Team-BHP - 2022 Skoda Kodiaq Facelift Review | 2.0L Petrol DSG

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   2022 Skoda Kodiaq Facelift Review | 2.0L Petrol DSG (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/246986-2022-skoda-kodiaq-facelift-review-2-0l-petrol-dsg-154.html)

Originally Posted by itwasntme (Post 5928326)
As lamborghini has pointed out for goodwill warranty purposes, a clean OEM service history without any mods which could even remotely affect DSG functioning is crucial. It's anyway safe to budget around 3-4 lakhs for a DSG replacement during any lengthy ownership of a VAG vehicle. Once you wrap your head around it, the ownership experience is excellent. :D

Your Octavia thread is legendary, but there is a charm of driving one everyday that justifies the once in a typical ownership tenure long workshop visit. But yes, key is to also budget for the same financially should there be any change in goodwill policy or any circumstance preventing one to take advantage of it.

Originally Posted by kapilsharma80 (Post 5928294)
Thanks, Lamborghini for the detailed inputs. Just curious to know the total cost of the circuit board replacement along with labor, just to be sure of the expense.

As most was covered under goodwill, I am not sure of the end consumer pricing. My out of pocket was some 15-18k.

The other bit of good news is the availability of child parts. No need to spend 3-4L - depending on what needs to be replaced I reckon it could be in Rs. 1 - 1.5L

Originally Posted by kapilsharma80 (Post 5927979)

Now, to address the elephant in the room:
- how is the gear box holding up for Kodiaq. Trust there are no mechatronic issues which breaks the bank of the owner?

Also, what are the typical service cost (including major ones).

Your typical service cost will be about 25k which is every 1 Year or 15K Kms.

In addition:
This is in addition to keeping a provisioning for DSG.

But the good part is you get warranty till 7th year which is peace of mind from a DSG point of view.

P.S: Serial Skoda / VW Owner starting from Octavia VRS/ Laura TSI / Polo GT TSI / Passat . Barring Volvo, I've not been able to like any other Euro / Jap manufacturer.

Not sure if this is mentioned before in this thread. Kodiaq removed from official website.
All eyes now on the April 2025 launch of the new generation.
2022 Skoda Kodiaq Facelift Review | 2.0L Petrol DSG-kodiaq-discontinued.jpg

Originally Posted by somersault (Post 5885302)
My journey from the humble Honda City to Skoda Kodiaq

Really, really good choice. We used to have a SKODA Rapid and the tank-like feeling was something else. Speed was also on tap. Now we have the Bavarian flag- 2017 BMW X1 sDrive20DxLine, with loads of power. :D
Just a question: Did you consider the second hand BMW X1? The 2017 one, with 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque? I also agree that the new X1 has very less power, with figures lower than a SKODA Kushaq!:Frustrati

Hello, this is the most comprehensive Kodiaq review I've come across. I realize my inquiry might be a bit late, but is there any way to purchase a new Kodiaq (the outgoing model) now?

I was waiting to see the newer model in person, and I am not convinced it would offer sufficient value for the extra 10-15L price range.

When I visited the showroom in Faridabad (NCR), they immediately mentioned that they had no vehicles available in their inventory.

Originally Posted by Rapid (Post 5931660)
Just a question: Did you consider the second hand BMW X1? The 2017 one, with 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque?

Thank you for your comment. Generally I am not very fond of a second hand vehicle purchase, as the feeling of the latest brand new vehicle is at different level.
Just to add, the loan rate from the bank for second hand vehicles is at a significant higher side (12-16%), as against < 9% for new cars.
Since I was purchasing on the company account, considering the depreciation etc, I was inclined to purchase a new vehicle. Purely for my own reasons.

Crossed 50K mark. Original tyres & brake pads still going.
Let's see if Avalanche remains as trouble free as it did in the past.

2022 Skoda Kodiaq Facelift Review | 2.0L Petrol DSG-20250222_113315.jpg

Thanks to all the inputs from the good people in this thread and otherwise in the forum in general, I had booked probably one of the last available MY23/24 Kodiaqs in the country last week.

I had been searching desperately for one since January, missed a few by a whisker, and canceled one demo vehicle last minute due to some doubt before I finally found one brand new in Guwahati.

Fortunately, my in-laws are based there so no flying around there to get things done. In-Laws took delivery and it's currently on its way to Delhi aboard a Car Trailer.

A big Shoutout to TBHPian dkaile and SilverSmoke for the in-depth Kodiaq-specific details and the PDI checklist. As of now, it's sleepless nights waiting for the beauty to reach.

As for the deal, I got 5 lacs off on the Ex showroom price of 40.99 lacs (Skoda increased this from 39.99 lacs just a few days before I booked) with an Accessories kit, 4-year SMP, and Extended warranty thrown in.

Here is my Polar Bear:

2022 Skoda Kodiaq Facelift Review | 2.0L Petrol DSG-1.jpg
2022 Skoda Kodiaq Facelift Review | 2.0L Petrol DSG-2.jpg
2022 Skoda Kodiaq Facelift Review | 2.0L Petrol DSG-3.jpg

Originally Posted by SilverSmoke (Post 5931945)
Crossed 50K mark. Original tyres & brake pads still going.
Attachment 2730057

I am wondering how is that possible? Do you drive mostly on highways. Mine just crossed 42k and it is already on 3rd set of pads at both front and rear. Changed pads at these intervals -
Front at 13k, 32k and Rear at 19k, 40k.

Front factory rotors are still holding up but rear got changed at 40k. Pads never lasted more than 20k and Rotors 40k on any of my cars. I know driving style affects pad/rotor life but don't know why there is so much difference.

Originally Posted by vinayrathore (Post 5931963)
A big Shoutout to TBHPian dkaile and SilverSmoke for the in-depth Kodiaq-specific details and the PDI checklist.

Thanks. It's a brilliant machine if you keep it well.

Originally Posted by novice (Post 5931965)
I am wondering how is that possible? Don't know why there is so much difference.

Yeah, my drive is mainly on highways & expressways with frequent mix of city drive as well. Recently concluded 1600 KMs trip. I often visit Himalayas as it's close to my location. But I myself a bit surprised about their exceptional longevity.

As far driving habit is concerned, I always softly apply brakes & anticipate the halt well in advance. I rarely do hard braking. Also I avoid using auto hold everytime & use it only on steep inclines/declines. May be that helps.

Hi, can you please help me find one? I am looking for it all over the place.

Originally Posted by skant29 (Post 5932165)
Hi, can you please help me find one? I am looking for it all over the place.

Buddy, It took me a few months and millions of calls to all the Skoda Dealers to find one. I found 1 in Delhi which vanished within a few hours. Then there was one Demo car in Haldwani which I eventually let go of. Then there was one in Chennai but the was 3 lacs expensive.

The Guwahati Dealer had 2 in stock and the other one had to be transferred to Mysore dealer due to pressure from Skoda. Had I been late by a few days would have resulted in a lost case. As I said, mine was probably the last piece in India :)

Also joining the Kodiaq club is my Alaskan Bear from Bangalore.
Booked it during the 5.95L online discount offer, took delivery in early January.

2022 Skoda Kodiaq Facelift Review | 2.0L Petrol DSG-img_0651.jpeg

Detailed review coming up soon.

Originally Posted by ms001 (Post 5932344)
Also joining the Kodiaq club is my Alaskan Bear from Bangalore.
Booked it during the 5.95L online discount offer, took delivery in early January.

Congratulations on adding Alaskan Bear to your family. Wish you happy mile munching with the Kodiaq.
Can you share manufacturing month and year for your car? Did you get fresh car smell when stepping inside?
The reason I ask is I am getting a deal for Skoda Slavia from last year. I went to stockyard and felt bad seeing car covered in dust, water marks and bird droppings at couple of places. The fresh interior smell was also missing on the inside. The dealer says this can be cleaned, but I am pretty sure they will leave marks on the exterior.

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 (Post 5932354)
Congratulations on adding Alaskan Bear to your family. Wish you happy mile munching with the Kodiaq.
Can you share manufacturing month and year for your car? Did you get fresh car smell when stepping inside?
The reason I ask is I am getting a deal for Skoda Slavia from last year. I went to stockyard and felt bad seeing car covered in dust, water marks and bird droppings at couple of places. The fresh interior smell was also missing on the inside. The dealer says this can be cleaned, but I am pretty sure they will leave marks on the exterior.

Its quite common for unsold cars to be dirty and dusty in the stockyard. Before booking the car you can ask the dealer to wash it and you can do a thorough PDI. Any unused cars should smell fresh and new inside.