Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 23rd November 2021, 01:15   #31

Re: New car conundrum in the 30 - 40 lakh range

Update: Booked the Audi A4 Technology variant this Saturday, delivery scheduled over the coming weekend. We took one more look at the car, this time with special focus on the back seat and realized its actually fine for our need. Last time I checked, didn't realize the front seats were set all the way back, which made me feel legroom might be a problem, but this time when I verified along with my wife with front seats adjusted, space was fine - especially for ladies from my family, so we decided to book the car. I guess heart won over head this time, absolutely loved the car from the first time I TDed it and have been hoping it worked out somehow. While there are some compromises compared to a Superb (more expensive, lesser space), overall this car just feels that much nicer, especially the driving dynamics. Thank you all for your input, this has been very helpful.

I buy this car in Kolkata where I am still wfh, but intend to drive down to Bangalore with my family, make a 5 day road trip of it, hoping it will be an adventure and we will get to feel the true value of the car.

Now I have a few questions, will appreciate any guidance:
1. Delivery- What are the checks I need to make during delivery, is there a thread for luxury car delivery that I can refer to?
2. Accessories - the dealer says the car is fully loaded and doesn't require anything additional, he will still provide jute floor mats, any suggestions if they are good enough, or I should look to change to rubber ones immediately? Also anything else I should be looking to purchase/ or hope dealer provides? He advised against a Audi car cover, apparently its 40K and doesn't even stop water from seeping in, just protection against dust. He also advised against mudflaps, saying they reduce the ride height, is that true? What else is important?
3. Polish- I checked whether I should be getting a PPF coating or any other form of polish done on the new car, dealer advised against PPF, and said it will be good to do basic polish every 6 months. Thoughts?
4. Underbody - I checked about underbody coating, and dealer said Audi doesn't need them, since they are made from aluminum. Is that accurate?
5. Warranty - I have extended my warranty to 2+3 year plan, which covers technical, mechanical and electrical costs. However dealer advised me against taking the comprehensive coverage (CRVP or some acronym, I am unable to recollect it now), given my limited driving needs of less than 10K kms a year. Would you recommend otherwise?
6. Anything else that I should know about as a first time German car buyer?

Thanks in anticipation
Grand_Master is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2021, 16:36   #32

Originally Posted by Grand_Master View Post
Update: Booked the Audi A4 Technology variant this Saturday, delivery scheduled over the coming weekend.
Congratulations on the booking. Wish you many happy kms in A4. I test drove this and was blown away with the refinement and plush feeling inside the cabin. Though on paper the engine is same as Superb, A4 makes you feel special when you are sitting inside. I am myself in Superb vs A4 dilemma currently.

Did you get a killer deal from Audi or was it a regular discount?
manish84 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2021, 17:03   #33

Originally Posted by manish84 View Post
I am myself in Superb vs A4 dilemma currently.
Did you get a killer deal from Audi or was it a regular discount?
Haha yeah so you know what I just went through. I got ~7lks discount, not sure if that qualifies as "killer deal", I know others might have gotten more but I believe the prices are about to increase, so didn't want to take more chances.
Grand_Master is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2021, 01:42   #34

Congratulations Grand_Master. Wish you many miles of happy driving with the A4.
Since you are planning to use it in Bangalore, are you getting it registered in KA and driving from Kolkata to Bangalore using Temporary registration? Hope you clarified these details to avoid any unforeseen situations during your travel.
nikhil_pon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2021, 15:40   #35

I would suggest the following in below order of preference:

1. Superb/Octavia
2. A4
3. BMW X1
the pony is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th December 2021, 00:08   #36

Re: New car conundrum in the 30 - 40 lakh range [ Update: Purchased Audi A4 Technology]

Update: Received my white color A4 Technology TSI ~10 days back, just a joy to drive and back seat passengers are happy too. Have not been able to go around much across the week, but the initial 400 km ride has been excellent. Feel good that I have just been able to skip the upcoming Audi price hike as well.

Originally Posted by nikhil_pon View Post
Congratulations Grand_Master. Wish you many miles of happy driving with the A4.
Since you are planning to use it in Bangalore, are you getting it registered in KA and driving from Kolkata to Bangalore using Temporary registration? Hope you clarified these details to avoid any unforeseen situations during your travel.
This is going to be a pain, I was hoping for BH registration but WB is yet to adopt it. I have registered in WB now, still unsure when I am shifting to Bangalore, will have to do a re-registration and claim refund from WB on road tax. I have read its a nightmare to deal with KA registration process, lets see.

Originally Posted by the pony View Post
I would suggest the following in below order of preference:

1. Superb/Octavia
2. A4
3. BMW X1
Thanks buddy, but I have already made the purchase. I actually saw both Superb and Octavia riding next to each other while driving in the Audi, but was happy with my decision, which I think would have been different if it was the other way around.
Grand_Master is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th December 2021, 05:24   #37

Re: New car conundrum in the 30 - 40 lakh range [ Update: Purchased Audi A4 Technology]

Update: Received my white color A4 Technology TSI ~10 days back

This is going to be a pain, I was hoping for BH registration but WB is yet to adopt it. I have registered in WB now, still unsure when I am shifting to Bangalore, will have to do a re-registration and claim refund from WB on road tax. I have read its a nightmare to deal with KA registration process.
Congratulations on your purchase. You can now drive in Karnataka for upto 1 year without getting the registration changed post your move. Post that if you still don't want to change, periodically arrange for some fuel receipts from outside to show that it's still not an year.
the pony is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st December 2021, 18:10   #38

Since you loved Jeep Compass, I would strongly recommend trying the Limited version. My wife feels claustrophobic easily and that's one of the primary reasons we avoided the S variant. The Limited variant with lighter interiors ticked all the boxes. If you can live with a little less back space, Jeep Compass Ltd Petrol could be your car to begin with.
abhatt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st December 2021, 23:39   #39

Update:

Now I have a few questions, will appreciate any guidance:
1. Delivery- What are the checks I need to make during delivery, is there a thread for luxury car delivery that I can refer to?
2. Accessories - the dealer says the car is fully loaded and doesn't require anything additional, he will still provide jute floor mats, any suggestions if they are good enough, or I should look to change to rubber ones immediately? Also anything else I should be looking to purchase/ or hope dealer provides? He advised against a Audi car cover, apparently its 40K and doesn't even stop water from seeping in, just protection against dust. He also advised against mudflaps, saying they reduce the ride height, is that true? What else is important?
3. Polish- I checked whether I should be getting a PPF coating or any other form of polish done on the new car, dealer advised against PPF, and said it will be good to do basic polish every 6 months. Thoughts?
4. Underbody - I checked about underbody coating, and dealer said Audi doesn't need them, since they are made from aluminum. Is that accurate?
5. Warranty - I have extended my warranty to 2+3 year plan, which covers technical, mechanical and electrical costs. However dealer advised me against taking the comprehensive coverage (CRVP or some acronym, I am unable to recollect it now), given my limited driving needs of less than 10K kms a year. Would you recommend otherwise?
6. Anything else that I should know about as a first time German car buyer?

Thanks in anticipation
Congratulations on the new ride!

1) Go through the team-BHP PDI (pre delivery inspection) checklist, should cover everything.

2) Accessories are personal preference, some basics that I carry in both my cars:

• Air purifier (Gurgaon has some of the worst air quality in India)
• Comprehensive medical kit + Flashlight (the small kit that comes with the car is almost useless)
• 12V tyre inflator
• Window smasher + seatbelt cutter multipurpose tool in the drivers side door pocket.
• 2 plush microfibre towels + Glass cleaner in a spray bottle

Would advise against the cover unless you plan to leave it parked in the open for more than a week, as it will induce light to moderate scuffing on the paintwork no matter how soft it is.

3) You want to protect the paint from day 1 as it leaves the factory without any protection, you can either get a ceramic coating or use a paint sealant and ideally have it checked by a good detail shop and polished in case of fine swirls. To maintain take care of the washing, educate yourself on proper wash technique (look up the multi mitt wash method) and you’ll have glossy, swirl free paint for many years to come.

You don’t want to take a polisher to the paint every few months and thin out your clearcoat unnecessarily, the only reason cars lose gloss over time is due to swirls and scuffs inflicted during improper washing and cleaning. Prevention is better always than the cure.

4) All modern cars are fully galvanised at the factory, unless you live in a very cold country where they regularly put salt on the roads, or live in a coastal city with a higher salt concentration in the air, it’s not really needed. Aluminium is not resistant to corrosion, it doesn’t rust that’s all.

5) You’ve already got 5 years of warranty on the main parts, out of which the initial factory warranty will cover everything except consumables, just make sure you have rat and water damage riders added to your insurance.

6) Once your warranty period ends, you should find a trusted mechanic who specialises in Germans, this will lower your repair and maintenance costs significantly in case you find the dealer to be overpriced for any job. Drive safe and enjoy the car.

Last edited by AJ56 : 21st December 2021 at 23:47.
AJ56 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd December 2021, 16:19   #40

Congratulations for your new car. Me too from Kolkata. 42 years young 😊. Own a 2016 Audi A3 and have been looking to buy a new car for more than a year now. However whenever I sit inside my car, I feel that it's perfectly fine so why to spend so much on a new car. Driving it is fun. The engine is quite powerful for city drives and occasional highway drives. Legends say that the rear seat is little cramped. However as I mainly drive the car myself with my wife on the front passenger seat, that does not matter much. Still I don't think it's too cramped as such. May be when compared to bigger luxury cars. I think sooner or later I will succumb to the temptation and will get a new car. Test drove BMW 3 series and 520d. I feel that the stiffer suspension will be an issue in regular city driving. Roads in Kolkata are made with some futuristic technology. There are so many humps.* Wherever they repair, they leave a hump. Not to speak about the potholes in even newly developed areas like new Town. Will consider Audi A4 technology variant. At around 45 or 46 Lakhs on road Kolkata, it will be a good deal I think.

Enjoy your new car. Do go to highway Mirchi restaurant for long drive. Btw which area in Kolkata are you located? I am at Lake Town.
Vineet258 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th December 2021, 11:36   #41

Hey! As I can see, you have done quite a lot of research before finalizing your choice.

If you are looking for a sedan in this price range, I'd strongly suggest the Skoda Superb. The L&K variant is comparable to Audi A4 40 TFSI Technology, which is roughly around ₹55 lakhs on-road. Do a side by side comparison and you will easily see how good value the Superb is for what it costs. Both cars use the same engine, both have almost all the features in common.

So, the extra you pay for the A4 is just for that Audi badge.

Besides, I am pretty sure that the Audi will be much expensive to maintain as well, because it is an Audi.

It is a very similar story if you compare the Superb with the BMW 2 Series Gran Coupe. In fact, do a side-by-side comparison, you will find that Superb actually gets a bit more features for lesser price.

As for the driving department, I cannot say. I have driven a Superb once, I haven't driven the Audi and the BMW. As for the Superb, I found it very comfortable and stable at high speeds. Pretty sure that you will enjoy long drives in that car. The 2.0 TSI is an amazing engine. It isn't exactly an enthusiasts choice, but for a luxury car, it actually drives quite well.

And then is the build quality. Everything you touch feels premium and high quality, inside and outside. So you basically get what you pay for.

In case you are looking for a Premium SUV, you could consider the newly launched Volkswagen Tiguan. You get the same engine and transmission as the Superb, so you know what to expect. Do take a test drive once.

The good thing is, both the Superb and Tiguan will cost you roughly around ₹40 lakhs, the availability of support for VW and Skoda is easier to find than an Audi/BMW/Mercedes-Benz, they will be comparatively cheaper to run, they are just as high quality, the performance is just as good and you will definitely attract eyeballs.

As for a personal suggestion, a Sedan is generally more practical, comfortable and feels more planted than an SUV. The only reason you should go for an SUV, is if you frequently encounter really bad roads.

Hope that helps! Cheers!
Siddy_1998 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th December 2021, 14:11   #42

I called up the dealer and discussed with him about buying an A4 Technology variant. He is willing to give Rs 2 Lakh discount on the car. I informed him that just last month on 20th November, they have given Rs 7 Lakh discount. He said that it was on a demo car. Would be great if you can clarify whether it was a demo car or not. He is insisting on the same.
Vineet258 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th December 2021, 15:34   #43

I have gone through yours and more importantly your family requirements, so I will leave the choice with you, but suggest some donts -

- Your and everyone in your family (most importantly -home minister) want luxury, badge, so throw out the Toyotas, MG, etc. from the mix right away and dont even think which will lead to confusion. If this is the case even an Ertiga can fulfill your need, but its not what you want.

- Pre-owned will not give you the satisfaction that you are desiring here, more so if its luxury category. What you need is a fresh brand new shiny luxury badge car, anything less will beat the purpose, and you will not get the pride and satisfaction you are looking for.

- Practicality can be met even by an EECO/Alto, but again this is going to be very cherished buy for you, so again throw away only the purposeful options here.

- Long term usage, so you need to buy something that should satisfy you in all respects, as per you even budget is being stretched to derive that satisfaction, so do not lose out on that.

- DO NOT I repeat do not spend 20-40 lacs on something that leaves you even slightly missing, better spend 5-10 lacs more and get what your heart and your family cherishes for years, else money saved will lose its value in some time, but you will be living with the car and outgrow soon.

I know many have the urge to guide on buying value for money, practical, enthusiasts, manners etc., but above all this is your own satisfaction and desire, so if you can afford get the best out of the lot.

I am not making any suggestion as you have done good research already and are ready to take the plunge. The more people you ask the more confused you will get.

Note - Just saw that you bought A4, Congratulations and celebrations. Perfect decision. Enjoy the fullest with the lovely car.

Last edited by xway : 26th December 2021 at 15:38. Reason: congratulations
xway is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th December 2021, 20:23   #44

Originally Posted by abhatt View Post
Since you loved Jeep Compass, I would strongly recommend trying the Limited version. My wife feels claustrophobic easily and that's one of the primary reasons we avoided the S variant. The Limited variant with lighter interiors ticked all the boxes. If you can live with a little less back space, Jeep Compass Ltd Petrol could be your car to begin with.
Backseat compromise is not an option unfortunately, and Jeep is strictly a 4 seater, I will definitely think about it later if I am thinking of an SUV as a second car

Originally Posted by AJ56 View Post
Congratulations on the new ride!
Accessories are personal preference, some basics that I carry in both my cars:
• Air purifier (Gurgaon has some of the worst air quality in India)
• Comprehensive medical kit + Flashlight (the small kit that comes with the car is almost useless)
• 12V tyre inflator
• Window smasher + seatbelt cutter multipurpose tool in the drivers side door pocket.
• 2 plush microfibre towels + Glass cleaner in a spray bottle

Would advise against the cover unless you plan to leave it parked in the open for more than a week, as it will induce light to moderate scuffing on the paintwork no matter how soft it is.

3) You want to protect the paint from day 1 as it leaves the factory without any protection, you can either get a ceramic coating or use a paint sealant and ideally have it checked by a good detail shop and polished in case of fine swirls. To maintain take care of the washing, educate yourself on proper wash technique (look up the multi mitt wash method) and you’ll have glossy, swirl free paint for many years to come.

You don’t want to take a polisher to the paint every few months and thin out your clearcoat unnecessarily, the only reason cars lose gloss over time is due to swirls and scuffs inflicted during improper washing and cleaning. Prevention is better always than the cure.
Thank you, this is very informative, will probably take the ceramic coating option. One question, I have a 2 year warranty 3M coating offer, and a local detailers offer of Meguiar coating with 5 year warranty at 6/7K cheaper price. Wondering should I go ahead with 3M or try the higher warranty local option, any suggestions?

Originally Posted by Vineet258 View Post
Enjoy your new car. Do go to highway Mirchi restaurant for long drive. Btw which area in Kolkata are you located? I am at Lake Town.
Thanks for the tip, and good to know you are still enjoying an Audi. I am based out of Behala but will move to Bangalore as soon as office opens up. Will try out Mirchi restaurant.

Originally Posted by Vineet258 View Post
I called up the dealer and discussed with him about buying an A4 Technology variant. He is willing to give Rs 2 Lakh discount on the car. I informed him that just last month on 20th November, they have given Rs 7 Lakh discount. He said that it was on a demo car. Would be great if you can clarify whether it was a demo car or not. He is insisting on the same.
I got the ~7 lakh discount on a new car, however the dealer did mention this was their last available piece before price increase (could be a sales tactics, not sure). As a result I ended up buying the top variant, while initially was considering Premium Plus. Dealer mentioned without the discounts, the next batch Premium plus will cost as much or maybe more than what I was getting with discounts for Technology variant. Also, I bought the car close to a month end and got a feeling they had some target to achieve, so they might have been a bit more flexible. But I do know the new batch is pricier, and possibly with less discounts, now that they have a premium variant as well. When I called up Bangalore Audi, they didn't offer any discount, hence decided to buy from Kolkata.

Originally Posted by xway View Post
Note - Just saw that you bought A4, Congratulations and celebrations. Perfect decision. Enjoy the fullest with the lovely car.
Thanks, my rationale for purchase was exactly driven by the points you mentioned

Last edited by moralfibre : 27th December 2021 at 20:40. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged. Please use multi-quote option when replying to multiple posts. Thank you!
Old 28th December 2021, 00:33   #45

Thank you, this is very informative, will probably take the ceramic coating option. One question, I have a 2 year warranty 3M coating offer, and a local detailers offer of Meguiar coating with 5 year warranty at 6/7K cheaper price. Wondering should I go ahead with 3M or try the higher warranty local option, any suggestions?
Ceramic coating warranties are 90% marketing fluff, most important factors are the quality and workmanship of the detail shop applying it, and secondly the brand and type of kit being used, make sure it’s a pro grade high SiO2 concentration kit from a solid brand that makes high quality coatings like Carpro, Gyeon, Optimum, Kamikaze, etc. 3M is one of the lower tier brands when it comes to high quality coatings and so is Meguiar’s, last I checked Meguiar’s didn’t even make full blown ceramic coatings, their deep crystal coating was a 6H semi ceramic not comparable to a proper coating. Also, given the workmanship I’ve personally experienced at 3M franchises in Gurgaon, Delhi and Mumbai I wouldn’t expect anything more than mediocre quality of labour at best. Maybe the experience is different in other cities but in these 3 it definitely isn’t. Cheers.
AJ56 is online now   (1) Thanks