(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-
Motorbikes
(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorbikes/)
Originally Posted by aviator1101
(Post 3730408)
Hello
The bullet bug seems to have bitten me as well. So, after a long search, I,ve managed to lay my hands on an Electra 5S with front drum brakes. The owner quoted 75k initially but I managed to get him down to 65K. Its a 2007model and is supposed to have done around 15000 kms only. Is 65k ok price for a 2007 electra 5S with left gear and front drum brakes? Pl advice bullet gurus. |
Mate Bullet bug is unlike anyother bug it is persisting and doesn't let one sleep unless one has bought one. Well the motorcycle you have mentioned is the rare model RE Electra with 5 speed transmission. I am not sure if a 2007 model came with a drum brake, I believe it has to be disc brake. My old AVL Thunderbird 350 2004 model has a disc brake setup. I believe Electra also had a electric starter. Kindly verify these details before buying it. Also remember to show it to a known mechanic to pass it while you carry out some basic observations like paint quality, dents, oil leaks, etc. The price you have mentioned is not very high and not very low, so tread carefully before you seal the deal.
After I found this bike, I saw one more 2008 Electra 5S with alloy wheels, no disc or elect start. Seems well maint and owner is quoting 65k again. Is it worth?
(Post 3731133)
After I found this bike, I saw one more 2008 Electra 5S with alloy wheels, no disc or elect start. Seems well maint and owner is quoting 65k again. Is it worth? |
1. Finally purchased the Nov 2008 Electra 4S with CI engine. It has drum brakes and without Electric Start. But, that classic feel of the right hand gear and the thump of the CI engine is something that is priceless. Paid 65000/- Post purchase got the following done :-
(a) Exchanged the mod silencer with an original one - Rs 600/-
(b) Engine oil and oil filter - 950/-
(c) Leg Guard - Rs 500/-
(d) Exchanged existing handlebar for one with weights - 300/-
(e) Front fork servicing - Rs 1000/-
(f) Gear box,chain, suspension greasing - Rs 500/-
2. Planning the following next month :-
(a) Replacing the seat with Classic style split seats
(b) Painting it in sand paint
3. Bullet gurus can please guide for any further modifications.please:
(Post 3735703)
1. Finally purchased the Nov 2008 Electra 4S with CI engine. |
Congrats on purchasing RE Bullet Electra. I always feel Bullet Electra gives a rider best of both, i.e. sorted and plush suspension, CDI ignition which is relatively reliable and trouble free and lastly old Standard CI regal looks. The round chrome mudguards gives the Electra a distinct identity. Although I am not sure why you got a 2008 model without front disc brake and electric start. Anyways now that you have it enjoy it.
Bullet gurus can please guide for any further modifications.please:
|
The modifications or rather servicing you have done shows that you are on right track. I would suggest ride the motorcycle for some time and gradually modify it to your taste. As it is a second hand motorcycle let it sort itself out within your first year of ownership. What I mean is you have to be ready to spend some cash and time on its upkeep as it is a used motorcycle. This comes from my experience of owning and using three used RE motorcycles. Also get it painted after monsoon gets over. I would suggest you to continue with the factory fitted stepped up seat as it is the most comfortable for long rides as well as city rides. If you want to go for split seats then go for custom made ones that will make your ride a pleasant experience. I would also suggest you to retrofit a front disc brake as it will give you a better stopping power and safety.
You got a nice deal, keep her well and she will delight you with her thump and rolling characteristics. :thumbs up
(Post 3735703)
It has drum brakes and without Electric Start. |
It is good. It may cause maintenance issues in an old bike. Electric starters are always notorious in REs.
(Post 3735703)
(b) Engine oil and oil filter - 950/- |
Which engine oil you have poured?
(Post 3735703)
2. Planning the following next month :-
(b) Painting it in sand paint / |
IMPO, It will spoil the look. Bike will look like it has been picked from army auction and then assembled. If original paint is good, live with it.
(Post 3735703)
3. Bullet gurus can please guide for any further modifications.please: |
Wait man. First get tuned yourself according to bullet.
Originally Posted by navin_v8
(Post 3736067)
CDI ignition which is relatively reliable and trouble free |
Are you sure 2008 model electra was having CDI and not the Transistors?
Originally Posted by (Alok)
(Post 3740214)
Are you sure 2008 model electra was having CDI and not the Transistors? |
Well the absence of front disc brake and electric starter made me think this particular model would have come with CDI. RE somewhere in 2004-2005 made a transition from CDI to TCI as far as I know. I have a 2004 AVL Thunderbird 350 which came with a CDI. But I think this 2008 model electra would be having a TCI. aviator1101 can you confirm this?
The 2008 Electra has a TCI ignition.
CDI system was discontinued from the introduction of the 2004 Electra which was also when gas shocks were introduced.
My knowledge about the issue is very limited. How do I make out by looking at it whether it is TCI or CDI?
(Post 3743756)
My knowledge about the issue is very limited. How do I make out by looking at it whether it is TCI or CDI? |
It is easier to make out a CDI or a TCI unit in a Thunderbird AVL 350 thanks to the stamping of TCI inside the rpm meter in the instrument cluster. No such indication on Electra, but as mentioned all models (except Standard CI) post 2004 came with a TCI unit. Since your's is a 2008 model Electra it must be having a TCI unit.
(Post 3743756)
My knowledge about the issue is very limited. How do I make out by looking at it whether it is TCI or CDI? |
(Post 3744044)
It is easier to make out a CDI or a TCI unit in a Thunderbird AVL 350 thanks to the stamping of TCI inside the rpm meter in the instrument cluster. No such indication on Electra, but as mentioned all models (except Standard CI) post 2004 came with a TCI unit. Since your's is a 2008 model Electra it must be having a TCI unit. |
The clutch case Cover is the differentiator. The picture above on this page is a TCI. The CDI would have a clutch case which has a circle with Royal Enfield etched on it.
Like the one in pic;
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...please-84.html
Post 1249
Originally Posted by tharian
(Post 3744192)
The clutch case Cover is the differentiator. The picture above on this page is a TCI. The CDI would have a clutch case which has a circle with Royal Enfield etched on it. |
Nice observation but I have seen post 2004 AVL Tbird or even AVL Machismo having TCI units with a similar clutch case as yours.
(Post 3744212)
Nice observation but I have seen post 2004 AVL Tbird or even AVL Machismo having TCI units with a similar clutch case as yours. |
I haven't noticed the same, so can't comment on that.
There were CDI Units that were sold back then as kits by RE. In those cases probably the clutch cover were replaced.(just a guess)
Originally Posted by tharian
(Post 3744256)
I haven't noticed the same, so can't comment on that. |
Here's one pic I could find on one of our thread, it's a 2006 AVL Machismo:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...ml#post1776282
See post no. 460
There were CDI Units that were sold back then as kits by RE. In those cases probably the clutch cover were replaced.(just a guess)
|
I know about the conversion kit but am not really sure about the clutch case cover when I refer to AVL engined Thunderbird and Machismo models post 2004-2005.
Slightly tense today over an issue. Took my bike for a neutral finder adjustment to the mechanic. The regular guy not being available, went to another person who while carrying out the adjustments pointed out that this bike has undergone a gearbox change. Initially it was a five speed n the gearbox has been changed to a 4S afterwards. He showed me a hole in the clutch cover saying this is the place where the gear shifter is located. I'm really upset. Though the guy was telling me that in Punjab its a trend n that the 4s gearbox is a gem and I'm at an advantage to get one. He also added the resale value of a 4s is much better than 5s and that such a conversion cists nothing less than 15000, I'm somehow not convinced. The gurus may please commentplease:
(Post 3744399)
Slightly tense today over an issue. Took my bike for a neutral finder adjustment to the mechanic. The regular guy not being available, went to another person who while carrying out the adjustments pointed out that this bike has undergone a gearbox change. ... |
Can you post some pics of your gearbox as I can see the gear shifter lever on the left side in your earlier posted pics. The presence of hole in the clutch cover might indicate that this motorcycle has indeed undergone a gearbox change from 5 speed to 4 speed. I was a bit suspicious before as I neither saw a front disc brake nor an electric starter in this 2008 model Electra. Dont worry and take it easy mate the 4 speed gearbox is indeed more expensive and in demand in the used motorcycle market among the masses. I am not sure about the conversion cost but yes a 4 speed gearbox does cost more to procure. Dont be upset mate just take it and ride it. Meanwhile please post some pics of the gearbox.