Team-BHP - Power Horns!

-   Modifications & Accessories (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifications-accessories/)
-   -   Power Horns! (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifications-accessories/9866-power-horns-62.html)

i think you need a compressor to run this.

Two horns that are kinda unique and loud without being pressure horns.

1)Hella Red Grill

2)Roots Vibrasonic

Both cost 1K+

Even I am assuming this. Can anyone please shed some light on where I can get this in Bangalore. Now that my thread has been merged, there goes visibility. But please help out guys

Originally Posted by mithun (Post 1901037)
The Hella representative is right to some point. Horns can go kaput if the relay is bad, but check the connections first.

Thanks for the response Mithun, & I got the connections checked again (had previously done that, sorry for not mentioning though) & they are fine. I had gone to the Hella service centre, & they checked it & said it's all good. But while on my way back, the problem reappeared. I will get in touch with Hella again tomorrow & see what they have to say now.

Although, with a horn that costed me 1K & coming from a company like Hella, it didn't live up to it's name. Let's now see if Hella lives up to it's words (of good service).

Regards.

Originally Posted by akshay4587 (Post 1904033)
Two horns that are kinda unique and loud without being pressure horns.

1)Hella Red Grill

2)Roots Vibrasonic

Both cost 1K+

Hey Akshay, I had been to the Hella service centre today & learnt about a Hella Yello Grill, they said it's new & similar to Red Grill, slightly lower output (of sound). Are you aware of it?

@MODS: I am sorry, but I forgot to use the multi-quote option & by the time I realized I had posted a second time consequtively. I am also unable to delete this post, don't know how to, so request you to kindly do the needful.

Originally Posted by CrAzY dRiVeR (Post 1901362)
Are these windtone horns legal? Or do they come in the banned category, like airhorns?

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/315214-post10.html

In the books, it's legal but it sounds like an air horn. So it's illegal(cop's version).

Originally Posted by narendra.vw (Post 1902856)
There is a contact point inside the horn for the electric circuit to be completed. They are made of copper. Some time, they get worn out due to life or defective wiring.These points can be replaced. I hope I cleared your doubt.

Thanks for the info !

I had the FIAM horn (skoda one) in Swift P. I sold the Swift P and bought Swift D. When I wanted to get the FIAM on my Swift D, it was told to go to MASS to install it by the car accessories guy, any reasons why?

Originally Posted by blackfire_9 (Post 1904791)
Hey Akshay, I had been to the Hella service centre today & learnt about a Hella Yello Grill, they said it's new & similar to Red Grill, slightly lower output (of sound). Are you aware of it?

@MODS: I am sorry, but I forgot to use the multi-quote option & by the time I realized I had posted a second time consequtively. I am also unable to delete this post, don't know how to, so request you to kindly do the needful.

@Prakhar,never heard of yellow grill,may be their grill is yellowlol:
i would recommend to stay away from hella,i have had a bad experience with Red grills and Windtone's of hella,both are allergic to water.

Originally Posted by akshay4587 (Post 1905357)
@Prakhar,never heard of yellow grill,may be their grill is yellowlol:
i would recommend to stay away from hella,i have had a bad experience with Red grills and Windtone's of hella,both are allergic to water.

Hey Akshay,

Well indeed, you got that right, I saw them & the grills are indeed yelow :D

Check them out some time, I think they could be rated a little lower than the Red Grills but they seemed perfect for city use.

As for the quality, I totally agree with you on that. Hellas are allergic to water, & in fact the dealer that I got it from, he had warned me about this. So, I try covering up the horns with a plastic sheet as much as possible before sending for a wash. Plus, I don't think any of the trumpet models from Hella are repairable, correct me if I am wrong.

Also, spoke to the Hella guy again today. I am going to their sevice centre tomorrow (which by the way is a small shop, with whom they have tied up). Lets see how it goes.

Take care.

Originally Posted by blackfire_9 (Post 1907037)
Hey Akshay,

Well indeed, you got that right, I saw them & the grills are indeed yelow :D

Check them out some time, I think they could be rated a little lower than the Red Grills but they seemed perfect for city use.

As for the quality, I totally agree with you on that. Hellas are allergic to water, & in fact the dealer that I got it from, he had warned me about this. So, I try covering up the horns with a plastic sheet as much as possible before sending for a wash. Plus, I don't think any of the trumpet models from Hella are repairable, correct me if I am wrong.

Also, spoke to the Hella guy again today. I am going to their sevice centre tomorrow (which by the way is a small shop, with whom they have tied up). Lets see how it goes.

Take care.

The ones that you have Prakhar they are not good with the splash of water the same is with the FIAM (KLEXON) and the BOSCH pair that i had. but you can just run them the way they are. and the water would dry up and it would work fine.. now when it comes to the horn shutting down its because of the heat. i have seen that the same is happening on the wagonr that i have if i keep the AC on while the car is stoped the horns start to act up. i think that changing the relay should take care of the problem. but i am having no problems with the FIAM on the bullet.

oh and in the wagon r i have the Mico Bosch F3

Originally Posted by desideep (Post 1907055)
The ones that you have Prakhar they are not good with the splash of water the same is with the FIAM (KLEXON) and the BOSCH pair that i had. but you can just run them the way they are. and the water would dry up and it would work fine.. now when it comes to the horn shutting down its because of the heat. i have seen that the same is happening on the wagonr that i have if i keep the AC on while the car is stoped the horns start to act up. i think that changing the relay should take care of the problem. but i am having no problems with the FIAM on the bullet.

oh and in the wagon r i have the Mico Bosch F3

Well, you are absolutely right about this observation (highlighted in bold). I had stated the exact same thing in my post previously where I shared this problem, I also find that the horn stops behaving (haha) in hot weather or in traffic or whenever the car engine area gets very hot. When the car gets moving, it works fine.

Well, whatever it is, I think I would still go ahead & see what Hella has to offer me tomorrow & it would be nice if they can provide a replacement for it with a brand new unit.

Take care.

Hey all,

Just wanted to update that I got a replacement for my Hellas today, & I am hoping that they would stay fine this time around.

Regards.

Got Bosch for the Fortuner,costs Rs.599 with 6 month warranty. Toyota has filmsy sounding horns hence I wanted something that sounded like the germans-Skoda,Merc, BMW.
I don't think the Bosch is an air pressure horn but it gets a similar sound and pretty damn loud !
Goes a long way in building the SUV's character further, help me bully smaller cars/autos easily.

Although I wouldn't recommend this horn for smaller cars, wouldn't really go with the image. I thought of fitting it in the Altis too but decided against it.

With whatever I am reading about Hella horns, I must admit that I'm very lucky.

My Red grills have served me for over 2 years in heat, rain, dust and grime without a hiccup. People who do not buy Hella are missing on something.

Originally Posted by ankitahuja (Post 1910678)
With whatever I am reading about Hella horns, I must admit that I'm very lucky.

My Red grills have served me for over 2 years in heat, rain, dust and grime without a hiccup. People who do not buy Hella are missing on something.

Ha Ankith.. you vouch for Hella and you sell me a Steble Nautclap:.
Your stebel has done its job for a good one year. Having small problems now with it. Will go for a hella as you recommended. Cheers:thumbs up.
Is PIAA sports horns available in India?