Old 1st April 2025, 12:15   #361

Re: Toyota Hilux Review

@bOpawan, the vehicles are available. Which is the variant and colour you want to purchase?
Old 10th April 2025, 18:58   #362

I'm also hunting for one in "High-MT" Trim. Color RED/GREY. Looks like there only AT's and no MT's. And no discounts too! Will have to wait till year end I guess.

Last edited by Ramsagar : 10th April 2025 at 19:01.
Old 11th April 2025, 01:28   #363

Originally Posted by Ramsagar View Post
I'm also hunting for one in "High-MT" Trim. Color RED/GREY. Looks like there only AT's and no MT's. And no discounts too! Will have to wait till year end I guess.
Welcome to the (supposedly tiny) Hilux High MT club.

Year end (or anything else) does not seem to matter for discounts on High MT. Dealers seem to avoid ordering and keeping MT vehicles in stock and Toyota also seems to be prioritizing AT vehicles over MT.

I have been calling multiple dealers in Karnataka and Maharashtra since October last year. I have gotten many tentative promises that they will try to match the discount they give for AT. But whenever I say I am ready to book everybody goes back to "no sir, we don't have MT in stock sir, nobody buys MT sir, you will not get the same discount sir".

Wishing you the very best in your endeavor though. Just wanted to post my experience as a data point for you.
Simplemotor is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th April 2025, 09:30   #364

Originally Posted by Ramsagar View Post
Discounts are everywhere and on each model including the base MT model also. You just have to start calling all Toyota dealerships. I've seen maximum discounts coming from Punjab dealers and Hyderabad dealers. Particularly the Harsha Toyota group. Call and enquire. Not from the one who picks the phone up. But from a proper Sales executive.
navpreet318 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 15th April 2025, 09:02   #365

I called up the NOIDA Toyota Dealer Espirit Toyota, the dealer I had bought my High AT from saying a friend wants to buy High MT and they directly told me that there is no supply of High MT at all. The base model with speed limiter is available though. Also inquired about the current discount available on High AT and without any negotiation the first amount mentioned was 10 Lakhs, so I am sure with some negotiation they will give more. Hope this helps the folks looking to buy currently.

Originally Posted by Simplemotor View Post
I have been calling multiple dealers in Karnataka and Maharashtra since October last year. I have gotten many tentative promises that they will try to match the discount they give for AT. But whenever I say I am ready to book everybody goes back to "no sir, we don't have MT in stock sir, nobody buys MT sir, you will not get the same discount sir".
Touringlawyer is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th April 2025, 22:29   #366

Originally Posted by Touringlawyer View Post
I called up the NOIDA Toyota Dealer Espirit Toyota, the dealer I had bought my High AT from saying a friend wants to buy High MT and they directly told me that there is no supply of High MT at all. The base model with speed limiter is available though. Also inquired about the current discount available on High AT and without any negotiation the first amount mentioned was 10 Lakhs, so I am sure with some negotiation they will give more. Hope this helps the folks looking to buy currently.
Thanks for checking.

I just confirmed one person in Pune got about 12 lakh discount on High AT in March.

Pune and Mumbai dealers have told me the same as what you heard -- no supply or stock of High MT. Karnataka dealers said they don't have stock but they can place an order with Toyota after the booking.
Simplemotor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st May 2025, 20:47   #367

Finally received my machine today, STD variant, gray color with black fabric seats. Somehow, interiors don't look as bland as they looked when I checked it out in the dealership demo car before booking.

Ok, so the first thing first, tyres:
It came with Deuler 265/65/R17 A/T with M+S tag.

I have been receiving lots of suggestions about tyre change:
1. Upgrade to R18 and get more GC and make it look more like High variant. Tbh, I don't see much reason here.

2. Keep R17, but change to a wider 275 or so tyre. I am not sure if that's better. Any experts please?

What I am personally inclined to, based on my limited knowledge:
Stick to exact same size 265/65/R17 and just switch to something better reviewed like Yokohoma Geolander A/T.

What would be the suggestion of experts here?

As for my use case, basic 20-25KM city commute everyday, usual mountain circuits across Spiti/Ladakh/Zanskar/Uttarakhand/etc, long Highway drives to Rajasthan and Gujarat etc.

I don't see myself participating very actively in a proper offroading group, like the one you see in all those Youtube videos. Though since the mean machine is here, might try something out once or twice.
Old 2nd May 2025, 13:29   #368

Originally Posted by rm2099 View Post
2. Keep R17, but change to a wider 275 or so tyre. I am not sure if that's better. Any experts please?

What I am personally inclined to, based on my limited knowledge:
Stick to exact same size 265/65/R17 and just switch to something better reviewed like Yokohoma Geolander A/T.

What would be the suggestion of experts here?
Unless you are getting something like BFG no point in switching stock tires.

I have had experience with Geolander in other car and is comparable to stock Dueler.

For the use case you mentioned , stock duelers are good enough.
PrideRed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2025, 12:06   #369

Hello Fellow-BHPians !

I'm planning my first accessory - the tonneau cover - for the Hilux. After going through different designs and their practicality of usage, I decided to go with tri-fold design in addition to the tail-gate lock.

Can anyone please refer me getting decent quality product at attractive prices somewhere near Delhi/ Chandigarh? I'll be grateful.
Old 6th May 2025, 14:51   #370

Originally Posted by PrideRed View Post
Unless you are getting something like BFG no point in switching stock tires.

I have had experience with Geolander in other car and is comparable to stock Dueler.

For the use case you mentioned , stock duelers are good enough.
What about
Keep R17, but change to a wider 275 or so tyre, so basically 275/65/R17?
I think that with slight 5mm or so gain in GC, this tyre can compensate for the slight drop with winch kit and other stuff without going excessively wide or affecting overall ride dynamics. Advise?
Old 7th May 2025, 09:51   #371

Originally Posted by rm2099 View Post
What about
Keep R17, but change to a wider 275 or so tyre, so basically 275/65/R17?
I think that with slight 5mm or so gain in GC, this tyre can compensate for the slight drop with winch kit and other stuff without going excessively wide or affecting overall ride dynamics. Advise?
If you are adding winch, better to go for a lift kit as tires alone may not help.
Old 8th May 2025, 13:19   #372

Are Toyota offered Accessories Road Legal, can they provide ARAI homologation for Roof carrier or tent.

Is the Roll Bar counted as External modification by Cops or not. In Chandigarh hence asking from that perspective
Old 12th May 2025, 19:08   #373

Toyota Hilux Review-img20250512wa0004.jpeg

I’m considering getting an automatic rolling cover installed on my Hilux, so I visited a local garage today. They were fitting a JCBL automatic cover on another Hilux, and I noticed something that put me off.

As shown in the attached image, the rubber beading near the front end of the cover (close to the cabin) looked loosely fitted and quite unrefined. It was visually jarring and seemed like a bit of an afterthought in terms of finish.

When I raised this with the fitter, he said, “Yeh sab mein aisa hi hota hai, brand koi bhi ho” – implying that this is how it is with all automatic roller covers, regardless of brand.

Frankly, that sounds like a red flag to me. A poor finish like this can ruin the aesthetic of an otherwise sharp-looking vehicle.

Question to fellow Hilux/roller cover owners:

Have any of you installed automatic rolling covers (JCBL or other brands)?

Did you observe the same kind of loose rubber fitting at the front?

Or do you think the issue lies with the garage's workmanship rather than the product design?

Also overall, are you happy with your automatic roller cover in terms of water/dust proof usage?

Would really appreciate real-world photos or brand suggestions with better fit and finish. Thanks in advance!
Old 13th May 2025, 18:19   #374
AVR

Great review. One strong recommendation is adding these shackles at the rear. Their dual stage action fundamentally changes the on road behaviour of the Hilux and makes is significantly more comfortable and stable on bumps and broken roads.
I have them for the lifted version since I've a 2 inch profender lift kit installed.
Look them up here: https://munji.com.au/products/shackl...hilux-n80-revo

Here's mine
Toyota Hilux Review-20250421_203101.jpg

Thank me later.

Last edited by AVR : 13th May 2025 at 18:23.
AVR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th May 2025, 19:09   #375

I have had a roller shutter prior to my PCW Hardlid currently. It was from Carryboy. The fit and finish was way above the other items available in the market. However dust and water ingress is always there. Never from the top but from the side channels. Also a lot of dust enters from the gap in the load bay door.

The absolute best in terms of roller shutter is EGR but the costing is eyewatering.

The carryboy unit I had didn't have these rubber hanging issues. There was a rubber flap near the cabin edge but it was a tight fit against the tub.

To seal the tub door, you'll need to seal it with some kind of a sealing system. I'm currently using a PCW seal Kit developed by PCW. It is effective to the extent that it's made the rear tub airtight. Following are some pics of my truck.
Toyota Hilux Review-20250110_133152.jpg  

Toyota Hilux Review-20250110_133208.jpg  

Toyota Hilux Review-20250110_133044.jpg  

Toyota Hilux Review-20250110_133239.jpg  

Last edited by navpreet318 : 14th May 2025 at 19:17.
navpreet318 is online now   (5) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com