Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

View Poll Results: Which Mercedes-Class would you buy?
C200 @ Rs. 55 lakh 7 3.24%
C220d @ Rs. 56 lakh 54 25.00%
C300d @ Rs. 61 lakh 155 71.76%
Voters: 216. You may not vote on this poll

Old 9th June 2022, 12:06   #16

Re: Mercedes C-Class | C200 vs C220d vs C300d | Which engine would you choose?

My personal view if it has to be a C-class

1. 300d If i'm going to be driving
2. 220d- If the car will be chauffeur driven

But with the launch of the BMW i4, at that great pricing.
I would prefer to wait for some more time and pick up an EV.
Not to mention the 40% Depreciation set off on Income Tax for Business/Self employed people.
Old 9th June 2022, 12:07   #17

Originally Posted by GreasyCarb55 View Post
The W206 C-Class is the kind of car I would consider for my parents as they're chauffeur driven 85-90% of the time and for that I would pick the C220d, it's a worth upgrade over the C200 and it's puny 1.5L Engine (especially for a near 70 lakh OTR Mercedes) and being a 2.0 Diesel it offers adequate power and torque while keeping running costs low compared to a petrol.

And even this is a maybe as if I wanted a chauffeur driven car for my parents the top of the line Audi A4 Technology is about 8 lakh cheaper (OTR Bangalore) and that's before you consider the fat discounts on Audi has been giving out or maybe even the Toyota Camry Hybrid which is essentially a Lexus ES300h with more power and a 20 lakh discount plus it's more powerful than both the C220d and A4 Technology while also being the cheapest sedan here at 54.5 Lakh vs the A4 Technology and C220d which are 62.6 Lakh and 70.5 Lakh respectively.
Please do not consider C Class as a chauffeur driven car. The rear leg room is too little if the driver is over 5'10" and the under thigh support extremely minimal. It is a pain for an adult to sit any longer than 30 mins in the back.

C Class is out and out Sports Sedan meant for owner-drivers.
nareshtrao is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2022, 14:43   #18

Wouldn’t buy any Mercedes C class. In the next 5 years the next one will be close to 1 cr. Understood there is inflation but there are limits to taking people for fools. Looks like in the times to come BMW will overtake MB in sales in india. Suddenly beemers look value for money and they are more fun anyday. Bmw i4 pricing is an excellent hint of times to come for BMW prices. Also not to forget the better overall service costs and reliability. The higher dependency of parts from China over the last decade has made Mercs lose their otherwise bulletproof reliability.
KKapadia is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2022, 15:47   #19

Voted for c300d mostly because of the power on offer. May go for it if I am looking for diesel. If it is petrol, it has to be BMW M340i or 330i (MSport/ Sport).
Old 9th June 2022, 16:53   #20

Originally Posted by nareshtrao View Post

C Class is out and out Sports Sedan meant for owner-drivers.
Originally Posted by jbpanda View Post
Voted for c300d mostly because of the power on offer. May go for it if I am looking for diesel. If it is petrol, it has to be BMW M340i or 330i (MSport/ Sport).

Looks like the only enthusiasts that the C-Class will sell to are the very niche bunch who want a Diesel luxury sedan that is also a drivers car, the people who only want the snob value of having a 3 pointed star on their boot lid will buy the C200 or C220d.

Those looking for a drivers car would be better served by the 330i Sport which is vastly cheaper at around 60 Lakh compared to the C300d at 77 Lakh (OTR Bangalore) and the ones who do have 75-80 Lakh to spend on a drivers sedan would be better off spending the extra 5-6 Lakh for a M340i xDrive.

Those looking for a purely chauffeur driven car should probably consider something like the vastly cheaper Audi A4, Toyota Camry Hybrid (if they don't care about snob value) or the BMW 330Li Long Wheelbase (then you kill 2 birds with one stone for about the same price as the base C200)

Last edited by GreasyCarb55 : 9th June 2022 at 17:00.
GreasyCarb55 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th June 2022, 18:18   #21

The C300d is the most sensible package, without a doubt, given the pricing at this point. A cousin of mine is contemplating between the GLA 200, 220d and the AMG35 and I told him for his usage, he might as well go for the AMG version since the difference between the 220d 4Matic and the AMG35 isn't much. He did consider the C300d but he chose the GLA due to the increased ground clearance advantage, something that is highly important for Bangalore roads.
Old 9th June 2022, 20:47   #22

Originally Posted by prajnya View Post
But with the launch of the BMW i4, at that great pricing.
I would prefer to wait for some more time and pick up an EV.
Not to mention the 40% Depreciation set off on Income Tax for Business/Self employed people.
220D for chauffer driven? The under-thigh support is literally non-existent in the new C Class. Why do you suggest it as a chauffer-driven option without having tried it?
Old 12th June 2022, 20:30   #23

Originally Posted by techbro View Post
Why do you suggest it as a chauffer-driven option without having tried it?
The question is which C class, in which case the C220d is a good option to be driven around in.
Now the Superb / Camry / 3GL / ES / A6 are probably better chauffeur driven vehicles but Mercedes arguably has significantly better brand presence and desirability : for many in India if it has to be a luxury car, it has to be a Mercedes which is why they've been able to get away with higher maintenance costs, higher prices, lower equipment levels, etc.

Heck, in Mumbai it isn't uncommon to see the CLA, GLA, C, etc. being chauffeur driven around.
lamborghini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th August 2022, 10:07   #24

Amongst the options given, C300D any day. The car is a BLAST to drive. 265 hp and 550 nm translates to blistering performance. 0-100 kmph in just 5.8 seconds, and the car is much more engaging to drive than the C220D or the C200. Along with this monster of an engine, the AMG kit makes it a more compelling package as well. Like the others mentioned in the forum, if you’re not going to drive it yourself, then the C220D would be the more sensible choice as the 300D is a driver focused car and would require you to be behind the wheel and not in the back seat or chauffeur driven. The C220D is no slouch by the way, sprints from 0-100 kmph in 6.9 seconds which is pretty amazing for a 2.0 diesel. But leave the C200 out of the equation, won’t excite you as much as the other two and isn’t a great proposition to consider. But the C300D being around a whole 8 lacs costlier than the 330i, which offers the same performance on the road, would make the 330i a better option. And if you’re keen on the C220D, why don’t you consider the Superb/Octavia, being almost 30-40 lacs cheaper. They provide you with almost identical performance, more space and practicality, maybe the features on offer and the interiors might not be as compelling or luxurious as the Merc, but the superb/Octavia also shines when it comes to the cabin, and the interiors.