Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 15th July 2008, 00:12   #1
wilkin

Engine mods for 1.3 Honda City

Hi everyone...
I own a 1.3 honda city.
Could you please suggest me what kinda mods could i do to help me getting a better pick up.
I really feel the pick up lacks the punch needed..
Thanks ...

Old 15th July 2008, 11:36   #2

Hi Wilkin,

welcome aboard! The 1.3 Honda city is amongst the few fully square engines that are available today. Its a very good engine.
Getting to the answer of your question, you could probably do the following

1. Head porting and polishing
2. Bigger Thorttle body and intake
3. Performance filter, with a Cold Air Intake
4. You could probably shave ur head and bump up the compression a bit.
5. Get yourself a ECU.

This would be good enough for your car to be flying!

Shrey
Old 15th July 2008, 11:40   #3

Originally Posted by ssjr0498 View Post

1. Head porting and polishing
2. Bigger Thorttle body and intake
3. Performance filter, with a Cold Air Intake
4. You could probably shave ur head and bump up the compression a bit.
5. Get yourself a ECU.
Hmm add to it Headers + Free Flow exhausts
To a certain extent Iridium spark plugs
Old 15th July 2008, 12:46   #4

Yeah totally slipped outta my head!

Shrey

Originally Posted by sushrutha View Post
Hmm add to it Headers + Free Flow exhausts
To a certain extent Iridium spark plugs
Old 15th July 2008, 17:16   #5

Engine swap. All depends on budget though.
Old 15th July 2008, 19:15   #6

As many others have suggested getting FFE including headers along with an CAI filter would be an ideal way to go about the mods you have in mind. Also moving a bit further can also install triphase and Iridium spark plugs.
Go for upgradation in stages so that you can really enjoy and also experience the effects of these performance enhancement mods. All the best and there are numerous threads for your reference.
Old 15th July 2008, 22:15   #7

Get an FFE, header, CAI, MSD, larger throttle body, And a standalone engine management. If your looking for more serious performance, get a turbo, or as rohan suggested engine swap, [May be B16A].
Old 16th July 2008, 12:59   #8

shrey I have a question here, does the OHC 1.3 enuf juice in it ?Have driven a colleagues OHC 1.3 at office(you might have seen the car its a green colored one, ka-20 registered) and never felt that it had the punch.

I have oodles of respect for the Swift's for what it is capable of .However the OHC 1.3 still remains a question mark,have seldom seen OHC 1.3 perform exceptionally.Maybe with the mods it should be able too, I am yet to see one.
Old 16th July 2008, 15:15   #9

^ Possibly because most of the 1.3L OHC were bought by ppl who want FE, rather than zippyness.
And hence no one there to explore the possibilities and extent of the "punch" ... ?
Old 16th July 2008, 17:34   #10

the best VFM mod will be getting a 1.5!... 1.3 is no go. you are going to spend a lot on the mods listed above but a straight engine swap to 1.5 will be quicker/powerful/fun to drive etc etc
Old 17th July 2008, 11:41   #11

@ICEMAN
How much would a 1.5L engine cost in Bangalore ?
Old 18th July 2008, 12:52   #12

Post Deleted by the Team-BHP Support : SMS / Slang is STRICTLY prohibited on this community. We would much appreciate your using full & proper english in posts, for the benefit of other forum users.

Please view our board rules carefully before proceeding any further.

Last edited by GTO : 18th July 2008 at 19:17.
junior schumi is offline   Received Infraction
Old 21st July 2008, 14:36   #13
wilkin

1.3 city

Thanks a lot guys..
I appreciate you guys taking the time out to give your expert advice..

In one of the advice suggest by Dinar, whichwas to go for a engine swap..
Could you please tell me how much would that cost me, and were can i go for a swap in mumbai if i want too..engine options like B16..

In between could you guys tell me, mods like free flow, cold air filter of k&n affect on the FE of my car.. as of now my city gives me a avg of 10..

Thanks again for ur time and advice guys...

Old 21st July 2008, 15:26   #14

Originally Posted by wilkin View Post
In between could you guys tell me, mods like free flow, cold air filter of k&n affect on the FE of my car.. as of now my city gives me a avg of 10..

Are you sure it is 10? that sounds too low for a 1.3? Freeflow exhaust and a conical filter (K&N or Green) would only make it worse practically (theoratically it is said to give you better FE because of the low end torque, etc, but practically you would find it very hard to resist the temptation to floor the pedal )

With that FE, looks like the best way out for you is an engine swap, either with a 1.5 or Vtec (or) B16 if you can find a good tuner.
Old 21st July 2008, 22:39   #15

Originally Posted by wilkin View Post
Thanks a lot guys..
I appreciate you guys taking the time out to give your expert advice..

In one of the advice suggest by Dinar, whichwas to go for a engine swap..
Could you please tell me how much would that cost me, and were can i go for a swap in mumbai if i want too..engine options like B16..

There is an engine in the classifieds of the forum, check it out
Team-BHP Classifieds - B16A Engine for SALE - Powered by PhotoPost Classifieds
or else you cna improt one for around 2.5 lacs to 4lac.
but these engines need a lot of work as ecu is JDM and it restricted.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com