Old 9th April 2013, 11:55   #16

re: Pulsar 180 - Unpredictably rough <-> smooth engine behaviour

Originally Posted by ashis89 View Post
You can upsize to old P200 jets or the P220 jets for your P180. I have a 8 month old P180 and believe me I am facing the same music since it was 1 month old.

But yes, redlining it a few times or long ride does open up the engine in a very good way and improves the throttle response. It may be the same harsh story the next day but instantly you get a smoother better performing engine. The downside is, P180's FE is exponentially related to throttle input. Redlining might drop the FE to an extent.

Over and above these points, do get your chain checked for slack/dryness as it is also responsible for a smooth pickup/ride. Pulsar chain needs regular attention.
I will think of up-sizing to P200 jet during next service. Power wise i am satisfied. Bike hits 110 kmph with ease.

If he existing jet is clogged wont the performance drastically come down?

Chain part- i got the bike serviced only a couple of weeks ago so now its good. Thanks for the suggestion, i will get the chain adjusted frequently.

I think all carb bike's FE is exponentially related to throttle
Old 9th April 2013, 12:02   #17

re: Pulsar 180 - Unpredictably rough <-> smooth engine behaviour

Bought the 180dtsi V1 in 2004 an still have it (amongst others). I would be suggesting on the same line as other Pulsar owners of similar generation bikes. No matter what you do, you will not have a Unicorn'ish experience. However upgrading the engine oil, spark plugs, Air filter and keeping the clutch plates and de carboning in check can help substantially.

Petronas synthetic has worked well on my bike for many years, but cant find the same oil anymore. Its close to a lac kms now.
Old 12th April 2013, 09:12   #18

Re: Pulsar 180 - Unpredictably rough <-> smooth engine behaviour

An update. I switched over to shell unleaded, one day before i posted this issue. I had filled up for 3 lts . After about 100 kms , i started feeling that the smoothness has increased a bit. So was sure that shell made some difference. Went ahead and tanked up completely with shell normal petrol! Voila - the bike's character has changed by leaps and bounds. The engine is lot smoother.The jerkiness in acceleration in 2,3,4 gear is reduced quite a bit! And the engine feels good over-all. Wondering why i did not switch to shell earlier

Hopefully this smoothness will continue. Will update this thread once i complete about 1000 kms on Shell to verify if the change is indeed permanent!

Thanks for the suggestions guys!
Old 29th April 2019, 11:17   #19

Have a Pulsar 180 that I bought in 2008. The bike has run only about 57000km, most of it in the city. My monthly usage is only about 500km and only for the office commute, about 10km one way. The bike is drinking oil like crazy and there is noticeable oil leak from the engine. The service center guys are advising engine work to the tune of 11k. Pretty puzzling because I've never abused the bike and coming from 2-strokes, I've always watched the oil levels and have topped up regularly. Also made it a point to get the bike serviced every 2500km. I know Bajaj bikes are not really lifers, but still, engine overhaul at 57k seems odd. My RE is doing great with a similar number of kms (and I'm not really an RE fan), and I remember my Shogun too was ok engine-wise at 50k-odd km.

Any thoughts from owners? Is this just a Bajaj Pulsar characteristic?

Also, am certainly going to go for a new bike in a year or two, so does it make sense to just limp along with the bike in it's present form, or go in for the engine repair work? Thanks for your time.

Last edited by am1m : 29th April 2019 at 11:18.
Old 29th April 2019, 13:56   #20

Originally Posted by am1m View Post
Have a Pulsar 180 that I bought in 2008. The bike has run only about 57000km, most of it in the city. My monthly usage is only about 500km and only for the office commute, about 10km one way. The bike is drinking oil like crazy and there is noticeable oil leak from the engine. The service center guys are advising engine work to the tune of 11k. Pretty puzzling because I've never abused the bike and coming from 2-strokes, I've always watched the oil levels and have topped up regularly. Also made it a point to get the bike serviced every 2500km. I know Bajaj bikes are not really lifers, but still, engine overhaul at 57k seems odd. My RE is doing great with a similar number of kms (and I'm not really an RE fan), and I remember my Shogun too was ok engine-wise at 50k-odd km.

Also, am certainly going to go for a new bike in a year or two, so does it make sense to just limp along with the bike in it's present form, or go in for the engine repair work? Thanks for your time.
Hi am1m,

I have the same bike and sort of similar mileage but have never faced the aforementioned problems. Regarding the oil leak, is it like a smear near the top of the cylinder? I have experienced that and the showroom guys were unable to fix it. Fortunately, I am friends with a guy who is a Pulsar specialist and belongs to the first batch of people who got trained to service the first gen Pulsar, so he knows the bike in and out. He fixed it for me as he now runs his own garage.

If the smear is the problem, they had the cylinder head cover removed and applied some kind of sealant. Left it to dry for few hours and it solved the issue. I am not sure regarding the oil usage issue but do get it checked at a good FNG.

I have pampered my bike a lot and have used Castrol Power 1 Racing and Magnatec for regular changes around 4500~ kms (even though the retailer quotes 8k kms of interval). These have helped me in maintaining the bike and she still runs smooth.

aghate
aghate is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2019, 14:02   #21

Originally Posted by aghate View Post
Regarding the oil leak, is it like a smear near the top of the cylinder?
More like a continuous oil leak. And there is definitely oil burning smoke from the exhaust, so looks like the bore needs work for sure. Took the bike to two different service centers and both said the same thing. Pretty surprised that engine work is required so quick, compared to my experience with other bikes. But it is what it is I guess. Thanks for your response!

Last edited by am1m : 29th April 2019 at 14:04.
Old 29th April 2019, 14:16   #22

More like a continuous oil leak. And there is definitely oil burning smoke from the exhaust, so looks like the bore needs work for sure. Took the bike to two different service centers and both said the same thing. Pretty surprised that engine work is required so quick, compared to my experience with other bikes. But it is what it is I guess. Thanks for your response!
To be honest I am surprised as well. I assume that you are a sedate rider and not giving it the beans all the time, it does feel weird that the oil issue has come up. Nevertheless, if it does cost you a lot to get it fixed I would suggest you to go with a new bike in the near future if the finances permit.

All the best and do let me know if the issue gets fixed.
aghate is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2019, 14:21   #23

Have a Pulsar 180 that I bought in 2008. The bike has run only about 57000km, most of it in the city. My monthly usage is only about 500km and only for the office commute, about 10km one way. The bike is drinking oil like crazy and there is noticeable oil leak from the engine. The service center guys are advising engine work to the tune of 11k.

Where is the oil leak. Leaks can be easily fixed by an competent mechanic.

If you are planning to go for new bike soon then do not go for engine rebuild. It is not worth it. Use a affordable engine oil and keep topping the engine oil when the level goes low.
sagarpadaki is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2019, 14:56   #24

Originally Posted by aghate View Post
Nevertheless, if it does cost you a lot to get it fixed I would suggest you to go with a new bike in the near future if the finances permit.
Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
If you are planning to go for new bike soon then do not go for engine rebuild. It is not worth it. Use a affordable engine oil and keep topping the engine oil when the level goes low.
Yes, this is my plan now. Intend to buy a new commuter bike (hopefully electric) to replace the Pulsar next year. And a new highway bike after that to replace the Bullet as well. So till then the Pulsar will be used only for the daily commute, so topping up oil and riding is what I intend to do. Thanks for your replies!
Old 29th April 2019, 15:22   #25

Yes, this is my plan now. Intend to buy a new commuter bike (hopefully electric) to replace the Pulsar next year. And a new highway bike after that to replace the Bullet as well. So till then the Pulsar will be used only for the daily commute, so topping up oil and riding is what I intend to do. Thanks for your replies!
If the motorcycle is burning oil then it's irresponsible to keep running as such, as unlike leaks, oil burning can cause serious inconveniences to children and fellow commuters alike.

New set of rings, seals and lathe work would cost you under or around 1k at best.

Cheers and Ride Responsibly.
A.P.
ashwinprakas is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th April 2019, 15:29   #26

Originally Posted by ashwinprakas View Post
If the motorcycle is burning oil then it's irresponsible to keep running as such, as unlike leaks, oil burning can cause serious inconveniences to children and fellow commuters alike
Good point, thank you! I never thought of this.

It's not a continuous burning smell or extra exhaust gases so far. It was noticed when the mechanic revved extra hard to check. On my normal ride, I haven't noticed anything extra in terms of exhaust, either in smell or extra white smoke. Does it still make sense to top up oil and continue then? Plus the bike recently passed the PUC inspection. Would appreciate your input here. The new rings and seals is a good suggestion, will talk to the mechs.

I can also certainly bring my bike purchase plans forward, but was hoping that the initial niggles with the Ather e-bike would be sorted out by next year and wanted to wait till then.
am1m is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2019, 15:33   #27

If the motorcycle is burning oil then it's irresponsible to keep running as such, as unlike leaks, oil burning can cause serious inconveniences to children and fellow commuters alike.

New set of rings, seals and lathe work would cost you under or around 1k at best.

Cheers and Ride Responsibly.
A.P.
My pulsar 180 UG3 has a similar oil consumption problem. No white smoke from exhaust. Just excessive oil consumption. Have replaced the bore-piston kit twice with new valves and valve lapping each time.Once @ 40K odd kms and another at 80K odd kms to arrest this problem. No avail. The engine still consumes 300ml of oil every 1000 kms. The engine performance is great . Mileage is decent. Hence have decided to live with it. The bike is now @ 1.1Lakh kms
sagarpadaki is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 29th April 2019, 18:11   #28

Good point, thank you! I never thought of this.

It's not a continuous burning smell or extra exhaust gases so far. It was noticed when the mechanic revved extra hard to check. On my normal ride, I haven't noticed anything extra in terms of exhaust, either in smell or extra white smoke. Does it still make sense to top up oil and continue then? Plus the bike recently passed the PUC inspection. Would appreciate your input here. The new rings and seals is a good suggestion, will talk to the mechs.

I can also certainly bring my bike purchase plans forward, but was hoping that the initial niggles with the Ather e-bike would be sorted out by next year and wanted to wait till then.
My pulsar 180 UG3 has a similar oil consumption problem. No white smoke from exhaust. Just excessive oil consumption. Have replaced the bore-piston kit twice with new valves and valve lapping each time.Once @ 40K odd kms and another at 80K odd kms to arrest this problem. No avail. The engine still consumes 300ml of oil every 1000 kms. The engine performance is great . Mileage is decent. Hence have decided to live with it. The bike is now @ 1.1Lakh kms
Thumb rule I follow is to swipe my finger around the inside of the exhaust tip, if I find wet oil then I'd evaluate and go for a rebuild.

If PCV isnt spewing oil then it's simply the valve stem oil seals, would get a new set of rings(not necessary, but you're taking the head off anyways), a new valve kit and rebuild the head.

Had recently done the same on a Hero Honda Xtreme, the only expensive part about this is the lathe charges.

Oil depletion is normal and inevitable, even my 40k+ old P220 looses about 300+ml every 2k km's, the only reason I do not contemplate a rebuild is because, in spite of head-leaks putting RE's to shame, the Exhaust tip is as dry as the day I brought her home.

At the same time the project bike we got is a ZMA which has around 50k on the odo, but gives me an asthma attack if I dare turn her on and consumes oil like crazy and I mean 400ml per 100kms crazy, so there was no question about taking her apart.

Hence I believe it's your call to make, if minor and doesn't pose breathing difficulties and the consumption is negligible then all is well.

On a lighter note, I've had friends and fellow enthusiasts(2 people to be exact, different bikes but from the same manufacturer) who've contemplated rebuilds when their respective motorcycles lost 50~100ml on draining, need I say more that they were riding Japs.

A.P.
ashwinprakas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th April 2019, 09:22   #29

Thumb rule I follow is to swipe my finger around the inside of the exhaust tip, if I find wet oil then I'd evaluate and go for a rebuild.

If PCV isnt spewing oil then it's simply the valve stem oil seals, would get a new set of rings(not necessary, but you're taking the head off anyways), a new valve kit and rebuild the head.

A.P.
Well, the exhaust tip on my bike is bone dry. I wonder where all the oil goes!

I do not know if the valve stem oil seals were changed or not when the head was overhauled twice as part of the bore and piston kit replacement. If it is a SOP then the mechanic might have done it. I am not sure though!
sagarpadaki is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 30th April 2019, 10:24   #30

Well, the exhaust tip on my bike is bone dry. I wonder where all the oil goes!
Ditto here, checked yesterday and this morning after riding. So bike is not polluting unnecessarily I guess. That's a relief!

in spite of head-leaks putting RE's to shame,
Haha, that describes it perfectly (and I have an RE too along with the leaky Pulsar).

But still a bit odd this increased oil consumption thing on engines at 50k km. Would be good to find out more.

Last edited by am1m : 30th April 2019 at 10:27.