Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 17th August 2010, 11:17   #1
BHPian

Bullet Electra - UCE or CI?

I've been considering acquiring a bullet ever since the Electra 5S came on the scene with the LHS gear shift. My experience with motorbikes is limited to Jawas and Yezdis before I graduated to 4-wheels in a hurry. So I won't be comparing the bullet with the Jap brigade

A cousin went out of station for a while and left his T-Bird TBTS in my care. I was kinda reluctant to take the beast out at first - it is huge and heavy and I am only 5' 6" & 65 kgs. But I am enjoying the early morning drives now.

But the T-Bird styling doesn't appeal to me much, I am more attracted towards the Electra. I can buy a UCE new, or get a barely used (~2500 km) 2009 CI for about Rs 90K.

CI
I like the velvetty thump, torque.
But I am scared of the maintenance woes and the "You don't own a bullet, the bullet owns you" rhetoric. The Yezdi was and still is a relatively low maintenance bike.

UCE
I like the improved reliability and fuel economy.
Don't like the engine clatter and really miss the trademark "bullet" thump.

I am not a commuter, I drive bikes only as a weekend pleasure. So want to avoid spending too much on a new bike that I won't use much. On the other hand, I am wary of going with a CI Bullet that demands constant attention which I won't be able to give.

Any advice from the gurus? or maybe I should wait for the UCE Electras to hit the second hand market in a year or so.

Thanks,
Teja
Old 18th August 2010, 00:35   #2
BHPian

If you buy a 2009 CI, it is pretty much as reliable as a UCE. BUt IMO the CI you have mentioned above seems very expensive at 90K.

Why is the owner selling it at around 2500 kms?

Also, are you planning to take a loan to buy the bike? If yes, then a personal loan interest rate would be much more than a 2 wheeler loan.
Old 18th August 2010, 08:40   #3
Senior - BHPian

CI Pros:
- Great sound