Old 15th June 2012, 15:28   #196

Re: The All New Bajaj Pulsar 200NS Unveiled! Update: Rs 84,096- ex showroom Pune

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
What part quality issues with the KTM specifically?
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...nership-2.html
Old 15th June 2012, 15:38   #197

Re: The All New Bajaj Pulsar 200NS Unveiled! Update: Rs 84,096- ex showroom Pune

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Yeah I've read the thread. The bike did not suit his style, he sold it off.

Where did you get the part of the "parts quality issues" is what I wanted to know.

Which parts? What quality issues?
Old 15th June 2012, 16:59   #198

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
Yeah I've read the thread. The bike did not suit his style, he sold it off.

Where did you get the part of the "parts quality issues" is what I wanted to know.

Which parts? What quality issues?
Originally Posted by darxide View Post
delivery....

i had vowed and fantasized about me ripping out and trashing that hideous tire hugger and front number plate the moment i got my hands on it so it was off to my favorite mechanics garage to do the needful. while inspecting-admiring-comparing/criticising the bike with my pals at the garage we were shocked to see several bolts and nuts that were loose and were on the verge of falling off.

loose fasteners at .... the gear lever bolt, the front axle (the ones at the lower end of the fork) 10mm bolt below the rear mudguard, clutch yoke needed immediate tightening since most of them were just "finger tight" maybe some techinians at bajaj have lost their tools and are fitting stuff on with bare hands!
Loose is what I meant. Maybe the workmanship is what I should have said.
Sorry about quoting wrongly.
Old 15th June 2012, 17:07   #199

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Loose is what I meant. Maybe the workmanship is what I should have said.
Sorry about quoting wrongly.
Yeah, those are all issues of assembly and QA/PDI in brand new bikes. Should not be happening, but not an issue of part quality per se.

If anything, most Duke owners are closely following reports of engine seizures coming in and wondering why those have started happening.

No news or explanation from the Bajaj/KTM side yet.
Old 15th June 2012, 17:12   #200

I just came back from Sai Service in Pune and there was a good enough stock of P200NS with them. I saw the 3 colours which were shown during launch - Red, Yellow and Blue. Paint job looked fine and the quality was also fine, though I could not get a closer look as it was raining.

The bike is not being delivered as it is awaiting an approval from RTO. This approval is required for the first time for all new bikes. There is no clarity on how many days it would take though.

The bike looks like a Pulsarised Duke 200

I snapped a photo, will post today evening...
Old 15th June 2012, 17:19   #201

Honestly very bike today can boast of very high quality if you leave the likes of R15.
I recently checked the CBR150 and to be brutally honest the part bins were nothing like a 1.3 lakh rupees bike. Yes the bike looks great and is a great piece of engineering but outright quality is missing. And its a Honda !!

Off topic :

Somehow I feel Duke 200 is the make or break bike for the brand KTM. Not interms of engineering but interms of quality and relability.
Since its the premium offering from Bajaj's stable it should establish itself as niggle free and top quality product to help its brand establishment.
It will help bajaj in the long run as they are thinking of bigger motorcycles from KTM stable which invariably may pit against the heavyweights.
Turbokick is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th June 2012, 22:48   #202

Now that Bajaj has announced the killer pricing, I am really interested in knowing another crucial aspect of it : How will the television ad of this rather important product be like ?
They cant afford to mess it up. In our crowded marketplace , tugging at their heart is tugging their wallets.

Bajaj is known to produce some pretty great ads for their bikes.

Originally Posted by Meer View Post
I snapped a photo, will post today evening...
Please do post sir!

Last edited by sajo : 18th June 2012 at 22:49.
Old 19th June 2012, 18:13   #203

Sorry Sajo, adding the photos now. Excuse me for the quality as it was taken by my phone and it was raining as well (2nd photo).

As you can see 1 obvious cost cutting is the centre stand. One area to look out for is the mono shock, with the kind of speed and cornering this devil is capable of and the Indian roads, it will be very busy

Personally, the bike looked small to me
The All New Bajaj Pulsar 200NS Unveiled! Update: Rs 84,096- ex showroom Pune-p200ns.jpg  

The All New Bajaj Pulsar 200NS Unveiled! Update: Rs 84,096- ex showroom Pune-p200ns2.jpg  

Old 19th June 2012, 22:51   #204

I strongly feel, that Bajaj would have had a total killer on their hands, had they put out a faired model first. Though this bike looks great, I still see people preferring the 180 (quite a few of my friends did), citing "substantial" mileage difference, and the looks, from certain quarters, did not seem that "unique". While it was a futile exercise trying to explain the difference between the DTS-i engine, and the KTM heart in this new Pulsar 200NS, considering the mass market, how much of a mark this new Pulsar leaves, is an interesting thing to be seen.

Otherwise, it's a great product, at killer pricing by Bajaj! One of the few Indian companies I truly respect.
Old 22nd June 2012, 19:49   #205

I saw a Red Pulsar NS today having a temp number plate. Looks like the delivery has started in Pune. First impressions anyone ?
Old 25th June 2012, 12:35   #206

Got a message from Jai Bajaj chennai we would get the chance to ride the bike soon. Called up the showroom and they said that the bike would be coming here by the 2nd week of July !
Also the price on road is 98000 which is 2000 more than Delhi and 4000 more than pune

Last edited by fiesta_21 : 25th June 2012 at 12:53.
Old 27th June 2012, 10:06   #207

Saw the Pulsar 200NS at Sai Service, Aundh, Pune. The bike looks awesome in flesh. Planning to book one. Bikes available off the shelf on temporary registration for full down payment. Price in PCMC Rs. 93,225/-

Test drove it. Initial observations:
Pros:
1) Build quality is way above the previous breed of Pulsars
2) It does run, that too fast
3) Rear disc brakes are progressive, hence minimal to nil chances of wheel locking
4) Mono shock is very good.
5) Gear shifts are smooth. No false neutrals
6) Upright seating position.

Cons
1) No centre stand, but the bike has provision to fit one later.
2) No kick start, only self start
3) Rear mud-guard doesn't serve the purpose completely, the rear tyre does spray mud & water.
4) Pillion seat is perched up high

Overall I am impressed given the features on offer and the price point.
Happy Biking.
heartonwheelz is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th June 2012, 10:14   #208

Had seen a black pulsar 200NS at sai service, Borivali (E) when I had taken my car for servicing.
Must admit that the bike looks muscular. Good stance, though the front looks a bit small and the rear looks like Pulsar 135.
The fuel tank looks awesome while sitting on the bike and provides a good riding posture too.
Didn't take a test ride but was impressed with the looks of the bike. Though there were some panel gaps visible.
Old 30th June 2012, 11:35   #209

Originally Posted by Meer View Post
As you can see 1 obvious cost cutting is the centre stand.
Originally Posted by heartonwheelz View Post
Cons
1) No centre stand, but the bike has provision to fit one later.
I am actually surprised at this. Check out the pre-production model in this post. It does have a center stand here. Wonder why Bajaj chose to drop it in the final product?
Old 1st July 2012, 11:19   #210

Looks like a killer machine... When are the deliveries starting for this one?
waiting for a ownership review on TBHP.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com