car has been totally refurbished

If buying direct, chip 6l off and pray for reliability

MB try and buy old cars back to control resale value
Old 23rd June 2006, 10:19   #17

I dont know what people are talking about, if they didnt know the old one went for 69 ON ROAD, 20% dep per year is the usual..but if the car is only 11 months old I would think a pristine one would go for prety much 50ish and a little over worked for about 45, nothing less than that..even 45 is pushing it..the brand new S on road is working out to 77ish man...(or is it 74ish, forgot, its been long since we got the order put in)

and trust me, we bought and sold 2 S classes in the last few years, one was a 2003 sold in 2004 end and a 2005, just about now getting ready for the new one..

Last edited by 1Day : 23rd June 2006 at 10:22.
Old 23rd June 2006, 10:44   #18

Originally Posted by 1Day
and trust me, we bought and sold 2 S classes in the last few years, one was a 2003 sold in 2004 end and a 2005, just about now getting ready for the new one..
If you dont mind,can you mention how much you sold your S-classes for? Along with mileage info?
How was your experience with it? i hope this doesnt turn out like my previous MB as this would be killingly expensive to maintain.

Last edited by Sahil : 23rd June 2006 at 10:45.
Old 23rd June 2006, 11:22   #19

Originally Posted by Sahil
If you dont mind,can you mention how much you sold your S-classes for? Along with mileage info?
How was your experience with it? i hope this doesnt turn out like my previous MB as this would be killingly expensive to maintain.
well we have an awesome driver(he was no.1 driver for satya bagla - Exclusive motors) and no real issues with any of our mercs, the E has now gone above 100k KM, both the S's were very low mileage, under 15k km and selling price was pretty much what i told you, infact we sold the first one for more and the second one for a little under 50..considering the new one is almost here..

Last edited by 1Day : 23rd June 2006 at 11:23.
Old 27th June 2006, 01:51   #20

Originally Posted by pioneer
Yes I second that.
really and you base that on what? if the car is 1 yr old the typical depreciation is 20% max...now consider the on road price of an S its 69l, you telling me the car would drop 50+% of its value in 1 or 2 years just cuz you think that houses are available for that price..??

come to delhi and try and buy a house, a 200 gaz plot in lajpat nagar goes for a crore and lajpat nagar isnt even in the top 25 places to stay in delhi.. so really the car which is 1 yr old you are looking at spending 55 and the car that in between 1-2 yr you are looking at spending anything from 45-50 depending if its 24 months old or 13 months old...

and if you were to take the prices in mumbai, forget it, you woudnt get a house..for anywhere close the price you suggest..

Old 27th June 2006, 14:58   #21

50 lakhs you barely get a decent FLAT in delhi
Old 27th June 2006, 15:05   #22

I think he wants to buy a used S class not a flat
Old 27th June 2006, 17:27   #23

well im sure a person wanting to buy a S-class surely has a house/flat.. and which is probably worth tons more.... .. sigh!!!!! I badly need both...!!!!!
Old 28th June 2006, 02:47   #24

the 9L discount the company was offering was a combination of cash discount,finance discount(From MB only) and Fleet discount combined. When I contacted the showroom they told me that the stock is almost sold out and I only had a choice of 2 cars in colours I didnt even like.

So it was not like any buyer could walk into the showroom and expect a 9L discount...

As far as resale value goes a dealer will offer atleast 43.5 to 44.5 for this particular car if not more.

Sahil: I would suggest you go ahead with the deal if it is anything below 45L. You wouldnt want to pass on this deal and find the same car for sale with some bombay dealer quoting 51L to the end user.

As for people who tell you that a 05 S class with 4K Kms is worth only 35L to 40L they are living in a dreamworld, and im sure you will not find a single car in india for that price.

Last edited by R.P.M : 28th June 2006 at 02:49.