Old 12th July 2014, 20:56   #1

Suzuki Let's Scooter: 110cc segment contender

Folks! It is believed that Suzuki is making it's foray in the highly competitive 110cc 2-wheeler segment with it's latest product "Let's"

Here are some pics of the upcoming suzuki 2-wheeler.

Suzuki Let's Scooter: 110cc segment contender-19062_03_468x263.jpg

Suzuki Let's Scooter: 110cc segment contender-19064_04_468x263.jpg

Suzuki Let's Scooter: 110cc segment contender-19070_05_468x263.jpg

Suzuki Let's Scooter: 110cc segment contender-19072_img_5133_468x263.jpg

Suzuki Let's Scooter: 110cc segment contender-19074_img_5142_468x263.jpg

Suzuki Let's Scooter: 110cc segment contender-19076_img_5146_468x263.jpg

Suzuki Let's Scooter: 110cc segment contender-19078_img_5151_468x263.jpg

Pic Credit: http://overdrive.in/bike-album/suzuk...2014-exterior/

Last edited by ad3952n : 14th July 2014 at 16:36. Reason: Edited as per suggestion by mods.
ad3952n is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th July 2014, 10:08   #2

Re: Suzuki Let's Scooter: 110cc segment contender

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the 2-wheelers Section. Thanks for sharing!
Old 15th July 2014, 10:17   #3

Who coins these totally illogical names?

Let's: Sounds pretty indecent. Sort of Come on, Let's DO IT!!

Some other absolutely shocking name revelations:

1) Skoda- Laura(Obvious)
2) Fiat -Palio( for those who think why, Palio in my language-Bengali means RUN). Guess that's why every one ran!!
3) Wagon R-Stingray: Why??
4) Grand i10: Again, could we coin some thing better??
arnabchak is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th July 2014, 11:07   #4

Looks wise its no different from the existing Access or Swish of the Suzuki stable. Lets is an entry level scooter by Suzuki in the 110 cc category. Characterized by smaller fuel tank, lesser weight, telescopic front suspensions and priced reasonably lesser than siblings, Lets should be more attractive for the fairer sex and the college going teens.

@Arnab - Actually the Suzuki tagline for the scooter is "Lets Karte hain"
ghodlur is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th July 2014, 11:21   #5

The one thing that makes me angry is why is the Indian customer fed so many scooters with the same design ?

Apart from some minor changes, almost all are the same looking scooters !! What is the matter with them, why does everyone have to run in the same single direction seeing a particular vehicles success.

Just different stickers and they tag it male or female or young or old generation.

There were times when one could differentiate a Vespa from a Chetak and the iconic lamby. All were successful during their times.
The Great is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th July 2014, 11:58   #6

@Arnab - Actually the Suzuki tagline for the scooter is "Lets Karte hain"[/quote]

Wow!! I had just posted it and didnt even realise that I could have well been on the Suzuki marketing team

Fantastic!! So much for Indian senses and sensibilities!!!

"Lets Karte Hain!!!!"
Old 15th July 2014, 12:09   #7

Originally Posted by The Great View Post
The one thing that makes me angry is why is the Indian customer fed so many scooters with the same design ?
Kinetic tried doing that with the BLAZE. But the result was not so good for the company. Actually the masses like a certain sort of styling. So these manufacturers stick to a specific design philoshophy. One that pleases most and offends none.

P.S. I have a Blaze and simply love the feeling of owning something totally different
amansanc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th July 2014, 16:26   #8

Folks! Here is the specification list of the Suzuki Let's:

Suzuki Let's Scooter: 110cc segment contender-suzukiletsspecs.jpg

Pic Source: https://www.google.co.in/search?q=su...h=624#imgdii=_

ad3952n is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th July 2014, 16:40   #9

I have a question. Please let me know one thing. The spec sheet posted by AD above shows the engine to be 4S, 1 Cyl, 2 Valve, SOHC.

In the SOHC design, the valves are operated through an overhead camshaft whose movement is obtained by a timing chain. So, do these smaller engines have timing chains? I have seen many bike engines specs on paper as SOHC/ OHC. So, do these little engines have timing chains inside?

I am asking it because I have never seen or heard about any failure related to timing chains in such engines. Please enlighten me on this issue.

saket77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th July 2014, 20:15   #10

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
I have a question. Please let me know one thing. The spec sheet posted by AD above shows the engine to be 4S, 1 Cyl, 2 Valve, SOHC.

In the SOHC design, the valves are operated through an overhead camshaft whose movement is obtained by a timing chain. So, do these smaller engines have timing chains? I have seen many bike engines specs on paper as SOHC/ OHC. So, do these little engines have timing chains inside?

I am asking it because I have never seen or heard about any failure related to timing chains in such engines. Please enlighten me on this issue.

Yes all these modern four stroke engines have timing chanins. The chains are quite reliable in design and hardly break, but there have been failures related to chain tension adjuster (Karizma) etc.

The chains taughtness is maintained by two pads which require replacement after a long period and one need to adjust the chain tightness by adjusting these pads. Normally these chains are on one side of the engine.
For most of the engines its the left side when facing driving direction.
amit_purohit20 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th July 2014, 20:38   #11

Originally Posted by amit_purohit20 View Post
Yes all these modern four stroke engines have timing chanins.
Thanks a ton for the explanation. I will do further research into this. I used to think that the 2 wheelers in this segment including most of the bikes this side of the lakh had an OHV design sans the timing chain.

Saket
saket77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2015, 15:12   #12

Dear Fellow TeamBhpians & Moderators,

Request you to kindly guide me if possible on buying a new gearless scooter so that me/sister both can use it. Sister has a pleasure, but too many issues with startup + it wont turn easily in small diameter range (don't know the technical word for this).

I took a test drive of Suzuki Lets the 110cc model recently. W/o accessories it comes for 54K around. I was kinda okay with the bike actually -
  1. looks wise OK. Very much a copy of the old Kinetic Pride! I owned one in my college days (white it was).
  2. Handle was pretty loose / light wieght to operate.
  3. Mirrors - not good for height above 5.4. Small ones.. wierdo
  4. Noise during pickup - very less. Softer than Pleasure.
  5. Storage below seat - not good. Kinda small. Only for helmet.
  6. Front shape - Looks like paisa bachao / cost cutting done by company in the name of "large foot rest" blah blah blah
  7. Turning Diameter - MUCH MUCH better than pleasure >> I loved this feature. I could take a full u turn or round turn so easily without putting lets down.
  8. Mileage Claims - 55+ to 60 KMPL appx. as mentioned by salesman
  9. Shock of life - Battery Issue. - see below
  10. kicks Startup - Shocking experience - see below
  11. Startup Issues - YES
  12. Sidestand Kick - Not possible, only puton main stand to start.
All seemed hunky-dory until I took a test ride at the second showroom in the city, it was a shock! The battery was drained out or maybe some issue. It needed atleast 8 kicks to start. While riding, as I slowed down, the biked went off... He said accelerator full rakho.. iska battery weak hai sir.

Only way to start was put on main stand and kick. And when its on main stand and you accerate, the bike will simply move behind almost one feet. Which means something about the stand is too weak ? This never happens with our pleasure, my neightbours Maestro (which needs 8-kicks to start during non-summer period) or my one of my oldie-goldie Kinetic Hondas (which starts in maximum 2 kicks with the choke on) either.

One more thing, with weak battery even the horn won't work. Thats sounds like curse on for the driver... lol. This is Mahrashtra and we surely have dangerous auto-wallas who need a "beep beep" to stay focused on their rear-view mirror & save yourself. Other bikes do have a backup I guess.

Could someone who has tried or known others having this bike also share their words of wisdom or experiences as well if you can. Or If you can recommend this v/s Suzuki Access (used or new) v/s something else.

I am not keen on Mahindra brand at all. Either honda or suzuki. Really look forward to your kind advise.

Thanks & Regards
Old 2nd March 2015, 16:18   #13

Originally Posted by TheLeapYearGuy View Post
Could someone who has tried or known others having this bike also share their words of wisdom or experiences as well if you can. Or If you can recommend this v/s Suzuki Access (used or new) v/s something else.

I am not keen on Mahindra brand at all. Either honda or suzuki. Really look forward to your kind advise.
It seems that your test drive experience on the scooter was a disaster with a poorly maintained scooter offered for the TD. Either ask the dealer to provide a a better scooter or look for different dealer.

There would be hardly any difference between the Access and Lets in terms of the build and driving experience. If this test drive has left a bitter taste, look out for better options in the market. Check out the Gearless scooter thread on the forum for posting any queries related to scooters.
ghodlur is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th March 2015, 11:04   #14

I tried to locate that specific category (thread) but in vain. And the one which had most recent conversations was this one - where the specific bike was mentioned too.

While I totally accept and agree with your solution to test drive elsewhere, which infact is what already happened ; the horror show was at second test drive ... lol that too on a new bike which was labelled TEST DRIVE ont he number plate.

Now the major concern is which gearless scooter will have horn available without battery or when it drains out. And most importantly, lesser kicks to start esp in winter months. We are sick of the Honda Pleasure startup problems despite spending 3000 to the showroom for so called "fix it ups".

Dear Ghodlur

Thank you for your guidance, I got the thread.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com