Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 18th April 2012, 00:17   #1

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration

Well, this restoration is a typical one.

As of now, the car has come to me only for the Restoration of the Body Shell and a little mechanical restoration.

Not really sure, if i will get to paint it and detail the car, but one of my friend who's let me restore whatever i am supposed to has kept me well informed about the exact job he requires me to do. Therefore leaving me with no ambiguity on the car

1) Floors corroded.
2) Firewall corroded
3) Engine not running since ages
4) Brakes frozen
5) Too much metal paste on the body shell
6) Body lines warped
7) None of the fittings are on the car and many not working
8) Door setting & Door locks + window winders + windshields need setting
9) Almost all the cosmetics need to be fitted and aligned.

There are lot of things that needs to be done, let me explain as the thread progresses.

This car originally comes with a 6 Cylinder Inline engine, with Twin Carbs, and dual exhaust manifold.

Would certainly need Merc Guru's on this forum to help me with this restoration.
1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1344.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1414.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1415.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1421.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1428.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1429.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1434.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1174.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1175.jpg  

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 18th April 2012 at 00:26.
PAVAN KADAM is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th April 2012, 08:58   #2

Re: 1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration

Congrats on one more restoration project Pavan ji, this car requires a hell lot of work, it seems. Looking forward to the WIP pics. BTW did this model came with a sunroof ?, the roof seems to have traces of it, hence asked about it.

Last edited by samsag12 : 18th April 2012 at 09:01.
samsag12 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th April 2012, 12:35   #3

All the best Pavan Sir, I see something different you have taken out of VW.
beetle_boy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th April 2012, 15:53   #4

Two things you need to take care of here, the steering wheel and the dashboard. An un-cracked unmolested dashboard in original finish is what Mercedes collectors look for in any car. Also since it is a RHD the chances of importing one is scarce and expensive. Do also remove the steering if you can and replace it with a temporary 123 or 124 steering wheel, Cosmetics in a mercedes are getting very very expensive. All the best.
the mole is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th April 2012, 20:57   #5

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
Congrats on one more restoration project Pavan ji, this car requires a hell lot of work, it seems. Looking forward to the WIP pics. BTW did this model came with a sunroof ?, the roof seems to have traces of it, hence asked about it.
After scraping the roof, it actually looks like there has been some kirikiri done sometime ago.

Originally Posted by beetle_boy View Post
All the best Pavan Sir, I see something different you have taken out of VW.
Ha ha ha.....True Pankaj. Its a challenge, not that i have a dearth of challenging restorations

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
Two things you need to take care of here, the steering wheel and the dashboard. An un-cracked unmolested dashboard in original finish is what Mercedes collectors look for in any car. Also since it is a RHD the chances of importing one is scarce and expensive. Do also remove the steering if you can and replace it with a temporary 123 or 124 steering wheel, Cosmetics in a mercedes are getting very very expensive. All the best.
Sir..! I have not one, but 2 Dashboards and 2 Steering wheel units - RHD for this very car

The main thing worrying is Cosmetics. Would need help from Merc Guru's once i get there.

W.I.P

The tinker cut open the existing corroded floors, and we got new panels. I was worried about the floor pattern, but a little search on GOOGLE made my job easy. And my tinker too was smart enough to replicate them.
1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1440.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1449.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1467.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1491.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1492.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1525.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1524.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th April 2012, 19:16   #6

The dash , steering, brake cylinders, engine, gearbox is all out of the car.

Tinker sees more horror stories beneath and utters a "Sigh"
1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1628.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1521.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1627.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2012, 20:54   #7

Well, the work on the floor and the chassis support plates are 100% done, will post pics tomorrow.

The tinker started working on setting the headlights, door handles and catcher, he's done a fantastic job on that
1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1689.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1692.jpg  

Old 24th April 2012, 18:32   #8

Some more work being done today, and hopefully in a few days time, all the doors, bonnet , bonnet lock, dickey lock, bonnet release cable, grille, bumpers should be fitted and properly aligned.

The pattern on the floor has come out just the way i wanted, and its as per the original pattern, little bit of tapping is yet to be done on that, should be finished in a day or 2.
1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1713.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1712.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1715.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1716.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1720.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1722.jpg  

Old 10th May 2012, 17:54   #9

Almost all the rotten panels were replaced, most of the panel settings were completed, but this thing does not show any signs of stopping from showing off new Ghosts

I found this First Aid Box clamped inside the trunk.. Need experts to throw some light on this.

Will let the pics to all the talking.
1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1811.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1816.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1817.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1818.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1819.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1823.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1824.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1825.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1826.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1835.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1831.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1854.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1855.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1856.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1857.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1858.jpg  

Old 15th May 2012, 21:32   #10

This car has caught a wrong dirty habit of showing newer troubles by the day, Few more panels showed up beneath the company provided sound-deadner sheets.

Sheet metal replacement is HUGE, and we are doing our best to complete it by weekend.
1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1863.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1864.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1867.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1857.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1865.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1887.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1886.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1885.jpg  

Old 26th May 2012, 21:15   #11

Some more work over the busy week done.

The engine room was Sanded down, prepped, Anti-rust coating done and finally painted.

The floor was cleaned, tapped down to shape and we applied Epoxy primer to arrest Rusting.
1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1937.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1938.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1939.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1993.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_2000.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1998.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1999.jpg  

Old 26th May 2012, 22:05   #12

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
I found this First Aid Box clamped inside the trunk.. Need experts to throw some light on this.
Hey it says STANDARD...is it what I think it is??

Nice going with the car Pavan. I like the way you get all your resto projects zinc-primered rather than red-oxide primered as is commonly done. If only I could get the one you were using...!
Stanher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd June 2012, 08:20   #13

Restoration is an Obsession. Like the systematic and approach to all your restoration work. Plan to come down to see the Master of the Craft sometime soon.
basky is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2012, 00:13   #14

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Hey it says STANDARD...is it what I think it is??

Nice going with the car Pavan. I like the way you get all your resto projects zinc-primered rather than red-oxide primered as is commonly done. If only I could get the one you were using...!
ha ha ha.. Not sure Shyam, but it certainly looks like it belongs to this car, i need some Merc guru's to help me with certain things on this car.

That zinc oxide is from ESDEE / KAPCI, and comes with a Hardner, unlike those cheap regular one's which are good for nothing. Does the job.

Originally Posted by basky View Post
Restoration is an Obsession. Like the systematic and approach to all your restoration work. Plan to come down to see the Master of the Craft sometime soon.

Sometimes its not too easy, i have been facing the flak of doing too many things at a time with the way the financial markets are going haywire, my day job demands that i spend some substantial time on it, likewise Restorations cannot be allowed to take a back seat, i am in such a big fix these days, literally Dazed. Anyways, life's like that, and i am still young at heart for all this.

You are welcome anytime buddy.

Getting back to the thread. Since the body work is almost done, i am awaiting few vital parts, mostly cosmetics, and they are really give me a lot of headaches, most of them are not available. To top this, another issue with the engine...! This petrol Inline 6 Cylinder engine does not move an inch aaargh..! It is STUCK, we have used Rustolene , Diesel , Liquid Grease , WD40 inside the combustion chamber for over a week, there is literally no movement, its a saddening news as the mechanic dreads the arrival of parts in this case.

Need help with the approach i need to take in such eventuality.

Got the Meter serviced by Ramesh Bhai Meterwala. Its just awesome the way he works his magic, i have been requesting him to do some unusual jobs in the recent past and i am ever so thankful to him to show so much enthusiasm towards my odd request. Yes even the headlights are now being restored by him. He charges a BOMB, but does the job 100% right.
1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_2023.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_2024.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_2022.jpg  

1969 Mercedes W114 Restoration-imag_1433.jpg  

Old 3rd June 2012, 19:10   #15

That zinc oxide is from ESDEE / KAPCI, and comes with a Hardner, unlike those cheap regular one's which are good for nothing. Does the job.
Epoxy base?

This petrol Inline 6 Cylinder engine does not move an inch aaargh..! It is STUCK.
Need a hydraulic ram or a screw jack to push out the pistons-Just a wild thought.

Got the Meter serviced by Ramesh Bhai Meterwala. He charges a BOMB, but does the job 100% right.
Lucky you. Jokers here charge a bomb and make a hash of everything.