Old 5th June 2008, 18:23   #391

yamaha claims that this is for india super bike series but i think yamaha making fool out of us.
Old 5th June 2008, 18:51   #392

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
22bhp and 120kg! This is interesting. Wont it be heavier with all those body kit?
A yamaha R1 with huge tyres and 1000cc engine is 175 kg's dry... I wouldnt be surprised if this is 120 kgs.
Old 5th June 2008, 19:22   #393

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
A yamaha R1 with huge tyres and 1000cc engine is 175 kg's dry... I wouldnt be surprised if this is 120 kgs.
Different parts bin make a big difference. They wont be manufacturing the R15 with those light weight materials etc as R1 has for sure.

But if it indeed is true, then its a rocket!
Old 5th June 2008, 20:02   #394

Originally Posted by vabs78 View Post
What is your source mate?
Everyone here is saying that the bike is 17-18bhp.
Vabs,

I have a friend who works for Yamaha Motors who tested R15 in April 08.
He had then tested 2 versions of the bike one with 23 BHP which was very difficult to control and the other with 21bhp which was good .
He told me he went upto 148kmph with the 21bhp.
I hope the specs he gave me were true

Here are some pics
Yamaha R15 get ready india! EDIT...now launched at 97K-r15front.jpg  

Yamaha R15 get ready india! EDIT...now launched at 97K-r15close.jpg  

Yamaha R15 get ready india! EDIT...now launched at 97K-r15engine.jpg  

Yamaha R15 get ready india! EDIT...now launched at 97K-deltaboxframe.jpg  

Yamaha R15 get ready india! EDIT...now launched at 97K-monoshck1.jpg  

Yamaha R15 get ready india! EDIT...now launched at 97K-r15radiator.jpg  

Old 5th June 2008, 23:52   #395

Originally Posted by maxj2005 View Post
He had then tested 2 versions of the bike one with 23 BHP which was very difficult to control and the other with 21bhp which was good .

Here are some pics
I hope what you said is true and hope the 17 bhp & 1.05 lakh thing is a hoax.
I was looking forward to buying this one, if it were 22 bhp and around 80K.

They can prolly launch the 23 bhp one with a broader rear tyre as a sports model
Old 6th June 2008, 03:40   #396

bikes like these should have been here in India by now, some how all the two wheeler giants here think of here is selling in numbers.

i will definitely sell my unicorn and buy this one if all the info posted here is true.

hope it definitely is!
Old 6th June 2008, 11:47   #397

Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
I hope what you said is true and hope the 17 bhp & 1.05 lakh thing is a hoax.
I was looking forward to buying this one, if it were 22 bhp and around 80K.

They can prolly launch the 23 bhp one with a broader rear tyre as a sports model
Well I dont know about the bhp part but the pricing surely is not a hoax. The advertisement board outside the yamaha showroom says that booking for R15 is open and the price is around 1 lakh, so 1.05 lakh surely seems like the right news.
Old 6th June 2008, 12:03   #398

Originally Posted by akshat View Post
Well I dont know about the bhp part but the pricing surely is not a hoax. The advertisement board outside the yamaha showroom says that booking for R15 is open and the price is around 1 lakh, so 1.05 lakh surely seems like the right news.
Whats the booking amount? When do they say they will release the specs?
Old 6th June 2008, 12:59   #399

Originally Posted by sids911 View Post
Whats the booking amount? When do they say they will release the specs?
Specs will be released on 12th and bike will be launched on 14th!!
Old 6th June 2008, 13:04   #400

Yamaha launching R15 on June 11th

Yamaha set to launch India-specific sports bikes- Auto-Specials-The Economic Times
And more to come!!
Old 6th June 2008, 14:26   #401

Waiting eagerly man..if the price is right will sell my p180 and go for it. btw i heard the launch is on 11..when do u expect the bikes to land up at the showrooms.??
Old 6th June 2008, 16:03   #402

Typical question asked to any new bike owner on Indian roads, "Boss, average kya hai?". With petrol prices going through the roof expect this question to be asked with increasing regularity!!
I have heard rumours of the bike delivering an average between 35-40, which in my opinion, is very good for the specs the bike is offering
Old 6th June 2008, 19:16   #403

Some Video's of Yamaha R15 I found on You tube.

Yamaha R15 Startup
http://www.youtube.com/v/YC_imvlf2Pk&hl=en

R15 On Road

http://www.youtube.com/v/BUFHaaiWgrk&hl=en
Old 6th June 2008, 21:31   #404

Some Video's of Yamaha R15 I found on You tube.
Thanks very much for those links. The first time, hearing the R15 firing up. Surprisingly, it sounds very unrefined for a Yamaha.

But what is expected, is its road presence in the highway. Its a class apart from anything on Indian roads!

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 6th June 2008 at 21:33.
Old 7th June 2008, 12:39   #405

Vabs,

I have a friend who works for Yamaha Motors who tested R15 in April 08.

Here are some pics
Thanks Max. Hope your info is correct.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com